We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #52 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had my little birthday treat trip to Amsterdam and stayed in the Mövenpick for 2 nights.
It was the best hotel, I've ever stayed in with THE BEST breakfast I've ever had !
The view is absolutely gorgeous and the staff super friendly. It is a bit more expencive than the average Amsterdam city center hotel, but it is worth it ! Treat yourselt !

Room Tip: The higher the better ..because of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M1rjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,139 - 4,145 of 6,574 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Check in was almost 30 min since reception was largely understaffed; changed only after several complaints; location slightly off centre; pre-ordered child bed had to be requested 3 times until it finally arrived; promissed harbour view was a wall facing 5th floor room; not really what you expect from Movenpick.


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markuscfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel on my recent trip to Amsterdam. Both stays were just perfect. The location is very convenient, next to the Central Station and overlooking the historical Harbor and city. It is very quiet, no drunk revelers. It is about a 10 minute walk to the station or you can take the (complimentary) hotelshuttle or a taxi ( 7 euro or so)

The staff is very professional and courteous. Everyone from the bartenders to bellhops to front desk and waitstaff.

On the second floor is an executive lounge with complimentary drinks, snacks and internet/computers.



The rooms we had were very nice and spacious. The bathroom is equipped with a bathtub and a separate shower. We had a junior suite which was on the 18th floor and overlooked the city and historical harbor. The beds are very comfortable and a "pillow menu" is provided.


Parking is quite expensive, although convenient. For a whole day it is 48 euro or 4 euro an hour. The garage is underneath the hotel, but city owned. For cheaper parking ( 8 euro per day incl. tram tickets) go to p+r Zeeburg. still convenient and safe.

I am very familiar with the top rated hotels in this city, but this one beats them for its location and value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank exeuropean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I've enjoyed my stay very much! Excellent hotel and customer service!!! The hotel view was amazing as well!!! But the best part was breakfast!!!
Of course it was quite a walk from the train station, but the public transportation is very close and easy. You can reserve a shuttle from the hotel also. I'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valeriya Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We already stayed here 2 times for the weekend, and both times it was excellent. The hotel is a 15-20 min. walk from the central station but there is a tramstop in front of the hotel. (Tip: buy a OV-chipcard, 48 hours of unlimited public transportation for 11,50 euro)
The hotel is a clean and the rooms have a superb view. Breakfast is a bit expensive but varied and tasteful. Rooms are quiet (except for the last day, the fusebox in our room was buzzing).

Overall: Recommended if you want to be close to the center of Amsterdam without the disadvantages of being right in the center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, the views there are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed as a couple here and loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the room was really nice. We had an amazing view. The only drawback is if you want to have breakfast at the hotel it is 23 Euro per person, which is excessive. The breakfast buffet is good, but I think it would be more reasonable if it was around 15 Euro per person. The location is a 10-15 minute walk from the train station, or you can take the free shuttle which leaves every hour. We walked most of the time and it was enjoyable.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PDXDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The booking was a combined air-ticket/hotel package and what tipped the balace towards this hotel was price/location and of course their reputation. I had also seen some reviews and was satisfied with what I read so decided to give it a try.
And know what? I was not dissapointed. Although a bit of a longer walk than I expected from Centraal station - the free shuttle currently only operates until 19.30 hrs due to refurbishment works at the station, it was still no more that 15-20 minutes depending on your pace.
The reception staff were pleasant ad welcoming and eager to give information and advice.
The room was a real winner; great comfy bed, generous space, safe, clean and modern bathroom, free (albeit a bit slow) wi-fi which I find useful mainly because I can use Skype to communicate with home - beats roaming charges and horrendously steep international rates from hotels. Main reason I look for hotels that offer free wi-fi.
Rest of facilities very nice as well, decent restaurant-bar with reasonable prices for drinks and food. Breakfast was delicios and offered great variety. Gym, basic but appropriate and two saunas were well maintained.
Only drawback, but this I was aware of, and quite honestly, it's not the end of the world; the hotel is not neccesarily bang in the city centre, but hells bells be adventurous! use the free half-hourly shuttle into Centraal Stn which takes all of 5 minutes or the 261 tram across the road.
All in all, a very pleasant 2 night stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meerkatflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,037 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,271 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $167 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing