We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,899)
Filter reviews
6,899 results
Traveler rating
3,552
2,428
618
197
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,552
2,428
618
197
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcruise terminalcentral stationfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetdam squareconciergevikingij
Filter
Updating list...
4,437 - 4,442 of 6,899 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Moevenpick Hotel last week, and were quite happy with it.
The room was quite large and quite roomy. It had everything that we needed,
and when we asked for more pillows, they were in the room when we returned
from dinner. The front desk people were terrific and so were the bell people.
They gave us a fantastic place for dinner, in walking distance to the hotel.
You are in walking distance to the tram and train station, to get into the center
of town. This was at the end of our trip, and we are from the USA.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor, overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Big rooms with great views of the city and the water. Not in the centre of Amsterdam but the tram stops a few metres away and one stop to central station. There is also a free hotel shuttle service to central station during the daytime - just ask the Concierge. Quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of it all. Clean rooms, professional service.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDav26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had high hopes for this hotel - the website promises much but unfortunately the hotel does not deliver. We are not fussy people, but there were quite a few disappointing let downs. This hotel isn't a great location. It doesn't look far from the station but it is, be warned. Walking is an option but the area is quite undesirable especially in the evenings. There is also construction going on around the hotel and the taxi drivers have to take you a very long expensive way round to reach the hotel. You may be thinking, why not use the hotel shuttle? Unfortunately we found this most unreliable, often leaving up to ten minutes early or apparently it had just left... At check-in we were overlooked and treated rudely, likewise on check-out although we were offered a (naff) blow up beach ball which was a strange extra and I assume to keep us sweet. Our room was pretty nondescript (could have been cleaner, less tired, better view), the food was passable however very expensive, drinks also very expensive. Value for money? No. Would I stay again? No. Amsterdam is a beautiful city but we would try a better hotel next time.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanetColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear Mrs Coleman,

Thank you for your tough review. There are so many reviews regarding our location so I will leave it to the visitors appreciation to decide whether the location is good or bad. The works next doors have long been finished and were not very long, no detours were necessary for taxis so we do not really understand this specific comment. I have transmitted your experience regarding the staff's lack of friendliness at the reception and do sincerely apologize that you did not get the treatment you deserve. We do regard these comments as useful to screen staff quality and make the appropriate decisions in order to keep the best.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just home from a 6 night stay at the Movenpick. Love the location at the cruise ship terminal. Easy access to the train station and downtown. Food was great--especially loved the breakfasts. (Samantha in the restaurant is the best!!!)
Would stay there again !

Room Tip: Upper floor--great views
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLSKailuaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

...and we love the word 'love'!

Thank you for a very positive review!

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I booked this room as part of a package via Easyjet, alongwith flights.
I was very impressed with the room, as other people who have been to Amsterdam always said the hotel rooms were tiny.
It was clean and a very decent size. Ours was a twin, and I was sharing with a friend.
The tariff includes breakfast, and I can honestly say its the best breakfast Ive ever had. There was nothing missing. I would recommend if youre booking to go with the room and breakfast option, because buying breakfast when its not inclusive is pricey.
The only downside to the room, and I understand this is everywhere in Amsterdam, is that the bathroom door is just frosted glass, and doesnt have a latch. It's just a swing door, which can be a pain if youre not a couple.
The location is pretty central, about 20mins into the centre, and a tramline right outside. But be warned its about a 7-8min walk to the tram outside the hotel, because of the way it's laid out with the river to go over, roads, tram lines and then your tram stop.

Room Tip: Getting a higher floor ensures you have fantastic views of the city. We were on the 14th, but the hotel goes up to 20.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbrh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews