We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best pre-cruise hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #44 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best pre-cruise hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel pre-cruise, look no further. You literally walk out the front door and a few steps to your left and drop off your luggage and board the ship. How convenient is that? But beyond that this hotel is amazing. We were upgraded to a corner room with gorgeous view of the harbor. Our cruise ship was docked right outside our window when we woke up the next day. The front desk was so friendly and helpful. I found the location, while not exactly right in the city, to be very good. The tram is just down the street and you are in the city in 5 minutes, and hey the tram ride is fun! I left my Kindle in the room and housekeeping turned it in. Thank you housekeeping!! We did eat in the restaurant and have drinks in the bar, and while yes it was pricey at least it was really good! Everything is expensive in Amsterdam so it was not a shocker. The bar was hopping, fun atmosphere and it was a week night at that. The rooms were large, clean, modern, and the shower ahhhhh so good. I would stay here again in a second no matter what the reason for visiting this great city, but if it were pre-cruise this is the only place I would stay.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the harbor. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review! We are especially thrilled that you tried all our food and beverage outlets and we did not fault you!

Hopefully your cruise also met your expectations!

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,681
    1,812
    437
    138
    68
See reviews for
844
2,254
180
914
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (877)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Moevenpick Hotel last week, and were quite happy with it.
The room was quite large and quite roomy. It had everything that we needed,
and when we asked for more pillows, they were in the room when we returned
from dinner. The front desk people were terrific and so were the bell people.
They gave us a fantastic place for dinner, in walking distance to the hotel.
You are in walking distance to the tram and train station, to get into the center
of town. This was at the end of our trip, and we are from the USA.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor, overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Big rooms with great views of the city and the water. Not in the centre of Amsterdam but the tram stops a few metres away and one stop to central station. There is also a free hotel shuttle service to central station during the daytime - just ask the Concierge. Quiet location, away from the hustle and bustle of it all. Clean rooms, professional service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDav26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had high hopes for this hotel - the website promises much but unfortunately the hotel does not deliver. We are not fussy people, but there were quite a few disappointing let downs. This hotel isn't a great location. It doesn't look far from the station but it is, be warned. Walking is an option but the area is quite undesirable especially in the evenings. There is also construction going on around the hotel and the taxi drivers have to take you a very long expensive way round to reach the hotel. You may be thinking, why not use the hotel shuttle? Unfortunately we found this most unreliable, often leaving up to ten minutes early or apparently it had just left... At check-in we were overlooked and treated rudely, likewise on check-out although we were offered a (naff) blow up beach ball which was a strange extra and I assume to keep us sweet. Our room was pretty nondescript (could have been cleaner, less tired, better view), the food was passable however very expensive, drinks also very expensive. Value for money? No. Would I stay again? No. Amsterdam is a beautiful city but we would try a better hotel next time.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanetColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Mrs Coleman,

Thank you for your tough review. There are so many reviews regarding our location so I will leave it to the visitors appreciation to decide whether the location is good or bad. The works next doors have long been finished and were not very long, no detours were necessary for taxis so we do not really understand this specific comment. I have transmitted your experience regarding the staff's lack of friendliness at the reception and do sincerely apologize that you did not get the treatment you deserve. We do regard these comments as useful to screen staff quality and make the appropriate decisions in order to keep the best.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just home from a 6 night stay at the Movenpick. Love the location at the cruise ship terminal. Easy access to the train station and downtown. Food was great--especially loved the breakfasts. (Samantha in the restaurant is the best!!!)
Would stay there again !

Room Tip: Upper floor--great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLSKailuaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
...and we love the word 'love'!

Thank you for a very positive review!

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I booked this room as part of a package via Easyjet, alongwith flights.
I was very impressed with the room, as other people who have been to Amsterdam always said the hotel rooms were tiny.
It was clean and a very decent size. Ours was a twin, and I was sharing with a friend.
The tariff includes breakfast, and I can honestly say its the best breakfast Ive ever had. There was nothing missing. I would recommend if youre booking to go with the room and breakfast option, because buying breakfast when its not inclusive is pricey.
The only downside to the room, and I understand this is everywhere in Amsterdam, is that the bathroom door is just frosted glass, and doesnt have a latch. It's just a swing door, which can be a pain if youre not a couple.
The location is pretty central, about 20mins into the centre, and a tramline right outside. But be warned its about a 7-8min walk to the tram outside the hotel, because of the way it's laid out with the river to go over, roads, tram lines and then your tram stop.

Room Tip: Getting a higher floor ensures you have fantastic views of the city. We were on the 14th, but the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbrh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights on a triple room.
Check in starts at 3pm. I arrived at 1pm and would be a bonus if the room was ready (which wasnt) but I was ofered an upgrade with breakfast and free drinks which If I had accepted Im sure they would have a room ready for me.
They offered to store my luggage and later I came back and the room was "ready".
On arrival at the room there were only 2sets of towells and the sofabed hasnt been made so I had to call reception and 30mins later they arrived with more towells and made the sofabed.
On the second day similar problem: only 2 sets of yowells so again called reception....
The triple room wasnt huge but it was ok for the three of us.
Free wi-fi
Free shuttle to the station was good but u can always get the tram in front of the hotel - 1stop to the station.
Im sure you can find a cheaper hotel with better service than this one.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank for your review, I would like to apologise regarding the lack of consistency on the triple-room set-up. I have brought this to the attention of the front office and housekeeping teams for better coordination. Comments like these are valuable in order to stay sharp.

Hopefully you will give us another try?

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,380 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing