We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$286
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$264
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$559
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$85
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$158
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,790)
Filter reviews
6,790 results
Traveler rating
3,510
2,381
601
196
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,510
2,381
601
196
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
Filter
Updating list...
4,382 - 4,387 of 6,790 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2011

On arrival at Central Station, the multi storey Movenpick rises up a short distance away on the waterfront. We were met by the hotel minibus for the five minute drive. There is a bright, open lobby which also contains a bar, gift shop and free use of internet. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with a choice of walk-in shower or bath/shower. All room have excellent views, either towards the city centre or the river and suburbs. The only weakness was an ancient small TV, though I gather that they are due to be replaced in the near future. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant; the quality and choice at breakfast was also very good, though a little chaotic with seating being at long, refectory type benches. Service in all parts of the hotel is outstanding. When we booked, we were a little concerned about the apparent distance from the city centre but it is walkable or within easy reach by the frequent trams which depart from nearby. All in all , an interesting change from the traditional Amsterdam hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midlandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear sir,

For such great comments, I would like to express my thanks! You are right, we plan to replace our tv's for HD flat screens by the end of the year and offer a wider selection of international tv channels.
Our guests who complained about the benches in the first section of our restaurant will be happy to learn that they have been replaced by new chairs since the beginning of September, making it easier to manoeuvre!

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam!

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a nice new, modern hotel located at the Passenger Terminal, which is about a 15-20 minute walk from the back of Central Station or a one stop ride on the 25 or 26 Tram. If you are unfamiliar with Amsterdam and/or have lots of luggage, take the tram (or if it more than two people a taxi may be just as cheap).

This hotel is brand new and very clean, but it feels sterile. The rooms are very nice and big, the bedding is very comfortable, free wifi, the toiletries are very nice with an excellent bathroom, but there is nothing compelling about this hotel. It is to far away from even a nice bar or cafe -- you basically have to go back to Central Station and start from there. In some ways, you might as well be out at Schipol.

I liked it but probably wouldn't be my first choice when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear sir,

Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for good comments in general! Fair to say that we do not have the main Amsterdam attractions right on our door steps! As mentioned before this is a particularity of our location which some travellers find preferable, knowing they are not far either. Hopefully our location is well described on our websites and litterature and you were not under the illusion that we were in the middle of it all. If you were then we are interested in receiving suggestions on how we can communicate better.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I booked to stay at this hotel after seeing a deal on Expedia. I read the various reviews which seemed extremely positive and was not disappointed. The hotel was visable from Central station and only a 5 minute walk. The hotel also offered a free shuttle to Central Station, which was used when we were leaving on our final day.

We arrived a half an hour after check in and were told our room wasn't quite ready. Having said this, we barely had time to sit down before being given our room key. The hotel was stylish and all the staff were very friendly. We were given a 3 bed room, which consisted of 2 single beds and a sofa bed, all of which were very comfortable. We were placed on the 3rd floor and were very impressed by the size and style of the room. We had Wi-fi and satellite television. After a night out we realised our shower wasn't working properly. The hotel staff were fantastic and moved us to a new room with no fuss.

Our new room was on the 14th floor and we had an amazing view of the harbour and Central Station. During our stay we ordered room service, which we felt was of a resonable price for Amsterdam. Room service was speedy and professional. We also ate at the bar downstairs. The food was good and definitely comparable with prices in the City. As an added bonus the hotel offered a free Sauna and Gym. We used these during our stay and they were both of a very high standard.

This hotel was everything we wanted from a break in Amsterdam. It was quiet and we were able to walk or take the tram to all parts of the city. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Movenpick is modern, stylish and clean. The staff were excellent, very professional and helpful.

The room was large and comfortable with good aircon, TV, fridge, large safe, Hifi and free wifi with good signal strength. The double bed was quite large and there was also a couch/bed in the room. Our room had a very large shower but no bath.

My wife used the gym every morning and said it was good. I'll take her word for it as I had a nice lie in instead.

The hotel is only one stop away from centraal station on the tram. It looked like it was within easy walking distance but we bought passes for the tram so we didn't try. There is also a free shuttle bus to the station as long as you let the hotel know you want to use it.

The only downer for us was the price of the breakfast, which at 24 euros per day each is a bit expensive. This wasn't a problem as there are loads of great cafes in the town centre open for breakfast.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tedlooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Thank you Mr Looney for this nice review! Our full buffet breakfast is 23 EUR! A more simple yet no less yummy breakfast can also be enjoyed in the cosy Silk Bar for a mere 6,50 EUR. Going to town, you will indeed be spoiled for alternatives. Can we recommend "Drie Graefjes" lunch room? It's a the Spui and they serve fabulous cakes made with Us recipes.

Best regards and thank you for choosing Moevenpick for your stay in Amsterdam!

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We bought and paid for our reservation at Movenpick in March of 2011, 5 months early, for a room prior to our Baltic cruise in August. After flying in 8 hours from the USA to London, then a 3 hour layover at Heathrow, finally arriving in Amsterdam, wrestling our luggage through the rain, we arrived at the Movenpick Hotel desk only to be told there was no room for us. There was a heated discussion, mostly on my side, and they told me that they had a room reserved for us at a superior hotel and a better room at no additional cost to us. But it was clear across town which defeated my purpose of selecting the Movenpick which was to be at the cruise boat docks. Their reason was that their “system” was faulty and it overbooked the hotel. Their staff was courteous but the mistake was inexcusable especially for an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank BillBetty1568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear sir, dear madam,

Thank you for your comment, we sincerely regret the situation resulting in booking you out to another hotel. In the rare event that guests have to be booked out, we ensure at least the same quality of hotel, take care of the transport and will pay for one phone call. We try to book hotels in the vicinity, however that day we could not secure rooms with the first hotels of our list. Knowing in advance you were catching a cruise could have made a difference only if we had a choice at the time the overbooking was made clear to our staff. Hopefully the rest of your stay in Amsterdam went smoothly and you enjoyed a great cruise. Should you come back to Amsterdam, thank you for letting us know so that we can make it up to you should you change your mind and accept our excuses!

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews