We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$337
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$294
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$294
$265
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$301
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$371
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,787)
Filter reviews
6,787 results
Traveler rating
3,509
2,380
601
196
101
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,509
2,380
601
196
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovenpick hotelcentral stationcruise terminalfree shuttlecity centregreat hotelshuttle servicetram stophotel shuttleminute walkexecutive roommodern hotelbreakfast buffetmini bardam squareconciergeviking
Filter
Updating list...
4,386 - 4,391 of 6,787 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hotel is about a 10 min walk from Amsterdam central station - it's a quiet location, near the pier, great to get away from the hustle of Amsterdam town. The tram stop is conveniently located near the hotel.
What was really a bonus is the bike hire place directly next to the hotel - a must for every one touring Amsterdam. Amsterdam is very bike friendly and hiring a bike makes it fun to see and easy in wearing out the legs which can get quiet tiring walking around the town.
I'd recommend this hotel for it's location and modern amenities

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHavesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We are a family of 3 and we look for panoramic rooms, excellent breakfasts and reasonable prices.
First the price. We took advantage of a "stay 7 nights, pay only 5". VERY convenient, in practice it gave us a 4-stars hotel for the price of a 3-stars.
The Moevenpick is a 2005 20-storey building on the IJ (Amsterdam harbor) near the new music hall and the maritime passenger terminal. Not you tytpical "postcard Amsterdam", but a beautiful place, if you like modern architecture.
The view from our room at the 19th floor was spectacular, ranging from the IJ harbor to the eastern part of central Amsterdam. Suffice it to say that we took dozens of pictures from our window at all times of the day.
The room was modern and spacious, even for 3 persons, with several amenities: besides the customary TV and mini bar there was a free espresso/tea machine, iron and ironing board, free Internet (not tested), and a complimentary bottle of mineral water each day. For those who, like my wife, find fixed windows oppressive, one of the panels could be opened (transom/vasistas-style). The bathroom was nice and spacious, with combo bathtub/shower (no bidet, obviously).
Breakfast was our next priority, alas it was not included in our offer and it was expensive (23 Euros per person), but it was HUGE, with everything you could want, including some of those Ducth foods that you usually ask for in cafes and restaurants, like cheeses, herrings and poffertjes (mini-pancakes), and obviously some Swiss touches (Moevenpick is a Swiss chain), like rosti and plenty of mueslis. We returned three times, and each time we skipped lunch and had a light dinner, in practice we saved money...
The lower floors of the hotel house several services, some that we used (free Internet, screens with real-time train timetable), some that we did not use (restaurant, bar, concierge, ATM, gym), plus a free shuttle to the train station that you better book well in advance (let's say more than 24 hours before you preferred time).
Outside the hotel you can always find taxis (thanks also to the passenger terminal nearby) and two trams, 25 and 26, both go to the railway station and the 25 then goes to Dam square and near the museums area. On the tram you can buy hourly tickets and daily passes. Boats of two different canal tours stop right in front of the hotel, but you can find a wider offer of canal tours from the same and other companies in front of the railway station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooseyItalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Choosey Italians!

We are certainly glad you chose us and want to thank you for a great review. We are thinking of copying it and paste it for all requiring more information about our hotel. Seriously...

Ciao!

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in March 2011 for 4 days. Firstly its very modern and clean . And everything was really designed so well . The room and the amenities and breakfast was more than enough. Especially it was a bit cold in March and the fitness centre and certainly the sauna was like an oasis in that cold.
But its a little bit far to main attractions of amsterdam There is a tram next to the hotel but the way seems short hence you are waiting for it and after passing the main train station you are going to dom square. When you feel hungry there is only Subway near the hotel and if you want to have a nice walk to the city centre you should pass different and very clumsy desolated streets full of consturctions .
Again if you like walking and if you need a nice sleep after a long working day this hotel is very nice with clean comfortable rooms and with its modern atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ---VoyAgeTR---
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Cok tesekkur ederim! We liked your review and, well, since March when you visited us the area separating us from town is getting better each day and will flourish towards next year in a great area with shops, cinemas, and residential area. We are very excited about that and would like to point out that Subways is far from being the only food option in the area, starting with our Silk Road restaurant open for lunch and dinner as well as the Silk Bar and it's daily promotions.

Sevgilerimle,

Otel Müdurü

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed here for a week exlporing Amsterdam. The hotel is a short walk away from the city center though a tram line stop is exactly opposite the hotel. The location is combined with the new muzik theatre building and the Amsterdam Cruiseship terminal. Note, it can be really busy at the hotel as groups are coming in an out all the time. Now our summary, the hotel is well located , great stylish rooms, prompt room service and the food in the lounge is excellent too. Our initial room was on the right side of the building and did not have any great views, we requested a change given our long stay and we given a room on the higher floors , and on the left side of the building having fabulous views of the harbour (see picture). They offer a complementary pickup from the station (though only starts at 7.00 am) and drops as well. Free ice deliveries to your room are another great perk. Staff is friendly and they have a well sticked price competetitive gift shop in the lobby too. We will definately stay here again if we go to amsterdam.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors on the left side of the hotel for great views
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the review, it is very positive and we like that! Great shot, looks likes the weather was cloudy, we had a mostly rainy summer in this part of the world, sorry for that, we are still hoping for a beautiful Indian Summer!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The receptionist at chech-in was rude and unhelpful when I asked for a room on higher floor, even though I had already indicated that on my reservation. I was just asking if my preference could be fulfilled. But was made to feel like I had no rights.

But I did not let her ruin the rest of my stay, which was very good.

Room was spacious. Nice view over the waters. Could see the sunrise every morning. Very clean. Two twins pushed together. Internet connection was problem-free. Bath and shower, bright and spacious. Air-con was good.

Location is a bit off centered. But I had a 3-day pass, so wasn't afraid to use the tram. One stop to the central train station, where you could connect to anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldfish_kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerAmsterdam, Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2011

Dear Miss,

First of all, I would like to apologize for the less than warm welcome you received at check-in. I am thankful that you chose to leave it as a glitch in an otherwise nice stay with us, this information is copied to our Front Office Manager.

Thank you for the review and, yes, a three-day pass is the way to go if you choose trams as your preferred way of transport in Amsterdam. I know I do! A three-day pass is money well spent considering a one-hour ticket costs 2.60 EUR.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in Amsterdam,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews