We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern rooms in a quiet location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #171 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern rooms in a quiet location...”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

If you like modern and trendy, this hotel fits the bill. Situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood but still only about a 20 minute walk from Leidesplein, most of which is a very nice stroll either in Vondel Park or along lovely Amderstam streets. Or take a 5-minute tram ride -- very easy. Several restaurants and cafes nearby but if you are looking for more variety, head to Leidesplein. The rooms were great -- clean and comfortable and the staff were great. The buffet breakfast (an extra $13 euros each) was perfectly adequate but not outstanding. Highly recommended if you don't mind being a little ways (and I mean just a little) out from the main center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusBambufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    661
    352
    182
    126
See reviews for
190
762
108
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Reception staff were helpful and polite. The room was modern, compact and clean. Location was good for museums and trams into the city.
*** The bathroom, commented on by other travellers, was just too weird. See photo's. It was compact, separated from the bedroom by partially obscured glass and at size 16 (UK women's) I was at the upper end of person that could turn around next to the sink. The carpet next to the bathroom was coming off the floor and did not support the star rating given.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed at the hotel in the end of September for 5 nights. The hotel is very clean and modernly designed, and located in a nice and quite neighborhood near the park and not far from the city center. However, as for the service - this is not a 4-star hotel at all.
To begin with, we had to take our luggage ourselves to the room - to get there we had to pass through a steep staircase until the elevator.
The room itself was extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom and bedroom were in fact a one space - highly inconvenient for a couple. Furthermore, there was no mirrors in the room (other then one tiny mirror inside the closet), and the sink was situated outside the so called bathroom.
when we got to Amsterdam it was already cold at night, however the central heat system was still set to summer mode, meaning that it was quite cold in the room. On top of that, we were equipped with two single and relatively thin quilts, although the room was ordered for a couple. It took us 3 days before we got a descent quilt, and the heat system was not set to heat the room throughout our stay, even though we asked for it repeatedly.
And to top that, the hotel staff lost one of my girlfriend's shoes!! When we approached the hotel staff with that issue, nobody believed us. It got to the point where the hotel manager itself accused us of having an unusually untidy room, and that the shoe must be inside the room. When we checked out we insisted to be compensated in some manner, and about an hour after we left I received a phone call from the manager that the shoe has been found. The manager promised to send the shoe to our next destination via express mail, however, the shoe had reached that destination only 8 days after we left Amsterdam - we were already back home by then, causing us further inconvenience in our attempts to get the shoe back.
In short - keep out of this hotel. This is by no means a 4-star facility, and the service was disrespectful to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omer2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Quite hard to find at first, when advised the tram driver we need to get off by vondelpark, assuming the hotel would be nearby we were very wrong!
The staff were very very helpful and friendly upon checkin and throughout the stay.
Our room was quite average and small, and nothing like the pictures shown on here.
The bathroom was small and like previous people have said about the frosted glass. Also there's a mirror right outside the door so for me staying with a friend not a partner, the thought that I was able to be seen through the glass door and then bouncing onto the mirror was not ideal!
Tv was great, lots of choices and the ability to use it as a computer screen.
Really recommend the iPod facility they have "music on demand" as there are a range of albums that fit everyones taste to play.
As a typical Brit though, had to ask for proper tea bags as the ones given were lemon tea or earl grey. The staff were more than happy to give us more.
I would recommend it but make sure you ask for a suite or deluxe exec room if you want anything that looks like the pictures on this site!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly79667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Booked and paid for 2 nights but only stayed 1, as service poor, staff rude and unhelpful. The room was also freeezing which actually matched the staff attitude!
Looks good from the outside but don't expect a warm welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

ROOMS
My room was fairly small. All the rooms seem to have a smallish bathroom with a shower and a toilet. Note, the sink is on the OUTSIDE of the bathroom. This leaves no privacy for doing your personal hygiene stuff, you are inside the hotel room itself and it would feel awkward for me if sharing the room with another person.

The products supplied are not many - a bar of soap, body lotion, shampoo and body wash, all of average quality.

The aircon worked well, but was of the kind which never shut off and was constantly on. The thermostat was not correct, when set to 25C it was about 20C but you can work your way around that by just setting a higher temperature than you require.

If opening the window please be aware that there can be some noise from the goings-on outside, there are some restaurants and bars in the area and sometimes some noise from people leaving these, you may also find that the tram trundling past creates noise which may prevent you from sleeping. However, when closing the window I heard no sounds from outside.

No minibar, but they do supply a small fridge. Safe. Internet access in-room expensive, but free in the lobby. No ironing boards/iron, but you can request these from housekeeping.

BREAKFAST
is of average quality, but the standard varies. Sometimes the croissants were burnt, and sometimes there was no fresh bread. Some items were not available on some dais, so it's clear the selection of items varies. The scrambled eggs were obviously steamed and tasted a bit odd, but the bacon and sausages were fine. Otherwise, there are standard breakfast items like (mature) cheese, a few different types of ham, chorizo, and salami. Few items suitable for vegetarians. There is also youghurt, fruit salad, cerals, and of course hot and cold drinks. A nice touch was that they provided fresh mint leaves for making tea.

LOCATION
This hotel is not centrally located. However, it's right next to a big park, which is great for a stroll or a jog in the morning. It is also very near the Emmastraat tram stop. However it's a good 15-20 minutes on the tram going into town. Taxis rarely pass by outside so you can't just step outside and grab a taxi, but they can call one for you and they are usually very quick to arrive.

SERVICE
This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at which seem to have what amounts to a Service Level Agreement. Maybe it's not that formal, but when requesting something they will tell you that it will be available "within X minutes". They stand by their word, if you request an ironing board and they say it will be within 10 minutes or less, that is what will happen. The staff is obviously dedicated and very accommodating if you need something. In fact, when there were no taxis available the staff took two of my colleagues in a private car and drove them to their destination - saving my colleagues a very long wait for a taxi. That shows dedication.

Note, there is NO room service at this hotel. Also there is NO laundry service on a Saturday - even though the piece of paper you fill in for your laundry indicates this is available, for a 50% surcharge. Laundry needs to be handed in by 08:30 and will not be retgurned untila abou 20:00 the same day.

OVERALL
I would not recommend this hotel to business travellers. For leisure travellers it's fine, just keep in mind you are a mile or so away from any "action".

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polar_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay here to celebrate my 21st birthday, and no complaints here! Our room was in the newer building which is very modern, and we had air con and a 'spa' bathroom which was fab.

Located near to the Leidesplein which is full of amazing bars and hotspots.

Can't complain about the hotel at all; we were told check-in was 2pm earliest but when we arrived at 11.30 am our room was ready for us with a complimentary bottle of water and fruit platter.

We had BBC channels on our TV (not that we watched it!) and a fridge and safe in our room.

Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lallyloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#89 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#130 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#103 of 367 in Amsterdam
848 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#226 of 367 in Amsterdam
699 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#158 of 367 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing