We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #184 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is in a nice Area but its pretty run down. The Doors all feel like they'll break apart, and the bathrooms look new but are also falling apart. But it is clean and has beds which dont leave you with backpain. The staff is very helpful and friendly but all in all its an average hotel with average rooms. The breakfast is in my opinion super expensive, so i didn't try it. All in all it has the pricetag of a Hotel and the chracter of a Hostel. Not sure if i would visit again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeredepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    515
    293
    144
    101
See reviews for
142
598
83
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Very great service! The reception staff are really friendly! We arrived early in the morning at 7am and while they weren't able to give us the room at that time, they did make it available before the actual check in time. The first 2 nights we stayed in a very regular room. It was pretty clean and decent. A bit too dark, but that helped to sleep better. Bathroom was decent too. The only concern we had with this room was the fact that there were small ants in the bathroom and by the window. Then there was really strong unheard of rainfall on our second day which in turn flooded the room. All of our things were ok, it was just the carpet. That is when the hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and upgraded us for free to a beautiful penthouse suite. Now, we have never stayed in suites like this, so for us it was really amazing! It was very spatious, 2 floors. It had a small kitchenette with fridge and microwave as well as a couch, a desk and some free space on the lower level. On the second level it was a large living area with dining table, TV, fire place and a bed. Bathroom was also on the second floor with 2 sinks and a Jacuzzi. Everything looked clean and spotless, very luxurious! The second floor was right under the roof which was made out of glass, so it was very nice and bright in that space. You could also overlook the roofs of the other buildings. While this was a really great room to stay at, there was one part that was omitted that is very important to me: while the glass room provided enough sunlight during the day, it was way too bright in the morning to sleep. My only recommendation would be is to put better blinds or somehow to separate the bed area from the rest of the room, so that there would be enough darkness when need to sleep.
In terms of location it is pretty good for a location outside of the city centre. Tram number 2 stops very close to the hotel and takes you to the centre in 15 minutes. The park is right there, and the main museums are only few stops away.

Room Tip: I think rooms facing the park are quitter, even though we didn't stay on the other side. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeless_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have booked a superior room in this hotel, but on our arrival we were offered a horrible, dirty and extremely shabby room with a twin bed, even though we have asked for one big have bed when booking. I have never seen such an ugly room before, especially having in mind that this is a 4 stars hotel. In fact, we have chosen this hotel, even if it was quite distant from the city center for this reason.
When we complained at the reception, they have offered another room as a favor for us. But we have actually booked a superior room!!!
The second room was more similar to the room we saw when booking (the receptionist said they often show only the pictures of their best rooms!!!! Can you imagine that?), it was quite stylish, very big, but also a bit shabby and the carpet was dirty. Moreover, a sink was in the room and a toilet was an opened glass cube, so you could hear and smell everything. It was really embarrassing! Furthermore, after a few showers the carpet got completely wet, so we could not walk bear foot in our room! In addition, despite the fact that we stayed there for 3 nights, the room has never been cleaned, they only changed the towels every day.
It was a very very unpleasant experience and, of course, we will never stay at Park Plaza again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaliojimansarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Санкт-Петербург, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you want to spend time in Amsterdam and experience the charm of this beautiful city, poring over its full life and a measured about this to be close to the city center - you are here! Wonderful, charming, comfortable, quiet hotel near the park has very to rest and work, if necessary. This place I left a very positive recollections forever.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautiful new and modern hotel, great helpful staff and really really close to central station. Breakfast was nice, room super modern with excellent lighting modes, 24Hour pool access a bonus. Interesting art gallery in basement and a beautiful smoking lounge (for tobacco)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turin, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

generally speaking room was so poor, not that much cleaned, bathroom was old and malfunctioning, no way to have some privacy inside the bathroom, no mirrors in the right place both for shaving and make up quite noisy room, breakfast was too expensive for what they served.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I don't agree with reviews that say that the city center can be reached by only 5 minutes by tram: the hotel is 20 minutes from downtown! Apart from this, good location and very good hotel: the presence of stairs at the entry and for reaching the restaurant (which serves also the breakfast) is absolutely not comfortable when moving wheelchairs.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are very large, and perfect for accommodating a cot (which is free)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#93 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#130 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing