We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #166 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have booked a superior room in this hotel, but on our arrival we were offered a horrible, dirty and extremely shabby room with a twin bed, even though we have asked for one big have bed when booking. I have never seen such an ugly room before, especially having in mind that this is a 4 stars hotel. In fact, we have chosen this hotel, even if it was quite distant from the city center for this reason.
When we complained at the reception, they have offered another room as a favor for us. But we have actually booked a superior room!!!
The second room was more similar to the room we saw when booking (the receptionist said they often show only the pictures of their best rooms!!!! Can you imagine that?), it was quite stylish, very big, but also a bit shabby and the carpet was dirty. Moreover, a sink was in the room and a toilet was an opened glass cube, so you could hear and smell everything. It was really embarrassing! Furthermore, after a few showers the carpet got completely wet, so we could not walk bear foot in our room! In addition, despite the fact that we stayed there for 3 nights, the room has never been cleaned, they only changed the towels every day.
It was a very very unpleasant experience and, of course, we will never stay at Park Plaza again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaliojimansarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    677
    359
    186
    127
See reviews for
195
783
110
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Санкт-Петербург, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you want to spend time in Amsterdam and experience the charm of this beautiful city, poring over its full life and a measured about this to be close to the city center - you are here! Wonderful, charming, comfortable, quiet hotel near the park has very to rest and work, if necessary. This place I left a very positive recollections forever.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautiful new and modern hotel, great helpful staff and really really close to central station. Breakfast was nice, room super modern with excellent lighting modes, 24Hour pool access a bonus. Interesting art gallery in basement and a beautiful smoking lounge (for tobacco)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turin, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2014

generally speaking room was so poor, not that much cleaned, bathroom was old and malfunctioning, no way to have some privacy inside the bathroom, no mirrors in the right place both for shaving and make up quite noisy room, breakfast was too expensive for what they served.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paolo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I don't agree with reviews that say that the city center can be reached by only 5 minutes by tram: the hotel is 20 minutes from downtown! Apart from this, good location and very good hotel: the presence of stairs at the entry and for reaching the restaurant (which serves also the breakfast) is absolutely not comfortable when moving wheelchairs.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are very large, and perfect for accommodating a cot (which is free)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Having stayed at many different hotels in Amsterdam, this is definitely my favourite. I had requested a specific room I had stayed in previously and the hotel thankfully obliged. There was a nice unexpected welcome gift & hand written letter on arrival at the room - very nice touch. Very helpful staff, fantastic location, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Loved this hotel & its location. Only 5 minutes on the tram to the centre of Amsterdam, lovely area, really quiet and lovely houses all round! Rooms were comfortable only issue was the sink wasn't in the bathroom but in the main room which was a bit awkward. Would recommend and definitely stay in this area when returning to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#160 of 368 in Amsterdam
517 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,240 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#217 of 368 in Amsterdam
725 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 368 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#170 of 368 in Amsterdam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing