We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #177 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A bit far from the action but tram no. 2 passes right in front of the hotel and would take you to dam square in 15 mins. The rooms are decently big and clean. Breakfast is limited, cold cuts, sausages, eggs, cereals, breads, croissants etc. People are the reception are quite helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kushagrasharan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    563
    306
    152
    106
See reviews for
152
638
90
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were hoping for a good base to see Amsterdam and the room was tiny with twin beds pushed together, shower and no bath and smokey smell in the room. We asked for a room change which was available on line but they wouldn't change us to a better room. I just don't understand why any hotel wouldn't give a better room if available to protect their reputation. On line there is a bigger room with a bath for €60 less than we are paying. very sad!! We won't be back

Room Tip: Check the size before you book unless you want a match box!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Where to start with the Park Plaza? Perhaps with the website? It’s described as ‘One of the Top Amsterdam City Centre Hotels’: I would never describe it as ‘top’ and it’s certainly not city centre. I have no idea which rooms are featured in the photographs but they bear no resemblance to the rooms I saw. The company has obviously redefined ‘basic room’ as ‘superior room’, presumably on the basis that by the time you realise what it’s really like, it’ll be too late.

We arrived late morning and the receptionist who checked us in did a reasonably efficient job but there was nothing in the way of a welcome. She explained that the room wouldn’t be ready until 2pm so we went out for a walk. We got back later in the afternoon and eventually got a room more or less as promised on booking.

My partner had backache after the 2nd night because of the poor state of the mattresses. And then there's the bathroom. What sort of designer thinks it’s a good idea to have a frosted glass door on a bathroom with the lavatory just inside the door? Presumably whoever it was thought it was a way to get daylight into the bathroom. It would have been better to have decent lighting in there so that you could walk past the door when your partner was using the lavatory without embarrassment. The shower was hopeless – one of those rain-type things but the pressure was so low that you couldn’t get close enough to the wall to get under the water properly.

The noise in the bedroom was surprising: sounds of voices from other rooms, traffic noise from the main road outside and the banging of room doors until after midnight and then from 06:45 in the morning. It wasn't because the other people were having a party - merely that the bedroom doors have heavy-duty closers on them so that it's impossible to shut the doors quietly.

Breakfast was a shambles: there were two staff on duty although one was preoccupied with trying to get people to sign their bills. Most of the time used crockery was left on tables except for the one occasion when my partner and I both went to the buffet and got back to the table to find that our coffee, orange juice and plates had all been removed. The buffet would have been good if it had been kept stocked. The yoghourt bowls were usually empty, it was rare to find bowls for fruit etc or spoons, they were often out of plates and coffee cups. On one morning, they had run out of bread rolls, butter, jam, yoghourt, bowls, plates, spoons, coffee cups… On this particular morning there was a man in a suit who appeared to be some sort of supervisor. He obviously realised that things were bad and disappeared.

Against that, most of the reception staff were very cheerful and very helpful. That’s about the best I can say about it. The fact that the management haven't seen fit to comment on any of the reviews here probably tells us all we need to know about their attitude to customers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the park side of the hotel if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musketeer1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I picked the hotel for a romantic few days in Amsterdam for my girlfriend and myself. The location was great and the price quite reasonable. Unfortunately the room we were given looked far less admirable than the photos that were shown upon booking. In fact one of the 'clean' glasses in the bathroom had clearly been used as an ashtray, despite the no smoking policy, only for the cleaner to leave as new. We didn't let this bother us, however .... the first night in the hotel was impossible. It seemed that there was a 24 party above our heads, through the concrete floors, in the neighboring bedroom. The noise could also be heard throughout the corridor. This continued into the next evening upon which I complained only for dancing/banging to stop for an hour or so before keeping me in and out of sleep throughout the night. Morning arrives and the party has moved out only for a new group of people smoking weed out of the bedroom window opposite our room. Not a problem at first, but then it becomes the whole of their stay with windows open, loud talking, and starring into my room. So perhaps this might be a place to party, but not if you want to sleep of have a clean room. . Even my complaints landed on deaf ears. Perhaps a clean glass and some mature neighbors might have changed this whole experience. Needless to say, the I won't be returning nor recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from groups of young travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I can only assess this hotel based on my experience. I stayed here for two nights on the 15th and 16th April 2014. The only good thing about this hotel is the staff who are nice. The hotel is dirty and badly maintained. On arrival in my room I discovered it was about 7ft by 12ft with toilet and shower in a single compartment behind a glass wall. Curtains grubby, bed unkempt, something brown spattered on the door and all plumbing external to the walls and visible. There was clothing belonging to a previous guest on the bed when I arrived. There was a tiny desk and a plastic chair. Everything was shabby. If this is even a two star I'd be shocked. Personaly I dont blame the staff, I blame the owners. Providing a decent environment for their guests is obviously not a priority. I don't expect a palace but well maintained accommodation isnt too much to ask. There are cheaper and better hotels in the city. Never staying here again and would not recommend you do either.

Room Tip: Im note sure there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed at the Vondelpark Hotel for three nights this week. It's an ok place to rest your head but if you're expecting luxury then this certainly isn't for you. And considering it's meant to be 4* it leaves a little to be desired.

Pros - Decent location, nice staff, quiet at night.

Cons - Room size, bathroom, decoration, lots of noise early in the morning.

More details: The staff were polite and helpful and the location was ok as it was right next to Vondelpark, which is great for cycling and jogging, but it is a little far from the city centre. It's easily a 20 minute walk to the nearest museums/supermarket, and a further 20-30 minutes to get to Centraal Station and the inner city, and we walk at a rather fast pace. Trams do stop near the hotel though so that's a positive if you don't want to take the walk.

On the night, the streets were silent as everyone who went by was on bikes. However, come the morning (5.30 - 6am) deliveries start and the staff are not quiet. Crates, trollies and carts were crashing about at a ridiculous volume, along with lorries making loads of noise and bottles from the night before being put out. Not good if you fancy a lie in.

My brother and I shared a room and our room size wasn't too bad, but my dad's room was tiny and in a completely different part of the hotel. Our bathroom had a glass door, which was a little strange as my brother and I are adults, so you won't feel as though you have any privacy. There were cobwebs in the corner of the room and part of the wall above the bed had been damaged and not repaired. My dad's sink produced some terrible smells on the final night too.

The decoration throughout the hotel was unusual. Nothing matched, some of it looked retro, some looked modern and some just looked tired - there was no theme. None of the furniture matched and it all looked unsettled. The carpets could do with replacing too.

Bike hire was available through the hotel at 16 Euros for 24 hours. We found this to be quite useful and it's an excellent way to see Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon7W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

next time I would prefer the 6th floor for not hearing people above us. The building is pretty old, although the rooms are partly renovated. breakfast was similar to other Carlson Hotels I have visited in Europe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ipek U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#98 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#85 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing