We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and helpful staff but room left something to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #163 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Upon checkin we had to lug heavy suitcases down stairs to another building where we found although the room was lovely and clean, it was a double and we had booked specifically for a twin. We were offered a change immediately but the older part if the hotel is VERY shabby. Stained carpet outside the lift, chipped paint, marked up walls and massive cobwebs in the room. Bathroom sink had tape around piping and cleaning was not great. Came back to a mediocre clean, still stained sink, unvacuumed carpet. Someone OBVIOUSLY smoking in their room in this non smoking hotel stank up the entire floor and my room. Poor show Park Plaza!

Thank Janez88
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Despite pre-paying for the room, and notifying them of our late night arrival - they gave our room away only to tell us as we arrived. They found another room 30 minutes away. I will never trust them.


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We decided to try a hotel a little outside the tourist area of the city, and we were pleasantly surprised with this new hotel located on the #2 trolly line that comes south through the center of the city from the central rail station past the major museums. The area is very quiet, the hotel consists of three buildings connected to the reception, and it is clean, and the staff is mostly helpful and friendly. The hotel is popular with younger couples and students. There was a large breakfast area serving a large selection of quality food.

Our room was large with lots of space to store clothes, and with a square, glassed in shower/toilet area, and a useful although small desk.

My wife quickly noticed that the vanity had only a small portable mirror and no lights! How could she possibly put on make up with only a small ceiling light directly over her head? She picked up the mirror and set it on the desk that faced a window. This works in summer, but she would have been really unhappy in the winter with no daylight. In addition, the reading light next to the bed was broken, but staff fixed it the next day. Wi-Fi was free, but difficult to connect. it took a trip to reception to get it set up. The only lights in the room were small ceiling lights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lighted vanity and mirror. Not all rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrBob-cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location.... nice area away from it all
Easy access to the city- tram outside the hotel.
Friendly staff.
we were upgarded free to the executive room.
comfy beds!
Lovely views from the back of the hotel.

Only thing is teh bathrooms are see through...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at a Park Plaza in Leeds so was happy to stay in this one and wasn't disappointed. Rooms are very modern, clean and well equipped (tv, fridge etc) and the location was perfect. Right next to vondelpark and only a short tram right into the busier centre we felt like we had the best of both worlds. Would definitely recommend for a short break to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nice, the service is great and the rooms are beautiful. The only downside is the bathroom, open and integrated to the bedroom. The breakfast is delicious. There is a tram stop almost in front of the hotel, which takes you directly to downtown Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murilo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's the third time this year we've stayed in hotels in Europe which have "interesting" bathroom arrangements. Maybe I am just getting old and boring? If you're not familiar with your partner when you arrive, you will be by the time you leave! Our room had a nice large shower room with a glass wall between it and the bedroom, with "modesty stripes" a source of great amusement.
Very comfortable bed, large room, mini balcony overlooking the park. Interesting décor: a few bits of furniture which looked distinctly like they came from Ikea, mixed in with Starck designed pieces.
Friendly & helpful reception. House wine not worth trying.
Breakfast generous and varied, typical selection of cold meats, fish, breads, fruit etc.
Nice location. A quick trip by tram into town, or you can take a leisurely walk through the Vondelpark which is lovely on a sunny day.
Good value when booked via the hotel's own website a couple of months in advance - significant discount on rack rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#159 of 371 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#135 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#220 of 371 in Amsterdam
741 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#103 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#121 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing