We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #168 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Basingstoke, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Average hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My stay was only for one night as I was on a short business trip. My choice of hotel was limited to those on our preferred list and influenced also by the fact that this was a preferred hotel of one of my suppliers and on the right side of the city for commuting to their offices.
Although not directly in the city centre, the Park Plaza it is situated in a quiet, leafy and pleasant residential neighborhood and right by the Vondelpark. It is also on the Tram 2 line, so the Central Station, Museums etc. are easily accessible.
Check in was easy and efficient although I was not given any information regarding upgrades, breakfast times etc. Reception staff were polite though and I’m sure would have provided information if asked.

My room was on the 2nd floor, it was a bit tired but clean and functional. It had two single beds pushed together, a desk, flat screen TV and a safe. Whilst clean, the bathroom was small, with an adequate shower but gave little privacy as all that separated it from the main bedroom area was a glass partition.
There was some road noise and you could hear other guests entering or leaving their rooms and having general conversations. So from a sound insulation perspective it wasn’t that great.
The coffee machine in the room was a nice touch and provided decent coffee.

The bar lounge area had a nice vibe to it, and was in much better decorative order than the rooms. Drinks prices were not outrageous. Breakfast was a buffet style, with a nice selection. It was self service, so the staff were quite “invisible”, there to replenish food etc. but not really to serve.

All in all an average hotel in a good location

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGSBasingstoke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    676
    359
    186
    127
See reviews for
194
783
110
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Having arrived at Park Plaza Vondelpark on a very rainy Thursday, and having had no sleep for over 40 hours, we were keen to get to our rooms and have a nap. The staff were friendly from the offset; however, the room, as other people have mentioned, was far from the "superior double" highlighted in my booking confirmation.

Overwhelmed with fatigue, we stayed in the room for a kip, but it was cold, the decor was outdated and the room was tiny with two twin beds. I wrote an email to the front desk to convey my dissatisfaction.

Upon waking, we had received a reply. They had no double rooms available for that evening but said to check again the next day. On their instruction, we checked the next morning and they had another room ready for us in the other side of the building.

This room was much more spacious, modern and fitted the description of what I had signed up for! It was the kind with a glass bathroom, but even a British prude like me was able to overcome this. The TVs in the rooms are Samsung flat screens with plenty of English channels for when resting in the hotel. The wall could have perhaps done with a lick of paint, as it was looking tired, but it was a much quieter, much warmer and, overall, much better room!

The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating so, if you do end up with an older room, be sure to ask what they can do for you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed with friends for a weekend break of 3 nights.
Location may not be central but is in a very nice suburb , you just need to get used to the Dutch tram system, pretty easy, the stop is a few minutes walk from the hotel.
We were disappointed initially with the size of the room, we had booked a superior room that was certainly on the small size coupled with the fact that the bathroom is enclosed by a glass screen, if you faced the wrong direction on the bed I could see my partners sillohette while using the toilet which was 3 foot away.I eventually had a room upgrade to an "executive room" on the ground floor, in essence this was just a larger room..
The clealiness of the rooms need attention .
The reception staff were very helpful especially Iris.
We were disappointed as the cost was not the best for such an average standard. Not what I expected of such a well known brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardifftop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNieuwenhuize, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Cardifftop from Cardiff, South Wales,

Thank you for your response and especially your nice compliment for Iris which I have told her immediately.

Also your comment regarding our Housekeeping I have passed directly because we always would like to offer the highest level.

Looking forward seeing you in the future!

Kind regards,
Maarten Nieuwenhuize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Amsterdam hotels in my view are generally very expensive and often offer very small rooms.
I felt this one was good value as we booked well ahead @ 110 euro room only. As many others
have said the bathrooms are rather odd as it is esentially a glass walled section of the room
with just frosting to cover.....

On the whole the room was modern and warm. Some of the carpets need a good clean
or replacement. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed the location in the suberbs. 4 tram
stops to liedesplien. Staff were very very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNieuwenhuize, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear IanF444 from Bristol,

Thank you for your review.
This will be helpfull for other travellers who want to visit Amsterdam!

I'm happy to see you've mentioned our typical bathroom because it's nice touch within a beautiful room.

Looking forward seeing you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Maarten Nieuwenhuize
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights recently. Nice welcome card in room as Gold member from hotel manager with easter egg chocolates and Arizona tea. Nice large new corner room in the annex building with a view of the park which was very peaceful.

The hotel is not for those who want to be in the heart of things but it is a relatively short commute by tram or walk through the park to Leidesplein. Downsides are the weekend I was there was pretty cold and at least with a city centre hotel you could just walk back instead of freezing at a tram stop.

One or two small niggles in the stay settled quickly after contacting the duty manager.

Free wifi with good connection.

All in all if you get a good rate, a good choice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNieuwenhuize, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear travelg from Aberdeen,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor!
We are indeed a hotel escpecially for those who enjoy this quiet and characteristic area of Amsterdam called "oud zuid" .

I hope to meet you next time you will visit Amsterdam. At least I will wright you a personal note again!

Kind regards,
Maarten Nieuwenhuize
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed her for three nights at the end of March with a friend. Very nice room which was spacious although the bathroom was a little uncomfortable- it was in the room with just a screen to hide our modesty. Needless to say my friend and I are a lot closer than planned!! Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely every morning.
Nicely situated near the park- we took a scenic route back on a number of occasions.
Tram stop is 2 minutes walk away and provides easy access to the rest of the city.
I would definitely book again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNieuwenhuize, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Faye P from Manchester,

Thank you for your positive response!
We hope you and your friend are still close after your stay in our hotel !

Since you've mentioned you would love to stay in Vondelpark hotel the next time you will visit Amsterdam, I hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Maarten Niewenhuize
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a good position very near the park and conveniently close to tram stop. Quite alot of traffic noise as we were at front of Hotel. Staff very friendly. Rooms comfortable and free wifi very useful. Very nice bar with reasonable prices. Small gym with 3 running machines & 2 bikes.

Helpful?
Thank Mich133
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MNieuwenhuize, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Mich133,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to mentione we have added a new abdominal machine in our fitness

We hope to see you again the next time you will visit Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
Maarten Nieuwenhuize
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#159 of 368 in Amsterdam
517 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#139 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#219 of 368 in Amsterdam
726 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Best Western Delphi Hotel
#171 of 368 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing