We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #173 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ely, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Near the park and street car line. Nice breakfast. Book a room at the back if you want less street noise. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear sir/madame

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and appreciation of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you experienced a good service and that you had a good stay with us and fully enjoyed Amsterdam.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area !

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    664
    357
    185
    127
See reviews for
192
766
109
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were more than happy with this hotel, set away from the hussle and bustle of the centre, which is easily accessible using the nearby tram stop. The room smallish but perfectly adequate with a large bed and the infamous glass frosted bathroom doors. There is a fridge and a safe in the room as well as a coffee machine. The only critism I would say is that there is one mirror in the bathroom and the lighting is not so bright. Our room was located in one of the buildings next to main reception on the third floor, facing the road. A little noisy with the trams going past, however we did not feel this adversly affected our stay. The room was bright and airy. Vondelpark is lovely and well worth a walk around. I would imagine it is stunning in the spring/summer. All in all, ourselves and the other couple who travelled with us were more than happy with the accommodation and the staff who were friendly and approachable. We would definately prefer to come back but i would ask for a room facing away from the road next time. We also loved that being a little out of the way, on travelling towards the centre, we could hop on and off the tram visiting less busy entertainment areas than the main hub which we could well have missed had we opted for a central hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Vondelpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you consider staying with us again to enjoy spring or summer in Amsterdam

Please let us know if we can assist you with your next reservation. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2011

very bad place to stay small room and they charged me two time on my credit card for one night stay and refused to pay me back very bad hotel and service is awful i hope the hotel is shut down.

Room Tip: get hotel near the airport nh is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Usa, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and the hotel made the trip perfect. Close to everything but in a quite area...plus ultra close to public transport, great international food, & good bars in area/hotel. The hotel was fun and funky...and a clear bathroom (shower to toilet...clear). I would stay in the same hotel again and will try to every time I am in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Street parking was readily available and public transportation was great and close. So park the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradAndLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and appreciation of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had such a wondeful experiences at your first time in Amsterdam and appreciated everything Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam had to offer.

Thank you for your business and we and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We spent sometime searching Trip Advisor for a suitable hotel for a 2 night stay in Amsterdam with our two friends who were joining us in The Netherlands. We have previously stayed in the NH Amsterdam City Centre Hotel but were put off by the inflatted price they were asking for, for this weekend (This particular weekend is the Amsterdam Dance Event which could be the cause for inflated prices around the city).

We found the hotel to be resonable price so decided to go with this. The city and specifically Dam Square is within a 5 minute tram journey. There is a tram stop some 300 yeards down the road which is superb for getting around the city and to and from Central Station. Very quiet and nice area of Amsterdam, away from the hussle of the red light district and any bars.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and perfect for a city break. The rooms though small, were all we really needed as a couple. For anyone with a wheelchair or pushchair it maybe a little swkward. One thing to note is the toilet/shower is actually in the room with a glass partition seperating a wet room off from the remainder of the bedroom. Our room has a flat screen Samsung TV with a selection of British, Dutch and German TV channels.

There is a nice bar area downstairs which was ideal for a quick drink before heading out into the city. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel away from the city centre but within a short tram journey. Staff we're all friendly and helpful, enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppvoguest, General Manager at Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you experienced a good service upon arrival and that you had a good stay.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area and to meet or exceed your expectations!


Kind regards,

Armand van Kemenade
Hotel Manager Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Whoever builds a hotel that has several steps to the door is crazy.. not a good start. If you have mobility issues you may want to look elsewhere.

The rooms are OK sized, with a great shower. The basin was set in a wooden cabinet which probably looked great when it was installed, but this IS a hotel, wear and tear will make it easy for water damage to spoil it. Oh, and us guys who shave? we DO tend to need mirrors.

The white paintwork is looking a little tired as are the carpets.

Breakfast was the usual 'mainland Europe' fair, with plenty of bread, cheese, meat, fruit etc and perfectly OK. The bar on the other hand was a little frustrating. It looks good however many of the seats are very uncomfortable so not a place to linger and chat unless you can sit at the bar. It often took a while to get served.

There is no restaraunt at this hotel. Unless you get a cab or a tram the nearest restaraunts are 10 minutes walk away.

The tram stop is 2 minutes walk from the hotel and is on a line to Centraal Station which passes through central Amsterdam.

The hotel offers meeting facilities (my reason for being there). Whilst the service was attentive during the booking process however the support offered to meeting delegates left a little to be desired. The projector supplied was not well maintained and meeting delegates had problems reading the projector screen.

In summary, an OK hotel if you want a weekend in Amsterdam and want somewhere quiet but still only 10 minutes from the heart of town but having visited many Park Plaza hotels it is not up to the standards I have experienced at other Park Plaza sites.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is definitely not a 4 stars hotel.

They try hard with the design , to make it look hype and cool but the room we had was nothing but. Badly designed rooms and old carpet flooring.

The staff was not helpful at all when we realized that they have charged us more than we agreed for our booking.

The only positive about this hotel is the location , next to vondelpark.

Apart form that you are better off to a 3 or even 2 star hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,230 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,416 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#133 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#218 of 367 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#103 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing