We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WOW!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Ranked #184 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

One word to some it up! WOW!!

We had the Jacuzzi penthouse suite! AWESOME!!
Great view, nice relaxed location, easy to travel to and from with public transport and super friendly staff!
Love the breakfast room and bar area. Very modern design!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    535
    301
    145
    103
See reviews for
146
616
85
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This hotel was a great base to see the rest of Amsterdam. It is not particularly central but is in a lovely expensive-looking part of Amsterdam near the museum district (15 mins walk to Van Gogh) and the Vondelpark (almost next-door).

A tram line runs directly outside the hotel with a stop just a minute's walk away; this will take you right into the centre of town and the central station in about 15 minutes. There are restaurants and bars in the surrounding streets but it's not a busy or particularly lively part of town (we really liked this), and is a very restful base.

The rooms themselves were spacious, a bit shoddily finished (eg cracks where they didn't finish the surfacing on the side of the shower tiles) but overall quite stylish and comfortable. The bathroom was in-room with a frosted glass wall separating it visually, which meant it was small but serviceable.

In-room tea and coffee was good; they didn't provide much though and didn't replace it often.

When I checked the room as we left, under the bed I noticed some rubbish (a tissue, some packaging, not from us) which didn't impress me but the rest of the room was spotless - I assume this was very much a one-off and they'd simply forgotten to clean under the bed.

Service was very good.

Our wireless internet wouldn't work and several others seemed to have this problem too. We went to the front desk who "reset" something which didn't work; we went back and they gave us a voucher which worked fine.

The double bed was two singles combined with shared bedding. We were on the first floor with a view of a nice garden, in the old building. It was very quiet. There were opening windows to the garden which were overlooked (but with good curtains).

The cost was very reasonable.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away from the noise of central Amsterdam but be close enough to enjoy it very easily.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goanna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Two night stay for business. Selected this hotel because it was very close to a major business hotel where I was attending a conference. This hotel was less than half the price of the major business hotel and was an excellent choice, given that I was there only to sleep. Right on Nr 2 tram line. If I were not attending the event at the nearby venue, I probably would have picked a different hotel closer into the center of the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APM617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel is in a very leafy and central location, close to museum square. The hotel is modernly decorated and has been further upgraded since we last stayed here three years ago. It now also has a nice bar with small outside seating area.

We stayed in the old part of the hotel, where the rooms have also been refurbished. It suffers from the same styling as the new part: which means the bedroom and bathroom are only separated by a glass wall. This glass wall also does not run all the way up to the ceiling, meaning anything you do in the bathroom will be heard by however else is in the room. So only sleep here if you have no privacy issues with whoever you are staying with!

Our room was absolutely TINY. Just a few feet bigger then the actual bed. Our friends stayed on the same floor a few doors down and their room was much bigger (for the same room rate) It is just luck of the draw which room you get. Though you can always complain of course! (something we did not bother with)

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms away from the staircases
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_D74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is quite a nice hotel - the room is fairly big by European standards and seemed to have been fairly recently refurbished. It also had a balcony which was nice. The bathroom is a bit odd - it's actually a glassed in part of the room, rather than a separate room per se. Interesting concept, but it doesn't work: even when travelling with your partner, it just feels odd showering with only clear glass separating you from the main part of the room. There are also no towel rails or similar functional things - you have to hang your towels over the stool in the bathroom or the chairs out in the main room (or the shower screen, but that's no good if someone else is showering after you...).
The front desk people were pleasant but the young guy didn't seem to have much of a clue about such things as how the public transport works (eg. he tried to tell us the 24 hour ticket gets you 24 hours of in vehicle travel, which doesn't make any sense at all).
Overall - this place was okay, but a bit pricey and fails the 'little things' test that you expect when you're paying a bit more for a flashier hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veedubmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Myself, daughter, sister and friend stayed here for a long weekend. My daughter often works in Amsterdam so used her points to purchase this break, only having to pay for one room. When we arrived she was told she had been given an update but we were put in two seperate buildings, which was strange to say the least. The hotle itself is in a leafy suberb near the park, which we took advantage of to have a picnic . Our rooms were average, but the "updated room " was smaller than the other one., it had a coffee maker but no kettle, and a wet room with glass wall ! We were given one teabag the first night, and none the next, had to ask for some. There wasnt a restuaurant for meals, just a breakfast room..The transport system in Amsterdam is really good, trams run very regular and are cheap, we also took advantage of the canal hop on hop off boat trips, a great way of seeing the city. At the end of our stay we were able to deposit our luggage in the sister hotel near the train station and continue site seeing until our evening flight home.

Room Tip: Dont update to superior room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerwosere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel was a disappointment. While in a great neighborhood for walking and for taking the tram to the city center and museums, the hotel itself has severe issues. I was in an executive room -(should have been the best) and I went back to the desk to confirm it WAS an executive room. It was dirty - stains on the rugs, the sink is in a stand outside the bathroom and the table was covered in something that I had to scrub off, and if I spilled somthing like hand cream on the rug, it wasn't cleaned up the next day.
The bed was extremely hard (and I like a hard bed). They claim to have room service, but it's acually the bar menu (which is limited to appetizers) and delivered by front desk people "when they have time." Breakfast was excellent - it was included in my roomrate, so I don't know the value - but it was the one thing I could count on at this hotel. Finally, the staff was some of the worst I've ever dealt with. There were two types behind the front desk - several lovely, soft spoken young women wo had apparently just started because every question required their going to the back room behind the desk, getting an answer, and coming back with it. Then there were the experienced people who were argumentative and snooty. The first night I was woken up by a man yelling and banging on doors in my hallway. I called the front desk and no one answered. He finally stopped, but I mentioned it the next day. The woman next to me had come down to ask about the same incident because the man apparently banged so hard on HER door that he got in. The clerk behind the desk said that it was impossible for him to get in without a key and that she must have given him a key. It was her first night there too, and it was clear that she wasn't giving keys to anyone - yet they blamed HER for the security issue. If, despite this, you WANT to stay here, I hope you sleep deeply, because any door that is opened and shut on your hallway causes your walls to shake and the loud bang woke me from sleep regularly. I will NOT go back, despite frequest trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Don't bother - the hotel isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Picky_but_reasonable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#100 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#154 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#85 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#121 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#127 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Address: Koninginneweg 34-36, 1075 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza
Park Plaza Vondel Amsterdam
Vondel Park Plaza Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing