We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience The Amsterdam Dungeon
from $22.30
More Info
from $24.10
More Info
from $18.30
More Info
Reviews (2,359)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveler rating
747
465
210
82
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
465
210
82
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great actors roller coaster audience participation dark history funny experience madame tussauds great attraction a lot of fun dutch history rainy day dam square scary scares fright tickets jumps acting
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The Amsterdam Dungeon is one of the most interested activities we’ve done in Amsterdam. It was scary and funny at the same time, while your participation in the actor’s sketches made it even better!

Thank konstantinosmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had not expected this would be such a fun place to visit! The actors were all amazing & made the scenarios full of laughter (& a few screams!). I had not laughed as much in ages! Was worth the 30 minute or so wait to get in.

Thank V5868IXalisonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam D, General Manager at The Amsterdam Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

How amazing to hear that we are your favourite attraction in Amsterdam. You have just as much black humour as we do, don't you!?

Wonderful to hear that there were a few screams... If you come back some time, we will make sure it is much scarier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

First visit in Amsterdam Dungeon, it was funny and scary (for some people) me & my wife really enjoyed from all "show" and in the end we got a called bear, he he.
worth the money.

Thank AssafPelrmna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This is my 5th visit with friends but still really nice. It's the best dungeon experience I have had so far.

Thank ErwinvdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was more interesting and less scary, as we expected. We visited with our easy-to-frighten 10-year old, but it turned out to be a great place to confront her fears. It way also interesting, witty walk through medieval Amsterdam - actors were great.

Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam D, General Manager at The Amsterdam Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for you review, Barbara!
Great to hear that your child could confront her fears with us. Hopefully you will come back some time, so that we can try to scare you some more...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This funny experience takes place in the 17 century in he old Amsterdam
They guide you through a very funny and scary doors where they show you how the prisoners used to be tortured.
I volunteered for one of the experience which is the tongue cut using a sword. And guys this was just amazing.
Advise you all to visit it and try it.

Thank Mohamad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are easy to frighten, maybe this is the place to confront your fear. It started with a looong que. finally we went inside, still in a que. When we started to wonder: No Fee? we came around a corner were we were written in and put into a cave. The long wait prepared the night vision, Is is a walking theater with dungeon history an you participate in the plot. Funny, and impressive.
Was i Scared? No, too old for that but quite a few in the walking audience were.
I do recommend the place :)

Thank Lion1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

both entertaining and interesting, though a little bit too long.. we enjoyed it a lot, younger participants enjoyed even more

Thank Tour765786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very good place to visit they make it really interesting and fun acting out various scenarios with some audience participation it can be a bit scary for some but its all part of it. It's a fun way to spend an hour or so. We'll worth a visit

Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall we liked it however at the courtroom dungeon, some participants were called out for crime. All of them were asked where they were from. With everyone else they were guilty of something however one participant said he was Indian and he was already guilty and was sent back and was asked to not take it personally. I am an Indian myself and i did not like that statement. It’s humiliating in public. Your actors are amazing however statements like these can sabotage your reputation. Please be mindful that you have all kinds of nationalities coming to the Dungeon. One has to be careful with words and actions. All said and done, you guys put up a great show. It was funny and scary at the same time.

Thank you.

Thank SandhyaT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam D, General Manager at The Amsterdam Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

In the courtroom we have a scripted joke about where visitors are from and this joke is made every show, no matter where the customer is from, so it absolutely wasn’t meant in a personal matter! We are very sorry to hear that you felt this way. We'd like it to be a funny and edgy experience for visitors, so we apologize that you experienced this.
We can understand that some of our visitors can take it seriously, that is why we added the statement to not take it personally.

We are happy to hear that you think the tour was funny and scary. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews