We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as expected”

The Amsterdam Dungeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.02*
and up
The Amsterdam Dungeon
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Whilst the Amsterdam Dungeon was an enjoyable venue, it was not as interesting as I had hoped, and the "scare" factor was non existent. Certainly something I won't be doing again, and will be advising friends and family to avoid so they don't waste their $$.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChipmunkCheek82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    577
    284
    108
    94
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Nerves going in, and smiles coming out! Each room you enter has a different theme and actor and all are very spookily decorated. Actors seem to pick on the same people throughout so I was happy it wasn't me for a change! Lots of scares and lots of laughs!

Helpful?
1 Thank gabertag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amusing way to learn some history!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As someone who loves history, and is familiar with the Horrible Histories books, I couldn't wait to see this place! The three girls with me, not into it, thinking it would be a cheesy horror house, not so! By the end they loved it.

The actors are convincing, the sets are really cool (except the roller coaster which is weak), and you actually learn stuff!!

It is an informative, interactive and funny way to learn history. Highly recommend it to everyone!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanucksAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lots of jumps with a little bit of history mixed in”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Typical of what you'd experience in a Halloween style American "haunted house". You're taken from "scene" to "scene" which typically includes a cheap scare up front, followed by a character actor, dramatically explaining what each respective room is for. Members of the audience are drawn in from time to time. It all ends up in maze of mirrors and finally a small roller coaster at the very end before being deposited at the "Photo counter". I and my date, enjoyed it immensely.

At the beginning they ask if there are any English speakers present, and if so they do the show in both Dutch and English.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hookemfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Amsterdam Dungeon is great, glad I decided to go in the end.. It's worth the price. It's actually like being in a dungeon, each room there's actors waiting to jump out and scare you and they all tell a story. They use lots of good props and it's some what realistic, they pick people out of the group and make them do things which is funny. The roller coaster isn't the best, it was scary at first then it ended as it only goes for about 40 seconds. They take a photo on it but it wasn't that good, they also take one at the start which I bought. They have a good gift store at the end which is good for souvenirs/gifts. I would say it's good for kids ages 10 and up (maybe 10 is too young if they're scared easily) but anyway suitable for adults too. A fun and worhtwhile experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lululx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Amsterdam Dungeon also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Amsterdam Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing