We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stay somewhere else!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Westertoren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Westertoren
Ranked #215 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Its been a few years since I have stayed at this property. And if ownership has changed maybe its better.

But of the many Amsterdam hotels I have stayed in from 1 star to 5 this is the one I would tell people to stay away from.

Those stairs are truly bad. The breakfast was bad. The coffee awful. The bathroom leaked and had a stench. The shower was like taking a bath. The noise from the street was loud late and loud early. Bring ear plugs. The bells from the church also played into this. The bed was uncomfortable.

The whole room seemed sort of dirty.

The service was not unfriendly more just not all that friendly.

There are much better 1 and 2 star hotels to be had. Some even cheaper.

I would read the reviews for this class of hotel and pick somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJohnMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    72
    41
    9
    16
See reviews for
21
43
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Me and my friend travelled from Scotland for a few days, and this hotel was completly up to scratch. The stairs, as others have mentioned, are lethal! I had read about the stairs but nothing can prepare you for them! Staff were friendly, breakfast was good, lovely view - even from the back window - lots of light. We were in room number 8 I think. But yeah, I'll stay again when I'm back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanbanan738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We made a booking with Hotel de Westertoren in January for our trip in May. When we got there, they found our file but told us they made a mistake and overbooked the hotel. They sent us to another hotel that they claimed was 300 m away and was their brother hotel.

We had to lug all our luggages back down their severely steep staircases without any assistance. Then we went dragged our suitcases to the location they suggested but could not find the hotel. We had to go back twice to ask the name and the exact location because they got it wrong both times. The hotel was actually 1 mile away.

When we got to the new hotel, we found out that the hotel had no association with Westertoren and had never heard of them. Furthermore, we ended up having to pay more than what we had to pay with Westertoren.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

scotslass
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

booked this hotel after reading good reviews, was extremely dubious as it s one star hotel.
first impresion was my goodness they were not exaggerating about steepness of steps, even by amsterdam standards. However you do get used to them but please do not book if you have mobility problems.
the room was very clean but was small our room had double bed and single bed but wouldnt have liked to share with three.
for us we booked for location , just at the back of dam square and round corner for ann frank house.
we aslo picked this over another three star hotel because there were tea/coffee facilities in room. cleaned every day and tea/coffee replenished. staff were exteremely pleasant.
all in all i would recommend this hotel if like us we are never in room (only when we arrive home early hours and crash out!!)
we travel once twice every year to amsterdam but with the exchange rate found it very very expensive this time so take plenty cash.

  • Liked — location and balcony
  • Disliked — rooms small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotslassml9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

My friend and I booked Hotel de Westertoren according to the review and our budget. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staffs who helped us carry our suitcases up the steep stairs. As it was the Easter week, all double rooms were booked up. We, two single women, were given a single room with an extra bed.
The room was beyond tiny; even smaller than budget London hotels. With the added bed and a shower in the room, it left room for one chair and two stand suitcases.
We booked the hotel for 4 nights but ended up staying for only one night cuz it was way too small to stay comfortable.
I would still recommend this hotel for young budget travelers. The location is perfect!! A short 3 minutes walk to Anne Frank’s house and the trendy Jordaan neighborhood. 10-15 mins walk to Central station, Dam Square and Red light district. 15-20 mins walk to the museum area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room and shared toilet are super clean and nicely maintained. The bed is very comfortable. I didn’t expect much for the breakfast given the fact that it was considered a budget hotel. But I was impressed by the in-room breakfast which includes toasts/jam/butter/boxed juicy/coffee/boiled egg/yogurt.
I would not recommend physically challenged traveler to stay at this hotel though. As in previous reviews, the stairs are brutal!!!!!

  • Liked — Location, Cleaness
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eni77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stayed here for two nights, and found it to be a pretty decent hotel for Amsterdam on budget. You have to walk up two straight floors of very steep steps, which is typical for Amsterdam, can be a pain with luggage. Room was small, but bed was nice and we had very large windows which was nice. Breakfast wich was brought to our room at 9am was very nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank UnkleTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

My brother and I stayed at Hotel de Westertoren the end of May '07. Amsterdam is know for its canal houses and steep stairways, but this was crazy! Once inside you will find a very steep stairway leading to the check-in office. It literally was like climbing a ladder. If you are elderly or have any trouble climbing with suitcases please keep this in mind. Once checked in you will find another flight of stairs leading to a couple rooms. It didn't end there for us, up one more flight of stairs we finally arrived at our room (Number 8). I think there were just under 80 steps. The hotel reception was very friendly and offered us a chocolate, which we later ate after we caught our breath. I would definitely ask for a room in the back. The hotel has no A/C so you need to sleep with your window open. While the rooms in the front have a balcony, it is a very busy street and quite loud. Number 8 is in the back. The room has a mini-fridge tucked away in the closet. There is a small (10"x6"x3") safe in the wall which is available to rent for a daily fee. The room is very small, but adequate if you just need somewhere to shower and sleep. The bathroom is separated from the room by an accordian folding door. There is nowhere to put your clothes while showering and the entire floor gets wet when you shower. The sink is located in the corner of the shower, so if you plan on shaving bring a mirror to hang above the sink. There was plenty of hot water. There is no phone in the room to contact the front desk. This means taking a trip down 2 flights of stairs to get another towel or whatever you need. This also means no wake-up call, so unless you are an early riser, bring an alarm clock. Breakfast is delivered to the room each morning with a knock on the door around 08:30, which acts as a good wake-up call. Breakfast consists of a juice box, 2 slices of bread, a hard-boiled egg, butter, jelly and a small yogurt or pudding. There is a "coffee maker" to heat up the water to add to some instant capacinno or tea, your choice. The hotel is in a great location though. Just a 2 minute walk to Dam Square, and about a 10 minute walk to the Anne Frank house. There is a tram stop just down the road to the left when you come out of the hotel. Be sure to get a 72 hour ticket at Central Station. It is good for all public transportation in the city and we only paid 19 Euro for one. I would stay here again if I couldn't find anything else in this location. Yes, it was small, but still adequate if you are looking for a "no frills" type hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast, stairs, no phone, bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#321 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,700 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#19 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#206 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#299 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Westertoren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Westertoren

Property: Hotel de Westertoren
Address: Raadhuisstraat 35b, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Westertoren 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Westertoren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Westertoren Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing