We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
692
308
41
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
308
41
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram depot the breakfast club great food hall no window street market quirky hotel no natural light rainfall shower great design sister hotel separate shower gave us a map city centre min walk common areas deluxe room amazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at hotel de Hallen. A beautiful hotel with great decor and friendly staff. However, my bed and room (105) were riddled with bed bugs. At first I thought they were small insects, and disposed of them, but on the 3 night, I called reception.
Long story, but I ended up bitten all over my body (see photos of the bugs, faeces on the bed head wall, and bites on my body)

3 weeks later and management has been very slow to deal with compensation, and so far have only offered to reimburse my stay and medical expenses. No mention of pain and suffering, loss of enjoyment of my holiday, the time going to doctors, washing and examining every piece of clothing, fumigating my next place of stay, etc.

I am currently waiting on legal advice to deal with the issue.

I am hopeful management has brought in professionals to deal with extermination...

Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
3  Thank Francine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front office at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Francine,

Thank yo for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to read that you liked the decor and the staff. We are sincerely apologizing for the bugs. The relevant deparments are informed about this issue. We are sorry we did not manage to meet your expectations. The rooms are already inspected and cleaned and the problem is solved. However, we do understand that we cannot compensate you for the inconcenience and the suffering.

Yours sincerely,

Radostina

Team Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

First of all, the location is excellent! Next door there is a big food court (De hallen) with many hipster nice restaurants and cocktail bars. There are many supermarkets and a street market few meters away. It is walkable to most of the touristic places, but if you're lazy, there is tram station a few steps away. That was my second time in Amsterdam it was a better experience for me staying in this neighborhood than in the middle of the old city center. The hotel room is small but extremely comfortable and convenient. The hotel is beautiful. It is a design hotel with a lot of caracther. Impossible not to like it. The staff was incredibly nice all the time. The only concern is that some rooms don't have a view to the street. I was kindly upgraded to room with exterior view, but honestly I think that even with the view to the interior court of the hotel, this is an excellent choice in Amsterdam!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Marcelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Dora at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Marcelo M,

thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your kind words and the high scores.

So good to read, you were happy with our location, comfort in rooms, liked our style and friendly staff.
About the room locations, have we mention to you during your stay, that we are located in a monumental building. The hotel rooms are actually in cubicles, the hotel itself is a building inside a building, how awesome way to protect our history, right?

We hope, we will be able to welcome you back to our Hotel De Hallen in the near future.

Warm regards,
Dora
Reception
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

To a person the front desk people were wonderful. The staff was so responsive and helpful. People who made up the rooms were also great. We needed more coffee pods and we wanted robes and these were provided right away. So nice. It couldn't have been better. The beds were the so comfortable and the assortment of pillows made it easy to choose something you liked. Loved the water at the front desk, too. So tasty! Blow dryer was a little bit of a disappointment (not very powerful) but we made do - next time I'll bring my own. All in all we were SO glad we picked Hotel De Hallen. We rented bikes from the hotel and the location was terrific for getting around to the places we wanted to go (if you are comfortable with biking). You could walk, too, if you weren't in the mood for biking. And, it was just a very short walk around the corner to Food De Hallen, a street market, and to the #17 tram station. We loved being away from the central tourist district.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it was. We were on the ground floor away from the restaurant and bar.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KobeUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front office at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear KobeUtah,

Thank you a lot for reviewing our hotel! We are so glad to read that you are satisfied with the staff, the quick service, the beds, the pillows and especially the water at the front desk! We are apologizing for the not so powerful blowdryer. We are also very happy to read that you enjoyed the location and explored all the places you wanted to by bikes!

We hope you have had an amazing stay in Amsterdam and especially in Hotel De Hallen! We definitely hope to welcome you in future again to our hotel!

Yours sincerely,

Radostina

Team Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend break to Amsterdam and stayed at this lovely hotel - the hotel reception has unusual art pieces all around - so much to look at! The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful. Our double room was on the 2nd floor and had floor to ceiling window which overlooked the hotel art features and reception etc. The room was extremely clean and very well equipped. Bed and pillows were particularly comfortable. We booked breakfast for both mornings and all the food was freshly cooked - eggs bacon mushrooms beans if you want it and lots of choice of breads,fruit and cereals.

I can not recommend this hotel enough - would definitely return - it is very good value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
Thank valmoorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front office at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you a lot for taking the time to write his review and share your experience with Hotel De Hallen! We are flattered by your kind words! We are extremely glad to hear you are satisfied with the art pieces, the staff, the tidy room, the bed and pillows and the breakfast!

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and especially in Hotel De Hallen! We hope to welcome you again in future!

Kind regards,

Radostina
Team Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

For our first two nights in Amsterdam, we stayed in a deluxe room at Hotel De Hallen and found the location, service, and decor to be great.

Located in a neighborhood approx. 2 km from the center of Amsterdam, Hotel De Hallen provides a less touristy and more authentic area of Amsterdam to stay in, while also being within walking distance of everywhere you might want to go. As part of the renovated De Hallen tram depot, the hotel is also adjacent to a trendy and happening food hall, as well as cinema, design stores, and plenty of cafes and restaurants.

From the airport to the hotel, it took approx. 30 minutes to get to the hotel and involved a short train ride to Lelylaan station, followed by a ten minute ride on tram 17. For those arriving or leaving from Centraal Station, a direct fifteen minute tram ride will take you between there and the hotel.

Check-in was friendly and efficient, with plenty of helpful advice offered on where to explore and when shops and restaurants might close (useful as we arrived quite late in the evening).

Our room was on the second floor and provided a comfortable place to stay. A large bed, small work desk, comfortable chair, and all of the standard amenities you might expect were present. The bathroom while connected to the room, provided ample space and light, and a nice touch for those jet lagged or who simply like to make their own coffee, was the Nespresso coffee maker in the room.

While we didn't eat at the hotel, we did visit the bar and found service to be friendly and drinks reasonably priced.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to offer a comfortable place to stay in a great neighborhood. We would definitely consider returning on a return visit to the city!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a standard or deluxe room to avoid windows facing the interior.
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Aram K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel De Hallen. Your words about our location, service and facilities are very positive and nice to read. We will share your comments internally, as it provides great motivation for our staff.

Should travels bring you back to Amsterdam, we would gladly welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Cas
Team Hotel De Hallen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews