We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel, Great stay!”
Review of Hotel De Hallen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel De Hallen
Ranked #30 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend were lucky to get a great offer for this outstanding design hotel through the App "Hotel Tonight". The room was great, we loved the design and would totally recommend this place to our friends! A perfect stay in Amsterdam!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Jürgen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Jürgen M,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your time with us!

Hope to welcome you back on your next trip to this city.

Kind regards,


Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Hallen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 868 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and From the moment we arrived we were made to feel VIP. Beautiful first impression of hotel layout, facilities and staff.
Riding bikes from here is an absolute must, best and easiest way to see all of Amsterdam only takes 15 mins on bike to get everywhere. staff are so helpful with directions/ where to eat and will book any tourist tickets for you.
The hotel Was a little harder for us to find then it should of been, it has 2 large blue flags on the roof to look for and the restaurant name is remise47 which signs are more visible for.

Cannot wait to stay here again. This place and the amazing resturant food have been the absolute highlight of our travels.
Thank you Anneloes and the team!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Teal88,

It was such a please having you and Amanda as our guests in Hotel De Hallen.
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. As you travelled through the city, you have experienced Amsterdam as if you were locals.

May you return to Amsterdam, let me assure you our entire team is looking forward welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This newly completed hotel in a former tram depot is very comfortable and its staff obviously very proud of it. We had an upper room which was well ventilated with air conditioning - a godsend in the heatwave. Compact but well designed and and excellent Coco-Mat bed. Sadly not currently available in the UK... The location is a little off the beaten track - 40mins- an hour to the most central area but very handy for the western canal belt and Jordaan. Also, I imagine the museums of Museumplein. There is lots going on in the area about - unassuming bars that attract a young and lively late crowd within 10 mins walk. Interior design is very pleasant. Stay here while they still offer good deals!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Nick T,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing your kind review.
We are very proud you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much!
On behalf of the entire team of Hotel De Hallen we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at Hotel De Hallen over the weekend & were excited to arrive after reading the great reviews. First impressions were great, the building is lovely and really unique. The restaurant and bar area opens right up into the courtyard which looked beautiful in the sunshine!
Staff were faultless, so friendly and helpful. We asked to switch rooms after seeing we had twin beds instead of a double and this was immediate adhered to without it being made to feel like a hassle. They they called the room later to check everything was ok with the new room.
I would suggest getting a first floor room because the ground floor ones, as lovely as they are, have no window because of the way the old building has been restored so no natural light which I personally find strange, especially on a morning! But we did select a room with no view so no fault of the hotel, I'm just dozy an assumed that meant no good view not no view at all!
I would also recommend hiring bikes because it makes getting around so easy and the bikes they provide are really cute and safe.
Would 100% stay here again and recommend it to friends, keep up the great work Hotel De Hallen and thank you :)

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Y1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Y1988,

It's really great to read your kind review about our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time writing your comments online. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam, and that we could be a part of this.
Indeed the hotel offers rooms with windows looking outside as well. Upon availability all of our guests are offered to change the room types they originally booked.

If you return to Amsterdam and choose our hotel again for your stay, I am more than happy to advise you in making your reservation personally.

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Lovely hotel, amazing room, friendly staff, amazing showers, Nespresso machine in the room and delicious cocktails! The decor is really cool and the hotel was clean throughout. Also had great advice on how to get around etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AmyNeilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Amy N,

On behalf of my team I want to thank you very much for your nice review.
I will share your review with my colleagues. I am proud of my team members which were part of your satisfactory stay.

May travels bring you back to Amsterdam, we are more than delighted to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Anneloes van der Werf
Front Office Manager
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Accualy the whole thing started with a problem with our booking. We were supposed to be at De Hallen but by misstake there was a double booking. We were a little worried coz we got to De Hallen almost at midnight but the service was OUTSTANDING! They arranged a cab to Hotel Vondel were we got an apartment room on the 4th floor and it was AMAZING! Airconditioned livingroom and bedroom. Full equiped kitchen, larged livingroom, nice bathroom. The hotel was at walkingdistance from everything. You have the park 2min walk away. SHopping was not more then 5min walk. It was close to the museums. And at the end of our stay they arrainge with a cab back to De Hallen so we could get our car that was parked there. So i must say again FIRST class service, FIRST CLASS hotell. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Zestis,

thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in our sisterhotel Hotel Vondel. Hope to see you next time!

Kind Regards,

Mark Timo Jansen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for two nights in late April/early May. At the time, the hotel had just opened ad there was still refurbishing work going on within and outside the property. This didn't bother me at all, and it was actually pleasant to see all the pretty furniture being moved into the hotel.

The ambience is where the hotel shines. I believe the property used to be an industrial space, perhaps a cotton warehouse, and it still retains that "old red brick" charm, whilst adding beautiful design furniture, lamps and loads of wooden surfaces.
The staff's uniforms and the pretty interiors in the rooms are the cherry on the cake.

The hotel was extremely quiet, which was great because we were staying in Amsterdam for less than three days, therefore we needed to see as much as possible and required a good night's sleep. Breakfast, served in a small open space near the lobby, was very tasty and complete.
The only flaw was in the layout of the room. The bathroom is part of the same unit, barely separated by a glass door. I appreciate the brave choice in designing the room, but I believe that a door would be more indicated to separate the two spaces, or at least a soundproof glass. I reserved a standard room, not sure if this applies to higher room categories too.

This said, everything else was excellent and I believe the lovely staff deserves some credit too, they were incredibly helpful and welcoming, given the challenging conditions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Alessandro,

Thank you for all your lovely comments. It is great to read that you enjoyed Hotel De Hallen. The hotel is build in a former Tram Depot. We have tried to combine the industrial look with art and design furniture. We are happy you have appriciate it together with the breakfast and all our staff!

Hope to see you again in Hotel De Hallen!

Mark Timo Jansen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,073 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
433 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#36 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Hallen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Hallen

Address: Bellamyplein 47, 1053 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $118 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Hallen 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Hallen is situated in one of Amsterdam's finest industrial heritage sites. The blue steel and rusty highlights of the grand building become an inspiration to each and every one of our guests. Imagine spacious surroundings with an abundance of plants, brought to perfection with modern furniture and design and decorated with a selection of contemporary art, handpicked by the owner. The modern facilities and quality of service are outstanding. Dishes from the cuisine are served not only in the bar, restaurant, lobby and pavement cafe, but also in our meeting room in boardroom setup. The fashion and museum districts, Amsterdam's breathtaking canals and the Jordaan district are all within walking distance. We look forward to seeing you soon in Hotel De Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HRS, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Hallen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing