We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu surprise if you like to take the risk”

Restaurant Johannes
Reserve with
Restaurant Johannes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #142 of 4,474 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Reviewed August 30, 2017

This restaurant in Amsterdam is located in one of the famous canals from the city and it is close to the Photography Museum (FOAM), for those who want to do a double program.

It has a system where you can choose to have 4, 5, 6 or 7 little dishes which you don't know in advance what will be served. You have the option of a la carte, but my husband and I took the risk for 4 dishes (which by the way had yet an extra little appetiser up front).

The appetisers were really delicious and the main dish as well, served with vegetables and beef (natural and smoked).

They change the surprise menu every month. So, next month we probably will try again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear JuPereira,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit at restaurant Johannes.
Did you know we are serving the 29th of September a lunch with the ingredients we are serving in the menu of October.

Kind regards,

Sander Krijns
Restaurant Johannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

Subliem gegeten. Mooie gerechten en perfect wijnarrangement. excellent food and winepairings. nice location. Keep it up!

Thank niertje23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017
Google Translation

Beste Niertje23,

Dank voor de motiverende woorden.
We hopen u dan ook nog een keer te mogen verwelkomen.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Sander Krijns
Restaurant Johannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We took the surprise menu with 5 courses and wine, it was delicious and subtile, creative associations and a wonderful service!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Karine J,

Very nice to know that you enjoyed having dinner with us and definitely our wine and food pairing. We are changing the menu every month so hope to welcome you back another time.

Kind regards,

Sander Krijns
Restaurant Johannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

We where seven persons sitting it this little and cosy restaurant. The waiters are very nice and extremely service minded. They have tree local beers that one have to try out. We decided a five course meal which, according to my opinion, is well enough for a normal person. What is going to be served is not told in advance so it really is an pleasant adventure eating there. If in Amsterdam, go there and buy try it!

Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear R S.

Thank you for giving feedback on your last visit.
Good to know you liked the concept of the restaurant and the chosen beers.

Kind regards,

Sander Krijns
Restaurant Johannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

The price might be 50-55 euro for 4 courses. It is definitely worth it. Every food they served was perfect and the staff lady was so nice and kind.

Thank Hyeryong J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Hyeryong J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We appreciate your positive feedback.
Hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Sander Krijns
Restaurant Johannes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Johannes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Johannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing