We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the no.1 slot”

Restaurant Johannes
Reserve with
Restaurant Johannes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 3,909 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Deserves the no.1 slot”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fabulous restuarant which has the simple concept of choosing 4,5,6 or 7 courses. They check if there is anything you don't like and then bring out course after course to surprise you. As well as the four courses we chose, there were plenty of amuse bouches and extra surprises. We went for the wine matching, which I would definitely recommend which included two whites, a red, a very generous measure of port, and two dessert wines!
We were two female friends, and there, but it is also a great restuarant for a special occasion too.
We had a g&t to start, two oysters each, the 4 course menu, and the matching wine menu and it came in at E110 each which I thought was thoroughly good value.
Can't recommend it enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ClairePalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    175
    39
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went here on Sunday and had a fantastic time. We just went for the four course option although did opt for the optional cheese. Each course was perfectly cooked and delicious. We went for the paired wines and I was so glad we did, as they were fantastic as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrwhittali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good food but not 5 *.”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food is new, innovativ and delicious. I felt like the wines were a hit for some of the courses but not really spot on for some others. You will not be dissapointed if you go here but its not 5 * all the way yet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carpediemgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“World Class”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Agree - the reviews got this one right. If you are into that high end of visual and textures and flavors of where food can go, this place is a treat. As with most such places, after you select how many courses, off you go with several amuse - each cleverly presented. The mains are also lovely - some were amazing, others very good. A few points I'd improve upon - the wine list is small and old world oriented with modest selections - few gems. Second - some courses have very long times in between them - which can be fine but somewhere after about 2.5 hours it can feel a bit long to be sitting even if you are enjoying. However - nearly all the wait staff were charming as is the setting and this one deserves a visit if you want to indulge in the very high end of Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CalCohenMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I went here with a group of 8 colleagues to celebrate the ending of a big project. We read about this place and had high expectations, but we were still blown away by the food and the amazing wines. I suggest reading the other reviews.. I liked the fact that we had a table in the back, a bit separated from the rest of the restaurant, which gave us some privacy and, more importantly, the other guests some peace. Groups can be loud.. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Johannes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Johannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing