We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Johannes

Restaurant Johannes
Ranked #10 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We went here on Sunday and had a fantastic time. We just went for the four course option although did opt for the optional cheese. Each course was perfectly cooked and delicious. We went for the paired wines and I was so glad we did, as they were fantastic as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tyrwhittali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    149
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good food but not 5 *.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food is new, innovativ and delicious. I felt like the wines were a hit for some of the courses but not really spot on for some others. You will not be dissapointed if you go here but its not 5 * all the way yet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carpediemgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Agree - the reviews got this one right. If you are into that high end of visual and textures and flavors of where food can go, this place is a treat. As with most such places, after you select how many courses, off you go with several amuse - each cleverly presented. The mains are also lovely - some were amazing, others very good. A few points I'd improve upon - the wine list is small and old world oriented with modest selections - few gems. Second - some courses have very long times in between them - which can be fine but somewhere after about 2.5 hours it can feel a bit long to be sitting even if you are enjoying. However - nearly all the wait staff were charming as is the setting and this one deserves a visit if you want to indulge in the very high end of Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CalCohenMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I went here with a group of 8 colleagues to celebrate the ending of a big project. We read about this place and had high expectations, but we were still blown away by the food and the amazing wines. I suggest reading the other reviews.. I liked the fact that we had a table in the back, a bit separated from the rest of the restaurant, which gave us some privacy and, more importantly, the other guests some peace. Groups can be loud.. Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Tasty Surprises, wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Well, Restaurant Johannes certainly lived up to their position at number one on the Tripadvisor listings. Choose your number of courses, tell them anything you don't want to eat and be prepared to be pleasantly surprised.
Lovely to see Chefs doing innovative, surprising things with really fresh ingredients - treating the food itself as King. We chose to have the matching wines and it really did add to the experience. Yet we were not compelled to have all the matches - we could just choose the first one and "see how we go" said the charming waitress. Service was great - not too much but enough commentary to both the food and wine to make it a deeper experience.
Loved it - however I think it is going to get harder to get a table now with the trip advisor recommendations.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Johannes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Johannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing