We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to start our holiday!”
Review of Palace B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace B&B
Ranked #29 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Palace B&B for three nights at the end of July 2012. It was our first place to stay on our 8 week trip through Europe, and we could not have been happier! We arrived there quite early after a very long flight from Australia, and were greeted so warmly by Rudy, and only after a few minutes wait (in which we were kindly given a drink) we were shown to our room. We had booked the large room at the front and it was wonderful! And much bigger than I had expected! Rudy was a wonderful host and we very much appreciated his explanation of the city, the maps he had prepared and also all of the breakfast provisions that were left for us. We never went hungry at all!

The bed was very comfortable, in fact on our first day we were quite tired after the flight and went to have a quick nap around 1pm, and woke up at 11.30pm! We didn't hear a thing and were so comfortable.

The lounge room is large and very comfortable and looks over the street. We didn't find it at all noisy, but we also don't mind hearing the odd car or people talking etc.

The bathroom is small, but fine.

The location is fantastic, so close to everything. My husband and I walked everywhere...and I mean everywhere!

We really enjoyed our time in Amsterdam and I am so glad that we stayed at the Palace B&B. It really was the best start to our wonderful holiday. I would highly recommend staying here, Rudy was amazing (even posted my postcards for us!) and we loved the visits we had from Barney the cat.

Thank you Rudy! (And thank you to your wife too, who's name escapes me!)

Room Tip: Choose the front room if it's available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allisonhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Palace B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in B&B last week in the suite (larger room). Plenty of space in the room and the breakfast is good; plenty of food in your fridge. Rudy was very polite and assisted immensely.
Would certainly try and stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's cozy place to me. I stayed 7 nights for conference in Sep. 2012. Nice location to reach Dam square, took about 5 mins by walk. The host Ruby is very friendly, introduced us about the city of Amsterdam. He prepared several different breads for breakfast. He was impressed me a lot to prepare the instant noodles & Starbucks coffee. The room is clear, comfortable bed. One or 2 nights in Sat or Sun, I heard noise from the street, but it's weekend. And I will stay here again for next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is awesome IF you have the larger front room. However, if you get the back "garden" room you will still be well taken care of by Rudy, the host with the most. He was so nice, but not overtly...checking in with my husband and I as we came and went on our 4 days in Amsterdam. The room is darker, but well decorated. The bathroom is a bit awkward, with the toilet a step up from the floor. The kitchenette had everything we needed to make ourselves at home with frig, microwave, coffee pot. And the bed was comfy with a firm mattress, just the way we like it. All in all we would stay there again for the great central location but we would definitely ask for the front room.

Room Tip: Ask for larger front room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trace29407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Palace B&B in May 2012 which was great and close to Dam Square. As check-in was at 2 p.m., the owner, Ruby, accommodated our early arrival at 8:30 a.m. and allowed us to leave our luggage behind so that we could head out for the day. We were also able to freshen up. Before we set off, Ruby gave us an introduction to Amsterdam. He had a map ready for us to take, asked what we were planning to do, and explained where the sites were in relation to the inn along with other useful pieces of information. Everything we had planned to do was within a 20 minute walk at most. We were well served at this inn as fresh bread, deli meat, jams, and coffee. The breakfast stuff were brought to our room each evening for us to enjoy in the morning at our leisure. Wifi was available as well in the room. We were royally treated at this inn and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfranks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Palace B&B for 3 nights in July 2012. Our experience was very positive:
- Rudy, the owner, and his staff were very friendly and attentive without being obtrusive;
- Location is fantastic (very near all the major sites while being nicely tucked away);
- Breakfasts were very good and I loved having the food left in our room so we could eat at our convenience;
- Cost (E119 per night) was reasonable by Amsterdam standards, although the city is on the pricey side generally
- Room was peaceful and cosy, with an excellent bed.

My only slight downside, which is why I haven't given 5 stars, is that we had the room at the back which was perfectly adequate, and very quiet, but was on the smallish and basic side.

Nevertheless, an excellent B&B and Amsterdam is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dar268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Would recommend to anyone for its excellent service and location. We stayed in the suite room, was like having your own apartment as it was very spacious and comfortable.
For sure would repeat this stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherAl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#128 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,040 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,196 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#90 of 371 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Quartier Neuf
B&B Quartier Neuf
#48 of 337 in Amsterdam
106 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 337 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 337 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace B&B

Address: Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $152 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and breakfast is a minute's walk from the Royal Palace at Dam Square. The rooms on the upper floors have magnificent views of the palace and the skyline of this wonderful old city. You are in the heart of Amsterdam. This bed and breakfast has beautiful rooms and suites with high ceilings and very big windows. You can gaze at all the dynamism of the city from the vantage point of your suite and enjoy Amsterdam's changing scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing