We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont be put off by first impressions as it is next to a "Cafe"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace B&B
Ranked #34 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dont be put off by first impressions as it is next to a "Cafe"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights in early June and loved it.
The place is easy to find but you wouldn't know it from the street as it is just a door between one of Ansterdam's many smoking cafes and a mobile phone shop.
The owner wasnt there to meet us but there was a note left on the door stating that the key was with the gents in the phone shop. This was fine and we were shown to our room. Small but clean and a small area to make breakfast with kettle and fridge. The fridge was stocked with breakfast food (ham, bread cheese and juice etc) TV didnt have a good reception but we were not there to watch TV !!!
Perfect quiet location about 600 yards from Dam square.
If you are looking for a "please yourself" B&B then please consider this one as we found it excellent value for money. 220 euros for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
100
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had a very friendly welcome from Rudy. The room was immaculate and had a very personal touch. Breakfast was great! We also found something tasty everyday we got home, like some cake or some fruit. Very thoughtful and considerate indeed.

It´s very centrally located and still very calm at night. We highly recommend Palace B&B!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kersve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

We chose the Palace B & B initially for it's location, as relatives from Australia were staying close by. Good choice!
We had a 2-room suite (with shower room ensuite) on the 2nd floor. The bedroom had windows overlooking the small colourful garden area in the middle of the building, and that meant there was no street noise at night. We had a very comfortable king size bed, attractive furnishings and decor. The large, light and airy lounge overlooked the street and was well furnished with comfortable chairs, and an eating area with table, frig and microwave, kettle and coffee maker. We were kept well supplied with bottled water, fruit juice, milk and yoghurts and fresh fruit, meats, cheeses and breads each day. There were also supplies of different teas, coffee and cereal - and a little plate of biscuits/cookies appeared during the evening along with the fresh supplies for breakfast. We really wanted for nothing.
The whole place was immaculately maintained and kept spotlessly clean, with fresh towels each day.
Rudy was very helpful, both prior to and on arrival.
Yes, the view of the graffitti covered buildings opposite was a bit of a shock but not a problem and the stairs, as is common in these tall thin houses in Amsterdam, are VERY steep. We only had hand luggage and Rudy carried that up for us, anyway.
A very convenient location for trams, shopping, restaurants and strolling around the canal area.
We definitely recommend the Palace, feel we got very good value, and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Booked this hotel for 4 nights in June
We arrived late, Rudy was waiting for us and the check-in procedure was very nice.
The location was outstanding. Palace B&B is in the centre of the city
The area felt very safe, and there are plenty of shops and a supermark
Our room was next to the kitchen in the smallest room they had in the back of the hotel, nicely decorated, and very clean.
Breakfast is left in our room some time during the previous day and stored in a mini-fridge and bread box. It was different every day and plentiful. Some of the items were: Pint of Milk, Pint of Orange Juice, Breakfast Muffins, Supplies for Ham & Cheese Sandwiches, Coffee and Tea, Yogurt, and Fresh Fruit.
There is a toaster, microwave, coffee maker, and tea pot in the room as well.
We would highly recommend this stay to any of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

My husband and I booked a week-long stay at the Palace B&B for April 2010. Our plans got canceled, however, when the volcano in Iceland stopped air travel. The owner of the B&B, Rudy, was exceptionally accommodating, and allowed us to change our reservation to July--with no hesitation or complaint.

When we arrived in Amsterdam in July, our flight got in very early in the morning. Rudy allowed us to check in at 9:00 am, rather than the regular check-in time of 2:00. This was a life-saver. We were able to nap before heading out for the day, which helped alleviate our jet lag.

The location of the bed and breakfast was extremely convenient--very central. It is right by Dam square, as well as the Western and Southern Canal belts. If you plan to explore the city on foot, this is an ideal place to be situated. The block that the B&B is on is not the most picturesque, however. It is not on a canal. There is a parking garage directly across the street, that is covered with some very "artistic" graffiti. Below the B&B is a coffee shop, and depending on the location of your room, it may be loud at times. The area felt very safe, and there are plenty of shops and restaurants on the same stretch of street.

The rooms were spacious (a bedroom and living area), nicely decorated, and very clean. There was a true full bed, which we were not expecting, that was very comfortable. The bathroom was a typical European bathroom (small). If you are particular about your toiletries, bring your own (no conditioner, only shampoo/shower gel combo).

Breakfast is left in your room some time during the previous day and stored in a mini-fridge and bread box. For us, this was probably the nicest part of the B&B. Because of this, we felt no obligation to jump out of bed and make it to a set breakfast time. We were able to come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was the same every day, but plentiful: bread, muffins, granola, yogurt, fruit, ham, cheese, milk, and juice. There is a toaster, microwave, coffee maker, and tea pot in the room as well.

Staying at the Palace Bed and Breakfast was like owning an apartment in Amsterdam. We came and went as we pleased, were not bothered by other guests, and set our own schedule. If you want independence and flexibility, the Palace is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

GREAT B&B!~ We enjoyed our 4-day weekend over the 4th of July. The room was charming and very comfortable. The location was outstanding, within quick walking distance to some good pubs, restaurants, and nightlife. There is also a full supermarket within two blocks for most anything you'd need.

The building was built in the 1600's, so it has very steep staircases, no air conditioning, and extremely squeeky floors. If you can get by those distractors, you'll really enjoy your stay.

Each morning we enjoyed a breakfast at our leisure from the mini-fridge that was restocked each day. Some of the items were: Pint of Milk, Pint of Orange Juice, Breakfast Muffins, Supplies for Ham & Cheese Sandwiches, Coffee and Tea, Yogurt, and Fresh Fruit.

The room was modernly decorated, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom fixtures were exceptional. Our room had a dual shower: Hand-held sprayer and "Rain Shower Faucet.

We would highly recommend this stay to any of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReynoldsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

I'm writing this as an honest review of this hotel. I booked this hotel for 8 nights in May. On the website the pictures show the rooms as these large suites which is exactly what we wanted for our stay. We spend time in on room on vacation and always want more than "just a place to lay your head."
Upon arrival my husband and I were put on the 3rd floor in the smallest room they had in the back of the hotel. Our room was next to the kitchen where the staff went in and out a lot and therefore they were right outside my door a lot so there was next to no privacy because we could hear clearly through the wall.
The room had a view of the messy indoor garden and the other window looked out to a wall 3 inches from the window. I didn't complain at the time and I should've. There was really no room to stretch out. Our four pieces of luggage took up all of the floor space because they would not slide under the bed. Once we went out and shopped and brought bags back, there was even less space to walk around in. It got cluttered fast.

The wi-fi never worked once while we were there. The signal is to weak and wouldn't reach us.

The bathroom was tiny and smelled like sewer at times but we found out this is because some areas of town use reclaimed/filted saltwater. It smelt like the bathroom of a cruise ship.

There are good things about the stay though, Rudy was very helpful in calling for us a cab when we needed one and I left my drivers license in the room when we checked out and he promptly sent it to my home address. I was grateful for that. The room was cleaned every day, top to bottom and stayed clean.
It was probably the smallest hotel I've ever stayed in and a far cry from what we thought we were getting. On our last day there we saw a group checking into the large room on the 2nd floor and after seeing how big that room was I felt so bad. I had told my husband we were staying in this great bed and breakfast with huge rooms, then we were both let down once we saw what we got.

I won't stay here again. I think I'm giving up trying to find "hotels with character" and will stay in the chain hotels from here on out. I gave it a chance.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeshaLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace B&B

Property: Palace B&B
Address: Spuistraat 224, 1012 VT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This bed and breakfast is a minute's walk from the Royal Palace at Dam Square. The rooms on the upper floors have magnificent views of the palace and the skyline of this wonderful old city. You are in the heart of Amsterdam. This bed and breakfast has beautiful rooms and suites with high ceilings and very big windows. You can gaze at all the dynamism of the city from the vantage point of your suite and enjoy Amsterdam's changing scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing