We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a couple of issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Jordaan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Jordaan
Ranked #71 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location with a couple of issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Basically a great location and decent, quiet rooms but it is not a traditional B&B with common dining or living areas. We had issues with the showers since it is not in a separate stall, but open to the rest of the bathroom and the internet service was not great the first couple of days. Christine was very helpful with sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. Having images of the bathroom on the B&B website would have helped us make a better choice..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayashree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbjord, Owner at B&B Jordaan, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am sorry to read that this group of ladies are, beside positive an several issues, also a bit disappointed about their stay with us.

Our website says ‘We offer a Dutch Breakfast with local breads, cheeses, sausages (cold-cuts), jams, orange-juice etc. which will be served in the privacy of your room. This is possible because all rooms are spacious and have a private dining area. So no we do not have additional common areas for dining.

I am sorry to hear that they found the shower ‘an issue’. We chose to build ‘open’ showers 2008/ 09 because we find them pritty, we can keep them very clean and there are no high steps to get under the shower. (They are quite common in Holland.)

The ladies did tell me, after a day or so, that they could not connect to our WiFi in their room, therefore I tested it with my own tablet, which worked fine, so I helped them to adjust the settings of their tablet to go online and then it worked.

My name is Charlotte :),
I am host and owner of B&B Jordaan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    42
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
83
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just got back from a 7 night stay at the Bed & Breakfast Jordaan - Charlotte was a wonderful hostess, as was Dick, who replaced her during our first 4 day stint. Both of them were extremely helpful - the rooms which we had on both ends of our trip were bright and cheery! Breakfasts were creative and plentiful. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Amsterdam - area is charming, set back from the busier streets, but easy walking access to everywhere - felt extremely safe walking the streets at night. Thanks again, Charlotte and Dick, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoli304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just home from great 4-night stay at the B&BJordaan. Highly recommend it. Our garden view room was larger than most and looked out over blooming forsythia and a charming preschool playground. We appreciated having a table for breakfast and maps, books and computers. Charlotte delivered a bountiful breakfast each morning and also offered sightseeing tips and restaurant recommendations. She graciously provided a breakfast to go the morning we had to leave early for the airport. We generally seek out B&B's when traveling and would rank this one of our best-ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suepat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just back from a fabulous five day stay in Amsterdam with Charlotte in B&B Jordaan. Great room, (we had the garden room), lovely comfy beds, spotlessly clean, and varied copious breakfast served right to your table. The ensuite shower (quite a rare thing in Amsterdam B&Bs) had loads of water and heated up really quickly. The Jordaan is an ideal place to stay in Amsterdam, quiet and peaceful but plenty of life just a short stroll away if you want it. There is nothing Charlotte does not know about Amsterdam and the Netherlands and she was very helpful with times, routes and ideas. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: the garden room has it's own private secluded garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the B&B Jordaan and we were very pleased with what we got for our money. The rooms are spacious and bright. The beds ample size and comfortable (note they are twin rooms). We also had bunkbeds in our room which measn it can be a family room. There is also a dining table, coffee / tea facilities and a stereo. The shower room is a wet room and our shower wasn't spectaculatly good but it did the job. Wet rooms do pose the problem of the floor being wet if you want to go back in after a shower, but you do get a long handled squeegy to get rid of the excess water.
As this is essesntially someones house (Charlottes) you have to accept that there will be some noise coming from their living quarters on the top floor but this didn't bother us too much.
The breaksfast was lovely and fresh. Bread, cheese, meat orange juice, yoghurt and ginger cake!
Charlotte was a very nice hostess. Very approachable and informative. She will assist you in answering any questions you have.
I would highly recommend this B&B if you are looking for a quiet, out of the busy centre stay. It took us approx 10 mins to walk to the centre (Dam Square) each day but you can get the tram if you wish. We didn't as it was a lovely walk over the canal bridges and through the picturesque Jordaan district.
Use the Melody taxi to and from aiport as fixed price of 30 Euro. Charlottes instructions on this matter were brilliant.
Overall we would recommend this place to anyone visiting Amsterdam in the near future and we will stay here if we ever return to Amsterdam (which I'm sure we will!!!). Charlotte's communication from the very start was brilliant and she provides lots of instructions on transfers and makes life very easy.

Things to know about amsterdam:

1. You can get a day pass for the Tram from the Tourist booths which line the streets and canals. It will cost 7.50 Euro for 1 day.

2. Beware if you buy the Museum Kaart (card / pass to all museums). It costs 49 Euro and should allow you entry to any of Amsterdam's museums. It is valid for 1 year. Presently the Rijksmuseum is being rennovated so the main exhibitions have been moved out. The Rembrandt exhibition is now in Dam Square and as such you will have to pay for entry (even if you have the museum kaart). It is a reduced rate but not much. It is valid at Anne Franks museum (definitely worth visiting) and the Hermatige Museum (which currently houses the Van Gough exhibition (also very good as there are some famous Rembrandts in here too). The historic Amsterdam museum is also covered and is very good.

3. Study the Tram map before you go, it's a little confusing until you get to grips with it!

4. Red light district day and night. By day it has a chilled relaxed ambiance and by night it is lively and entertaining. Full of men (unsuprisingly!!) but still worth a wonder through to soak up the atmosphere of a truly unique part of the city.

5. Stairs!! It is worth noting that due to the fact the buildings are very tall and thin, the stairs are extremely steep. Especially in the Anne Frank museum (which is their house). There's nothing you can do about it but if you have mobility difficulties then it is good to know.

Overall we enjoyed out stay in Amsterdam and will certainly return. Thank you to Charlotte for making us so welcome and providing a fantastic base to our trip.

P.S thanks again for spotting that I'd left our luggage keys on the room key keyring!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevwebbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were a party of 6 and had the pleasure of spending 3 evenings at the B&B Jordaan.
The rooms were just as they were in the picture and very clean. The showers were awesome with plenty of hot water.
Meeting Charlotte was a treat. She has all the information at hand for her guests. You can read her books or pamphlets or ask her anything you need to know. Her English is perfect.
Our breakfast each morning was delievered to our room at exactly the time we requested.
The food was fresh and enough to satisfy our hunger.

The area is one of the better ones in Amsterdam. We were close to almost everything.
The street is nice and quite and set back in from the main road for a good night rest.

We all agreed that if/when we return the B&B will be where we stay.
You certainly get the value for this great quality spot to spend your days/evenings.

Thank you Charlotte for making our stay in Amsterdam a nice memory we will always treasure.
Dave and Mary-Lou
London Canada

Room Tip: There are three rooms in the B&B all are quite. The bedroom on the third level has the street vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou_dave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Charlotte was very helpful in confirming my wheelchair requirements for their ground floor bathroom.In order to get into our room they used an old door as a ramp which worked out great.

Breakfast every day was excellent.Neighborhood was quiet and proximity to major attractions was within walking distance with a tram stop only 3 minutes away.

Thanks Charlotte.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#147 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#74 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Jordaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Jordaan

Property: B&B Jordaan
Address: Anjeliersstraat 197, 1015 NG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B Inside the historical Jordaan area, downtown Amsterdam. We offer 2-3-4p rooms with en suite bathrooms, private coffee/tea facilities & free WiFi in a traditional building with a gable tile of 1663. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Jordaan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Jordaan Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Jordaan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing