We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low End Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #355 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hostel is located in a great area, near parks restaurants and other services. Other than that, I do not recommend it to those who are light sleepers or like any form of great service. The trams running by tend to rattle the rooms and create a great deal of noise til late at night. On top of that the service staff during the day are typically too busy on social media to assist, are often short tempered, and raise their voices at guests. Alongside that, we were not able to even access the hostel before 2pm and when given access to the room were greeted by dirty sheets and cigarette butts.

Was not a very welcoming hostel and hope there is a management upgrade in the near future as it's potential is being hindered.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d00st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Princess Hostel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 365 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

here i stayed in december while approaching to live in Amsterdam. i didn't expet anything from this hotel, primary need was a bed to sleep, a shower and a quick path to my brand new job location. and everything was there. Also i found a very friendly receptionist Manu that helped me with anything i needed(basically i neded info on rooms avalaible in amsterdam so where to find them, jobs request, social life, pubs, and anithing i needed to make my stay in the city better). i think that as a tourist i will definitely come back there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1MaurizioP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were so suprised about the atmosphere in this hotel. Amazing receptionist, Italian guy "Manu" made our stay even more comfortable. He is definitely a shining star in this hotel. His presence makes you smile from the very first moment. I will definitely come back there!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A great stay in a great location! Had plenty of help from Manu on reception who made our stay fun and easy. He gave us advice on how to get around the city and where to go hotel is 5 min walk from the main party place in the city so was a great place to stay for me and my friends

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britishchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

It's a good value for money. The staff was very friendly and have us directions to everywhere we needed to go. We had a room for too, you have a sink in the room, but the shower and toilet is shared with other rooms, which was not a big problem, never saw a line :) the room was clean. Anyways we needed a place just to sleep couple of hours, so it was good. The location is alo good, you can take a tram to the center or walk may be 15 min.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank AlenaKayumova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This hostel has very poor reviews on here but if you want value for your money in Amsterdam then you'll get it here.

Yes the place needs a good renovation but it more then makes up for it considering how expensive it is to stay in Amsterdam!

I had a good comfortable clean bed, it was quite, a clean shower/toilet everyday, good WiFi and always a warm smile from the staff and especially Mario who went out of his way too help me with my trip!

Also comments about the Tram are ridiculously unjustified, they stop at 12:30 am and go EVERYWHERE in the city so wherever you go it'll be the same and thankfully they aren't that bad anyway!

I more then enjoyed my stay here especially as it cost me £42 for 2 nights for my own room-seriously impossible to beat anywhere else in town.

I would stay here again as I felt very welcomed and safe as a solo female traveller.

Also billy basics of hostels-bring a towel, flip flops and an open mind...you'll have a lot easier time!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#161 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#251 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#301 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Address: Overtoom 80-I, 1054 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $38 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Princess Hostel Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Princess Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing