We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT BAD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #345 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NOT BAD”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

me farooq from pakistan and i stay hotel princess amsterdam in month of november 2013 this is my first experiance to stay like that hostel which is not bad experance, room is small but clean bed is clean and comfert location is also good and very easy approch able i found hotel place with out asking any body because easy location hotel is situated on first floor breakfast is included in bed price one thing is not good which i want to mantation for the owner of hotel that staff of hotel is not good one boy i think name tony black boy too much rood his behaviour is not cooprative owner should notice it after check himself washroom clean breakfast good location good i would like to reffer traveller on budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farooqfaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    74
    58
    143
See reviews for
12
75
74
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Everything was ok, there is a bike rental 100 meters far from the Hotel, the only thing that bothered me, there was one of the 3 recepcionists, he was working in a sunday morning, also monday morning, terrible service, bad face, and it seemed that he didnt wanted to work, but nevertheless, the place is ok, small rooms, but if you are in AMS, you are there just to rest a little and let's go to the street, the only big issue was this guy, of course special attention to the girls, why not. Free breakfast, ham, bread, coffe, unlimited, that was cool. I recommend this place if you are saving money and you will be there just to sleep and have the AMS expierence. (you cant smoke weed on the hostel, though)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My friend and I booked this place quickly because it was very inexpensive and we were going on a weekend that we knew was going to be packed so we wanted to get our booking over with. Only after we booked the non-refundable room did we start reading all of the reviews on the place. We were both totally freaked out because many of the reviews were terrible or disgusting. So naturally, we thought we were going to be staying in a less-than-comfortable hostel while we were in Amsterdam. Upon arrival the receptionist checked us in and gave us a map where he pointed out all the specific areas we would want to go visit. He was also very helpful in restaurant suggestions. The room itself was not bad at all. It was just a small bedroom with two twin beds, a sink, a closet, and a desk. The only thing I will say is that it smelled kinda funky and the window was unable to be opened. However, overall I'd say that our stay there was great. The free breakfast in the morning was a total plus. I wouldn't recommend it to people who are traveling and trying to meet people, but it's not a bad place to be if you're stuck in a situation like we were.

Room Tip: private rooms are the way to go, even if it does cost a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

NOT catching some mysterious desease in this filthy little hotel is a surprize. Dirty sheets, bad smell in the rooms, broken windows (wich you are not allowed to open, but the problem is that you can't even properly close them), lights not working, filthy floors (roomservice likes to place the fresh sheets on the floor in the staircase before they change them).and you have to pay 47Euro per night for this (--)? Is that cheap? Its not suprizing that you have to pay in advance, If you want to have a good time in Amsterdam, don't go there. Don't dare to complain to the staff, they will not be happy to help you. they know they work in a (--) up place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

You really need a sense of humour here. Yes it may be everything previous reviewers have said, but it's bloody funny, and so is your host, Super Mario. And it's cheap. Just the job for backpackers. Not for me any more. Too many steep stairs for this old get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Pros: Cheap, central.

Cons: Dont expect a clean room, shared bathroom smells like death. Staff keeps coming in the room with no warning, at any hour, just checking that we're not smoking.

So i smoked on the little terrace, but even then he threatned with calling the police and have me arrested for smoking... CIGARETTES!! If you come to Amsterdam to have a good time, trust me, this is not the place.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rass H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 364 in Amsterdam
198 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 364 in Amsterdam
179 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
880 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#208 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,010 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#292 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Overtoom 80-I, 1054 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Princess Hostel Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princess Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing