We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“you get what you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #339 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
“you get what you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

as long as you don't mind that the low cost of the hotel doesn't include that your room and the shared bathrooms get cleaned daily, it is a very fine hotel. and we didn't expect such a good breakfast for that price. we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    63
    51
    118
See reviews for
9
62
69
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room was filthy, filthy, filthy, and it smelled bad. I wasn't allowed to open the window to air out the room, because of "danger of breaking the window". The towels were also dirty.

The man in the reception was not very friendly. I guess he tried to be funny, but I felt like he was making a fool of us. The credit card -machine didn't work so I had to pay with cash, which screwed my travel budget.
The wireless internet connection didn't work. The toilet was out of paper when I needed to go and there wasn't anyone at the reception to give me toiletpaper.

I guess I wasn't "happy" enough to feel comfortable. The location next to Voondel park is good. I only stayed two nights.

I WILL NEVER COME AGAIN!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lassi_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have booked a room with twin bed but when we arrived we just find 3 separated ones - uncomfortable for a couple-

The room wasn't really clean, I found a sticky candy under our bed

There were no place to let our stuff, no storange

It wasn't convenient to get out of the room at night when we wanted to go to the restroom.

We did not know that we had to pay a 15 euros extra at our arrival.

Fortunately, the hotel has a good location, closed to the most famous museums and the vondelpark. It's also a good thing that the breakfast is included in the reservation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorgan, Iran
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had a 4-bed room in Hotel Princess. It was a great experience with Karl and another Latin friend. The services were clean and comfort. each room has some small windows which opens into the street and had nice atmosphere. Toilet and showers were equipped and comfort. the reception and cafe are amazing and don't forget the Gouda cheese for breakfast...

Room Tip: don't miss the breakfast ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alireza160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We caused some trouble for the staff, turning up hours early for check in and messing up our hotel booking and return tickets. They helped us out a lot. Rooms were really dirty and cold though. Good internet and facilities, shared shower and toilet were really clean which was a surprise after seeing our room. Downstairs was nice and clean, good dining room with comfortable chairs, breakfast was not so great; stale toast and cheap jam. I would suggest buying some cereal or pop tarts from one of the local shops. Great location, walking distance from everything, I would suggest the nearby Dolphin coffee shop as a good point to end your evenings and recommend the local brightly coloured yellow mushroom shop (can't miss it, there's pictures of Super Mario mushrooms everywhere). Over all a good stay and nice staff but some heating would of been nice in December and it needs a thorough spring clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#212 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Overtoom 80-I, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Princess Hostel Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Princess Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing