We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Ranked #350 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    74
    59
    149
See reviews for
13
78
77
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorgan, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had a 4-bed room in Hotel Princess. It was a great experience with Karl and another Latin friend. The services were clean and comfort. each room has some small windows which opens into the street and had nice atmosphere. Toilet and showers were equipped and comfort. the reception and cafe are amazing and don't forget the Gouda cheese for breakfast...

Room Tip: don't miss the breakfast ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alireza160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We caused some trouble for the staff, turning up hours early for check in and messing up our hotel booking and return tickets. They helped us out a lot. Rooms were really dirty and cold though. Good internet and facilities, shared shower and toilet were really clean which was a surprise after seeing our room. Downstairs was nice and clean, good dining room with comfortable chairs, breakfast was not so great; stale toast and cheap jam. I would suggest buying some cereal or pop tarts from one of the local shops. Great location, walking distance from everything, I would suggest the nearby Dolphin coffee shop as a good point to end your evenings and recommend the local brightly coloured yellow mushroom shop (can't miss it, there's pictures of Super Mario mushrooms everywhere). Over all a good stay and nice staff but some heating would of been nice in December and it needs a thorough spring clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THIMPHU, BHUTAN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was glad to find a Hotel Princess under Easytobook.com hotels but was shocked to find the difference compared to that of websites. The locations and the interiors and exteriors were totally different. The room was cozy but it was kinda ok to spend your exhaust sleep and the stairs was to steep to climb over, There was a 14" color television without a remote control,There is a plastic disposal glass to drink water directly from the basin,the window can't be opened,there was some kinda insect that bite me in my leg, No washing soaps,No water Jug etc. The breakfast was satisfactory,The light system was too dim and the one above the mirror doesn't work,The shared bathroom latch was disguising and couldn't open for 15 mins,the light was out of order in one shower room,The toilet was cozy and hard to turn around,No soaps and room freshener in the toilet as well as the bed room. The smoking notice directly addressed on me and pasted at my room door was a shocking tremor when a guest in that particularly don't smoke after all.
Above all the staff in the reception during the first check in was rude,especially the dark guy. He should learn the meaning of PR and should learn how to communicate with the guest.You can't underestimate your guest and moreover I recommend the management to make a research before they employ such type of employees in future. And his qualities was beyond comparable with a general staff of a normal hotel in my country and neighboring India. Guest Relation Service was totally negative. And I found some other dormitory was far more better than the hotel compared with price and budget. I am totally dissatisfied with the hospitality provided there in Hotel Princess.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Tsherub D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is by far the MOST disgusting place i have EVER stayed. As a college student on a budget, i did not have high expectations for the place but this by far was worse than i anticipated. I could not sleep because there were BED BUGS crawling all over my bed and a few days after my trip i noticed all of the bites all over my arms from them. As i was cleaning out my luggage i even saw a couple of bugs had gotten into my suitcase. It was a hassle to have to check and wash everything multiple times. and the paranoia of wondering if there were any bugs that was in my stuff that i missed is TERRIBLE. there is only one bathroom and three showers per floor for 6 rooms!! if you can, AVOID this hotel. only thing that it had going for it was the decent location. But i would definitely pay extra to stay at another hotel given the bug situation. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!

Room Tip: avoid all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCollegeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel the location was good,the first 2 days were very good,the last day there was a guy at the reception who was very rude and I was 10 mins late for check out and he asked me for a fine.i don't really recommended you to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank UMAIR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#227 of 367 in Amsterdam
725 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 367 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hostel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hostel Amsterdam

Property: Princess Hostel Amsterdam
Address: Overtoom 80-I, 1054 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Princess Hostel Amsterdam 1*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Hostel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing