We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag, watch you step.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ranked #140 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 20, 2006

This is our experience with the hotel:
---
We changed our schedule to arrive one day later than it had been booked.
The hotel changed the reservation without penalty (with more than 24hrs warning.)

We had to change rooms twice because of the poor quality of the rooms.

When we arrived at 9 am with check-in time being 2pm, it took some effort to be allowed to leave our luggage until check-in time.
The desk clerk flatly advised us to come back not earlier than 2pm.


Our documents folder, which we left for 5 minutes on the front desk barrier, with copies of our passports and itineraries, was found by us in the hands of strangers in the lobby. The strangers were eagerly reading our papers.

The twin room which was assigned to us first, number 405, has little in common with pictures provided on the hotel's Web site: it was small, claustrophobic, with a window, which could not be closed in principle. There was only one bed stand, placed in such a manner, that its drawer could not be opened due to smallness of the room.

Next morning we asked for a different room. Our request was granted with the room 107, which was of a decent size.

However, its storm window was broken, so that it could not be open reliably. Immediately beneath the window there was the roof of the breakfast area. The roof was covered with garbage.
The window did not have a mosquito screen, so when the window was opened (precariously), the room was filled with mosquitos (which were flying inside the hallway as well.)
Our sleep was disturbed not only by mosquitoes, but also by a loud TV in the adjacent room, used, obviously, by the night staff. It took tapping on the wall to make them make TV less loud.

Next morning we requested yet a different room, and get the room 307 of the same size as the room 107. While waiting at the front desk, we heard departing guests expressing their dissatisfaction with their rooms.

The 307's window (storm type) could be opened more reliably, but it did not have a mosquitoe screen - again, so the mosquitoes remained a problem, though less prominent than before.

(The hotel does not have A/C, so to open the window is necessary.)

The cleaning crew did not bother to dust off the surfaces, and the windowsill was dirty.

The bathroom was new and clean, with ventilation working permanently.

However, in order to get into the bath tub to get a shower, one has to step over tub wall which is about 25 inch high (64 cm). This might be quite difficult for some people, especially in the bathroom, where a fall might be quite traumatic.

The cleaning staff was sometimes very loud, even with "Do not disturb sign" displayed outside the room.

I am attaching pictures of room 405 and of waht was outside the window of the room 107.

Stayed: April 2006
13  Thank Savnterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 972 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Seasons from the 4th until the 7th May 2006. I had spent a long time researching affordable accomodation and because of the good reviews this hotel received I decided to book it. We were not disappointed. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good and the bathroom and bedroom were very nice, with a lovely comfy bed. Our flight home wasn't until evening and we were able to leave our luggage locked up at the hotel after we had checked out. I was a little anxious about the location of the hotel but we found it easy to walk to all the major locations within about 20 minutes. There are no pictures of the outside of the hotel, but it is a very nice looking dutch house and just accross the road, at the front, there is a canal which was a pleasant surprise. Overall we had a fantastic weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. l

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SCSCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

To get to the hotel you can take tram 4 or 25 from Central Station and you just tell the driver you are going to 'Stadhouderskade' and he will stamp your strip ticket (we bought the tickets from the newsagent as the ticket machine was not working).
When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted, and even though it was 14.30 we were unable to check into our room because it was not ready. I asked if it was possible for us to leave our baggage and check in everything later but were assured that it wouldn't take too long. We waited for about 20 minutes, which seemed long considering we were only going to be in Amsterdam for less than three days.
I decided to pay during check in and was told that using a credit card would incur a 3% charge. I offered to pay using my Maestro but was told this was not acceptable even though I told them that this was a debit card. It wasn't until after my bill had been processed that the mention of Cirrus (which my card was also) could also be used, but by then it was too late - so a bit annoyed about that.
We were given a room in the basement. It was a nicely decorated room and clean. The beds were comfy but really sagged in the middle so when my partner and I slept in the bed later that evening we both ended up rolling towards each other into the centre. The bathroom was nice and clean too and the room had a hairdryer which was good (although a little noisy).
Breakfast was decent. There were a variety of cold meat slices, cheese and bread, and the waitresses would serve you tea and coffee. There was also cereals, variety of jams, tinned fruit salad, and apple/ orange juice.
Walking into the centre of town takes about 20 mins probably less if you walk fast.
There is also a Lidl situated about 5mins to the right of the hotel as you come out of the hotel, and about 5mins to your right there is an Albert Heijn.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Marble_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed here for three nights. The room rates were reasonable. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, letting us leave our suitcase with them until we were able to check in in the afternoon. Our room was just off reception and was a little noisy but the room itself was clean and comfortable (nice snuggly duvet on the bed instead of a load of sheets and blankets!) although small (but this was not a problem). The bathroom was modern and very clean. LCD flat screen telly provided, ideal for this type of room. We thought that being in a room just off reception would be an issue but as we were so tired at the end of the day and had brought ear plugs with us we didn't hear a peep!

The hotel is located near a convenient tram route, just a couple of minutes walk away. We used the number 4 tram the most which takes you through the main two squares (Dam and Rembrandt Plein). Tram tickets can be purchased individually from the driver but we bought a strippenkaart (a small book of tickets) direct from the tourist information centre across from the Centraal Station on arrival from the airport. These cost about €7.00. Very reasonable and far better than buying them individually if you're planning a number of journeys.

If you wanted to walk into the centre from this hotel, we'd say it takes about 15/20 minutes. If you're pushed for time it's far easier to get the tram and it saves the old feet! Trams run from 6:30 am until 11:00pm each day and are very regular. You usually only have to wait 5 minutes.

On arrival at Amsterdam airport you can take the train (from platform 5 when we were there) direct to the Centraal Station for about €3.60 per person, one way. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the station where you can get a tram to just about anywhere in the city. The tourist information office is an easily spotted white building over the road from the station. The staff there are very helpful but be warned that if you have not booked accomodation before you go or have general queries regarding trips etc. you might be up for a long wait in the queue. There is a separate queue to purchase public transport tickets which is useful.

We really enjoyed Amsterdam and would recommend it for a long weekend away. There's plenty to do - the Sex Museum, Erotic Museum, Red Light District and Anne Franks House are a must. A good tip is to buy an evening (5pm to 9pm) ticket from the tourist information office for Anne Franks House. It's not as busy at that time and you can avoid queuing.

Have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LynAndAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

I took my mom to Amsterdam from Sat 22nd April for three days and we stayed at The Seasons Hotel because of the reviews I had read - It really was a nice hotel. We had a twin room which was fairly small but adequate, decorated in an oriental style- having white bedlinen with lavender cushions and bed runners , a lot of thought has gone into decorating the rooms - even the kettle was lavender coloured ! A smart and clean bathroom-I did have a bit of trouble with the taps over the bath. The 'hot' tap is actually a temperature gauge only and the 'cold' tap is for water flow. The reception staff were friendly and helpful explaining where I was going wrong when I thought we had no water coming out of the hot tap- Oops . Breakfast was simple but good. We found the tram service No.25 and No.4 really good for getting around and we never had to wait longer than a few minutes for it. We hope you enjoy your trip to Amsterdam and The Seasons Hotel as much as we did.
p.s. A visit to the Kerkenhoff gardens is a must see from March to May. Just get a train from the Central Station in Amsterdam to Leiden (around EUR 13.00 return) then get the Kerkenhoff Gardens bus No. 54 which takes you straight there. A combination return bus ticket and entrance to the gardens costs EUR 17.00 which you buy at the Conexxions desk just outside the station. Its absolutely beautiful. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flowerfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, UK
17
Reviewed March 25, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Seasons Hotel for a weekend getaway. The room we stayed in was on the second floor and although was a little small, it was comfortable, nicely decorated and clean. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helped us arrange an evening canal cruise. The buffet breakfast was good with juices, breads, cold meats, fruit and cereals. The hotel is in a great location and made it very easy to get into the city centre by tram. The number 4 or 25 tram, which run frequently (we never waited more than 5mins) from central station takes you straight from the central station to the hotel. Overall, a great hotel for a getaway to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
uk
114
Reviewed March 6, 2006

me and my partner travelled to seasons hotel on the 13th feb for a few days when we arrived it was jate in the evening but we had no problems getting into the hotel we decided to take the train from schpol airport and then the number 24 tram which to us directly to the hotel the staff were very freindly. the room was v clean and the bathroom was also nice warm and clean. the rates for the hotel were excellent as we kinda booked at the last minute,the hotel was not to far away from the main attractions. we use to buy a day ticket for around 6 euros each were we could travell on all trams and metro for a whole 24hours. we looked forward to the breakfast as the the two ladies that served us each morning were always eager to help theres alot of variety food wise. just around the corner a a huge market selling everything imaginable. we had a great time and are looking forward to are next visit. the center of amsterdam really comes alive at night i definately reccommend amsterdam, the little boutique were just brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#181 of 375 in Amsterdam
565 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Centre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#129 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,612 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#115 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,909 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#100 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $88 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing