We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money dissapeared”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ranked #146 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Money dissapeared”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was invited to the hotel for a work related meeting and I thought it was in a good location. Recently renovated (although in a rather cheap manner) and room was tiny but ok, reception staff very friendly, but as other reviewer wrote, it is pretty noisy (cleaning personell). Worst of all though is that I had 50 Euros stolen out of my bag. Yes, there is a safe in the room but I would not have thought that some money would dissapear out of my bag. Once I noticed on my way home, I emailed the hotel and unfortunatly I have not received any answer (its 2 weeks ago now). This is very dissapointing, has never happened to me before, and I would not go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mindmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    428
    212
    80
    55
See reviews for
237
341
54
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The room is simple but everything you need. We had trouble with our shower, it would flood the bathroom every time and after a shower you have the keep the bathroom door shut otherwise it sets off the smoke alarms which was a bit of a pain.
The rooms are a tight squeeze, but we still managed to move around fine with our suitcases in there, bed was comfortable and a balcony means you can get lots of fresh air.
The breakfast team are absolutely wonderful, we always came down ten minutes before it ended but they would always make sure there was enough food for us, one of the ladies even heated up a bunch of croissants for me when she saw me looking around for them.
Good location, ask for a city map and then you'll be fine, it looks far from the centre but it's surprisingly close.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

3 generations of my family stayed here for 2 nights as we visited Amsterdam for the first time. Since we had children with us, the economical price of the "family rooms" (sleep 3 or 4!) caught our eye and this hotel's easy access to the sights worked great. The rooms were small but cheerful. The breakfast had many options and was wonderful. The breakfast room was bright and clean and proved to be a nice place for our family to visit with each other during the afternoon as we rested our feet. The breakfast ladies and front desk staff were very professional and helpful with directions from our clueless bunch. We struggled a bit with the lack of air conditioning, but each room had a fan and the windows opened and cooled off the room. I don't know that I will be fortunate enough to go back to Amsterdam again, but if I did I would stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowadutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel is really 3.5 not 4 stars, but I couldn't justify lowering it to 3.

Location is on the outer rim of the canals, however it is still convenient as there are trams available to the city centre just at the end of the street. However we chose to walk everywhere, it will take you roughly 20 mins to walk towards the centre. There is also a bike rental scheme at the hotel. In terms of arriving via train at Amsterdam Central, we took a taxi to and from the terminal, it cost roughly 15-20 euros and was 20-30 mins (dependent on traffic). It did take our taxi 15 mins from the time we called it to the time it picked us up to take us there so just be aware of that when leaving.

There is also a Lidl supermarket around the corner and another supermarket towards the city centre after the park if you need water or snacks.

Hotel is an older building refurbished, some of the rooms are a little more worn than others. There is about 4 stairs to get in to the hotel, so just something to note when taking your luggage up/down. Elevator is small and very slow, but we squeezed the 2 of us, our 2 large suitcases and 2 carry-ons in to the lift fine. Sometimes was quicker to walk up the stairs than wait for the lift.

We were given a room on the top floor, it was quite squishy. We did manage to have 2 suitcases open but it was tight walking around the room. The bathroom is very small as well. There is no air conditioning in the room, just an oil heater which was fine for us as we stayed in March and it was chilly and rained. You can open the window (usual european styles) to let air in. Room was very well cleaned, and always done by the staff before noon.

Bed was quite firm, but still comfortable enough to fall asleep. Room was a little noisy, we could hear the other drunk guests in their room but otherwise we didn't hear anyone else. TV had the usual english news channels and 2 additional english entertainment channels. Wi-fi was good, no issues with drop out.

Breakfast was decent for all included, nothing super fancy but fills you up enough. All the staff speak english, in general everyone in Amsterdam can speak english. Staff are all very friendly and always happy to have a chat to you (though again we found this throughout Amsterdam). The staff really do make a smaller older hotel in to something much nicer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cloudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I was supposed to stay at Ibis Styles Amstel which was located 200 m away, but the hotel was overbooked so I stayed at Ibis Styles Amsterdam City instead. Not sure of the difference, as both properties look quite similar. The hotel was clean, with good amenities such as a lift and kettle (which is quite rare for Europe hotels for some reason). The wifi was also good and speedy. The breakfast spread was not bad. The staff were also polite and helpful. The neighbourhood was located in a quieter part of town and walkable to attractions such as Heineken Experience. However, the downside is the walls are thin and it can be noisy if you have inconsiderate neighbours. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Up to usual European Ibis standard.
The reception staff were always available, friendly, and happy to answer questions. No issue with the staff.
The rooms were clean and up to standard, however the bathroom had some very awkward manner in which the shower door would open - which meant a very wet and messy floor after showering. Also he telephone did not work in the room at all.
The only other gripe was the lift is EXTREMELY slow. One is quicker to use the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airbus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aigle, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room was comfortable, although there was a very faint smell of cigarettes. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good; continental style but with a few extra options such as scrambled eggs. The breakfast room is small, so if lots of people arrive at once you might need to share tables, take food over to the chairs in reception or just wait. The hotel is convenient for the trams, it's not right in the centre, but you can see that from the map.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HomerPerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#179 of 368 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#112 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,188 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#111 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,080 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Centre East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Property: Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing