We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and restful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ranked #142 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The room is simple but everything you need. We had trouble with our shower, it would flood the bathroom every time and after a shower you have the keep the bathroom door shut otherwise it sets off the smoke alarms which was a bit of a pain.
The rooms are a tight squeeze, but we still managed to move around fine with our suitcases in there, bed was comfortable and a balcony means you can get lots of fresh air.
The breakfast team are absolutely wonderful, we always came down ten minutes before it ended but they would always make sure there was enough food for us, one of the ladies even heated up a bunch of croissants for me when she saw me looking around for them.
Good location, ask for a city map and then you'll be fine, it looks far from the centre but it's surprisingly close.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 961 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

3 generations of my family stayed here for 2 nights as we visited Amsterdam for the first time. Since we had children with us, the economical price of the "family rooms" (sleep 3 or 4!) caught our eye and this hotel's easy access to the sights worked great. The rooms were small but cheerful. The breakfast had many options and was wonderful. The breakfast room was bright and clean and proved to be a nice place for our family to visit with each other during the afternoon as we rested our feet. The breakfast ladies and front desk staff were very professional and helpful with directions from our clueless bunch. We struggled a bit with the lack of air conditioning, but each room had a fan and the windows opened and cooled off the room. I don't know that I will be fortunate enough to go back to Amsterdam again, but if I did I would stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowadutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel is really 3.5 not 4 stars, but I couldn't justify lowering it to 3.

Location is on the outer rim of the canals, however it is still convenient as there are trams available to the city centre just at the end of the street. However we chose to walk everywhere, it will take you roughly 20 mins to walk towards the centre. There is also a bike rental scheme at the hotel. In terms of arriving via train at Amsterdam Central, we took a taxi to and from the terminal, it cost roughly 15-20 euros and was 20-30 mins (dependent on traffic). It did take our taxi 15 mins from the time we called it to the time it picked us up to take us there so just be aware of that when leaving.

There is also a Lidl supermarket around the corner and another supermarket towards the city centre after the park if you need water or snacks.

Hotel is an older building refurbished, some of the rooms are a little more worn than others. There is about 4 stairs to get in to the hotel, so just something to note when taking your luggage up/down. Elevator is small and very slow, but we squeezed the 2 of us, our 2 large suitcases and 2 carry-ons in to the lift fine. Sometimes was quicker to walk up the stairs than wait for the lift.

We were given a room on the top floor, it was quite squishy. We did manage to have 2 suitcases open but it was tight walking around the room. The bathroom is very small as well. There is no air conditioning in the room, just an oil heater which was fine for us as we stayed in March and it was chilly and rained. You can open the window (usual european styles) to let air in. Room was very well cleaned, and always done by the staff before noon.

Bed was quite firm, but still comfortable enough to fall asleep. Room was a little noisy, we could hear the other drunk guests in their room but otherwise we didn't hear anyone else. TV had the usual english news channels and 2 additional english entertainment channels. Wi-fi was good, no issues with drop out.

Breakfast was decent for all included, nothing super fancy but fills you up enough. All the staff speak english, in general everyone in Amsterdam can speak english. Staff are all very friendly and always happy to have a chat to you (though again we found this throughout Amsterdam). The staff really do make a smaller older hotel in to something much nicer.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Cloudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I was supposed to stay at Ibis Styles Amstel which was located 200 m away, but the hotel was overbooked so I stayed at Ibis Styles Amsterdam City instead. Not sure of the difference, as both properties look quite similar. The hotel was clean, with good amenities such as a lift and kettle (which is quite rare for Europe hotels for some reason). The wifi was also good and speedy. The breakfast spread was not bad. The staff were also polite and helpful. The neighbourhood was located in a quieter part of town and walkable to attractions such as Heineken Experience. However, the downside is the walls are thin and it can be noisy if you have inconsiderate neighbours. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Up to usual European Ibis standard.
The reception staff were always available, friendly, and happy to answer questions. No issue with the staff.
The rooms were clean and up to standard, however the bathroom had some very awkward manner in which the shower door would open - which meant a very wet and messy floor after showering. Also he telephone did not work in the room at all.
The only other gripe was the lift is EXTREMELY slow. One is quicker to use the stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airbus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room was comfortable, although there was a very faint smell of cigarettes. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good; continental style but with a few extra options such as scrambled eggs. The breakfast room is small, so if lots of people arrive at once you might need to share tables, take food over to the chairs in reception or just wait. The hotel is convenient for the trams, it's not right in the centre, but you can see that from the map.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HomerPerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night, and I am glad that was all. The staff were great from the reception staff to the breakfast room staff. they were all really helpful, friendly, and attentive. However the room we had was really disappointing. I think if we had been staying longer I would have complained. We had the front room on the ground floor on the right of the lift. I think it was room 30. It was noisy from the road and the double glazing didn't really reduce it to a decent level. It was also quite cramped. We needed to separate the beds to two singles and had to rearrange the furniture in the small space available, the beds were also really narrow - barely 2 foot wide, and again this made them uncomfortable. Finally the toilet was shoe horned into a space in the bathroom that meant you had to sit on it sideways! Both of us are slim, a larger person would struggle to get on it at all! On the positive side the shower was great! It was also well positioned for walking to the Rijksmuseum, we walked there in 15 minutes. Also we did a really lovely canal walk all the way to Dam Square from the hotel and back.

I am sure there are nicer rooms in this hotel, in fact the room next door where we were able to leave our bags had more space. In a better room it would be a good value place to stay in a city where rooms do not seem to be cheap.

Room Tip: Avoid the front room on the ground floor that is on the right of the lift. I think it is no. 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheridanslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#175 of 373 in Amsterdam
557 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#132 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,886 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Centre East
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing