We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ranked #143 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Granted this is a hotel in a narrow historic building with consequentially small, somewhat noisy rooms (if you want the windows open) we had a room that had everything we needed for a three night stay. Space to unpack was limited but we had a decent bathroom and shower, comfy bed, air con, wi-fi, TV and a decent breakfast with free tea and coffee in reception. There was even a street waffle left for us in the room on day 2.
This hotel also has a new elevator, dated 2013, so previous reviews warning about steep steps (true) and no elevator are now factually out of date.
They will hold luggage, too, if you have a late flight apparently..
Finally got although away from the main drag, it us well located for canal trips, a market, museums and trams.

Room Tip: 119. Smallish, but with a street view. Comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 960 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I arrived at hotel at 12 noon and was told that my room would be ready in 30 minutes. Great. Went for a bite to eat and came back to be told hotel was overbooked and they had no room for me. I'd rather the hotel was honest with me when I arrived. So I can't tell you how good it is but I'll think twice in future about booking with IBIS. To be fair to the hotel they got me into another local hotel called The Notting Hill which I can recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Billward61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

we have stayed for 7 nights. during those days our room was tyed up but not cleaned, not the toilet, nor the bed was changed. it took only 3 nights to clean and refresh the tea& coffy. we haven't had any hand soap. the towels were torn. there were only 2 good things: the breakfast, though the price is outrageous and the location near grosery and albert market.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adl228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is located about 20 minutes from Central Station, but in a good location. You are located right on a river, and walking distance to many markets, town, restaurants, bars and nightlife. Hotel rooms are very small, but worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is a bit further out from where I stay which is normally closer to the station, this hotel is roughly a 20 euro cab ride away from Amsterdam Centraal station. The room was small with not a lot of space other than the bed to fit in there. As I said, clean and basic

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeloveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Many negative reviews are based on some unfortunate disaster- water through the ceiling, dirty linen etc. I have none of the, but can still recommend you not to stay here. I have stayed in 10 or so hotels in Amsterdam including cheaper, and this is by far the worst. Not central, lots of road noise, tiny rooms, archaic lift, crazy cost for what you get, 1970s shower room, etc etc. the guy on reception was civil

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ParisMilanDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived far earlier than check in time but we left our bags in a downstairs room and were offered free coffee. Arriving back later, we were given our key card by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the street. Although not large, it was perfectly adequate and very clean. There were plenty of clean towels and the towel radiator was very efficient, heating both the towels and if you left the bathroom door open, the rest of the room. We slept with the window open, as the main road was very quiet at night.
The wifi reached the room which was a bonus.
Breakfast was good with a choice of cold meats and cheese, croissants, rolls and sliced bread. There were also fruit juices, cereals, boiled and scrambled eggs, hot and cold chocolate milk, pouring yoghurt and a coffee machine offering cappuccino, espresso and coffee verkeert.
Turning left out of the front door and walking to the junction, there is a tram stop on the right. The trams are frequent and you can be in Dam Square within no time.
We found all the staff to be really helpful and personable. They looked up information for us and gave us printouts and also cancelled a dinner reservation for us when we changed our mind.
This is definitely somewhere we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koritsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#177 of 373 in Amsterdam
557 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#132 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,886 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Centre East
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing