We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ranked #157 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful. We had a slight glich when checking in but this was very quickly remedied before we had even had time to tell the reception staff! We had struggled to find a family friendly affordable hotel with rooms for 4 in Amsterdam. Ibis styles is also the most central hotel with this type of room we could afford/find.
The rooms are small but well laid out and equipped. The use of bright decoration ensured that the children liked it. There is a little noise from the stairs, reception and corridor at night but this did not disturb our sleep at all.
Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection and again child friendly (and adult friendly!) there is a vending machine for snacks in reception, coffee whenever you want it in the breakfast room and coffee making facilities in the room. My children ate far too many of the free sweets and mints!!
The hotel is very near the Heineken experience, one canal tour company and tram stop for 4 or 25 which take you all the way to the centraal station. The area is also close to de pijp where there is a market and a range of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank NicolaC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    401
    205
    77
    54
See reviews for
221
320
51
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herning, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good location with walking distance to the City Centre and metro station around 400 meters away. We parked our car in P+R at the Ajax Amsterdam Arena Transferium for 8 euros per day, which included a roundtrip ticket for public transport to the city valid for 1 hour for each ride. It was a great deal since the parking in the city costs tons of money.
Small room, the tiniest bathroom with tub, basically everything felt pretty small. Breakfast room is small as well so if you come later, you have to wait for a table. Basic breakfast, but OK, fruit and vegetable selection very poor. Staff very friendly. Comfortable beds, possible to regulate the radiator. No stationary but electric kettle with tea and coffee. We had a backyard room, there was noise only from the hallways not from the street. Doors are definitely not soundproofed. Didn't spend that much time in the hotel. We booked it with big discount so no complaints but wouldn't pay the full price. Book only if you can get discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hekabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having taken a day train from Zurich, it was around 8 in the evening when my wife and I reached the hotel for our 3 nights stay. After checking in, we were shown to our room which was in the basement - nothing wrong there, yet.

However, it was when we entered the room that we found the horror that was nothing like what we had experienced with the Ibis Group till date. The bathroom was stinking, the room was cramped, besides having a stench of not having been done over in sometime. When we got ready to sleep, the pillows had hairs on them, probably from the previous guests, or from not having been cleaned properly. Needless to say, our first night was one not worth reminiscing about. We came to know later that the room in question was normally given to business travelers who required a room for 1 night, or for a late night early check-out scenario. Something which was not the case with us, as we had booked online atleast 3 weeeks before our check-in date.

I hope the management pays better attention to such details

Things changed for the better, thankfully, the next day. We asked for a change of room and got one that was on the 2nd floor, that was a LOT cleaner than our previous one. and had a little more space. This was the room that we were expecting from the beginning. Being a Styles hotel, wifi was part of the package, and there were refreshments interms of tea and coffee to choose from.

The breakfast was one thing we looked forward to, and had to be in time to avoid the rush hour, when it can get almost full, but manageable all the same. The restaurant window overlooked the back of the building, which gave a nice, if not limited view of the buildings in the vicinity, as well as the hotel parking. The selection was nice, with the breads being quite warm, as well as the restaurant staff being quite homely in their demeanour.

To summarize, the stay was a good one overall. The hotel being near to the Central station, and accessible by tram, with there being not too much noise, save for the occasional late reveller going to their room that can be heard in the hallway, which ends as soon as they close their room door.

I would have given 4 star rating had it not been for the 1st night situation. We look forward to stay at this hotel the next time we are in Amsterdam, minus the suprise room selection offcourse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors. Avoid the basement rooms unless all you want is a place to simply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatts-off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The ibis Styles hotel was located near restaurants/bars and was easy to get to with the tram system. The hotel room was functional - small, but had 4 single beds and perfect for our family. The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items and really good coffee. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sanu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very convenient location with 10-30 minutes walk to all the main sights. 10 mins to Rijksmuseum; 15 minutes Rembrandtspleijn etc. Tram in easy reach (5mins). Rooms are small but comfortable, clean and quiet. A minus for the parking facilities. The hotel should clearly state that private parking is very limited and may not be available (and if at EUR25 per day). Next parking facility is the Heineken experience (5mins walk and EUR38 per day). This is why I only gave 3 points for Service. Otherwise staff is very friendly and helpful. Overall very good hotel for a short stay to discover the city of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank CUllrich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just what you'd expect from Ibis, cheap and cheerful. wont hesitate to stay again. the room is a bit small for two but not a big problem, you get what you paid for. Recently re-stayled as Ibis Styles, new decor and clean colours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank imperan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel tries hard with friendly staff and a very decent & high quality breakfast with choice of lots of different teas, freshly baked croissants and buns, yoghurt, coffee/cappuccino machine etc. and even a sandwich grill. Parking fee waived (25 euros) as we'd been changed from the hotel next door to this one.

The hallways are very narrow, but rooms fairly decent size. Single glazing is the only issue due noise from the outside. Otherwise I would have given it 4 stars.

Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#168 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#108 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Property: Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing