We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget hotel close to transport in Asterda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ranked #153 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel close to transport in Asterda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

When we travelled to Amsterdam, we had a budget limit and so chose the Seasons Hotel (now known as the Ibis City Styles Hotel). It is about 3.3km from Amsterdam Central station (an easy walk). It is also right near th tram line (number 4 & 25) which will take you straight into the city centre in about 10 mins and runs frequently. It costs about 5euro for 2 ppl for a 1 hour tram pass or 7 euro a person for a 24 hour tram pass to use as much as you like.

The hotel is mostly modern, rooms are a little small but very clean for a budget hotel. There is also a supermarket about 100m up the street. Breakfast is included in the price and is limited but sufficient.

The biggest drawback is that the hotel rooms are not well insulated from noise, both in the hotel and on the street. We could here anyone come and go on our floor at all hours of the night and loud traffic noises outside. If you are a light sleeper this would not be ideal.

Overall I liked and it would probably stay again. It was good for our budgt range and location to all services and attractions.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    409
    206
    77
    54
See reviews for
224
325
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I lost my travel partner at the last minute last summer and found myself in Amsterdam alone without a place to stay. I spotted a lodging kiosk at the airport and inquired. I chose Styles Amsterdam for the location and modest price for a solo traveler. It was so new that the shuttle drivers couldn't figure out where Ibis Styles was. I guess it was formerly called Seasons. It's a little old cramped hotel on a canal that has been taken over by a chain. I like little old hotels, so the little elevator and the small rooms didn't bother me a bit. The room was clean. The desk staff was polite. I rented a bike from the hotel. It was my first biking experience in Amsterdam--whew! I slept well and enjoyed the breakfast immensely. I didn't really talk to anybody at the hotel, but they all seemed like down-to-earth nice people, families. I felt safe in the funky little hotel, which was close to museums and parks. I left on the tram across the street from the hotel and proceeded on to Utrecht--very convenient. I recommend this hotel to travelers who want modest and safe lodging in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for a weekend. Fourth floor room, Room clean enough but extremely hot even with radiator off. Unable to leave window open due to freezing outside. Lift was out fo order for my entire stay and four floors of really narrow spiral stairs was both hard to manage and very tiring, I was out of breath every time. Staff were not helpful with local information, we needed help to find local attractions we had come to visit but they couldnt help. Breakfast was included and was reasonable. Windows are not double glazed, so traffic noise was a problem, especially emergency vehicels on saturday night.....

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Piastow, Poland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel (actually functioning under the name Ibis Styles Amsterdam City) is a decent 3-star hotel, just outside the city center (but there is good communication by tram, which stops just around the corner). Staff is friendly, rooms are small, but clean and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast is OK, but a bit monotonous, at a longer stay. My room was quiet, but my friend, who had a room windows looking on the street, was complaining because of the traffic noise starting early in the morning.
The one real problem for me was a slight musty smell in the bathroom, which disappeared though after opening the window, so it was manageable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backyard side are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azosiolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#126 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam City

Property: Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Address: Stadhouderskade 135, 1074 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam City 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Seasons Hotel
Seasons Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Seasons Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing