We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience, rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brouwerij 't IJ

Brouwerij 't IJ
Ranked #1 of 278 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice experience, rude staff”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Brouwerij 't IJ is an important stop when in vacation through Amsterdam. The beer is traditional, the atmosphere is something very own but me and my friend found rude staff. When asking about the beers and for suggestions, we got the answer "I have no time for this". Then, the staff member just got a glass that was half full already in the balcony, finished to full it and gave it to us. That was a very negative point.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Marques9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    429
    74
    29
    33
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent beer! ”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a few Friday afternoon beers here in the sun, an excellent place in a nice setting. Be careful though, too many of the stronger beers and you feel a little wobbly. Random point, very high urinal in the gents! If yoy are below 5ft 8, good luck to you.

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hey Americans, get your IPA here in this windmill!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Brouwerij ' IJ is great enough anyway, but for my fellow hops-loving Americans, this could be your Amsterdam paradise, as an IPA is one of their offerings. They don't have it on tap every time, but it's worth a try if you happen to be there when it's available. I went here a few times and one of the times the windmill was even turning!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin_Carrying_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top notch beer”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have no problem saying that the 4-5 beers that I tried I would rank pretty much all in my top 10 all time. Went here 2 out of 4 nights we were in Amsterdam, and depending on when we get off the train or plane next time this will be my first stop. Great setting, great beer and for the amount of people there the service was more then fine. Get there early because they tend to close early.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank theWinterMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beer lover's paradise”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Amazing brewery pub inside a windmill. Wifi is dodgy, but free. Great selection of their beers in both the bottle and on draft. English-speaking staff. Loads of places to sit inside and out. They close at 8, so get there earlier. Two tours of the brewery a day in the afternoon. Not much in the way of food apart from a few snacks, but De Biertuin just a few blocks away has killer food once you shut this place down. :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maladrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brouwerij 't IJ also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brouwerij 't IJ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing