We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Truelove Guesthouse
Ranked #129 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived by Taxi to the address on our booking sheet....which is a quirky little antique shop. We were met by Daniel, who took us by foot to our room. A little inconvienant, as it was raining and we had 3 large suitcases. The room was only about 2-3 streets away so not such a big deal!
The room was well located and was clean. I think it's a bit of pot luck which room you get- as I assume they have several all in different locations.
Ours was a front room looking over the canal and walking distance to some great cafe's, pubs and the red light district. Nicely decorated, with a tv, kettle, hair dryer and lots of extra blankets!
The wi-fi didnt work, however almost all pubs and cafes offer free wifi - so not such an issue for us.
Couple of tips......
Put the heating on...and leave it on. Takes awhile to heat up the room....and you are so grateful when returning from walking around in the cold!
Check out is at 11am - and keys need to be returned to the antique shop. A little difficult to arrange a taxi.....but we went for breakfast and asked the English speaking waitress to order us one and then dropped the keys on the way to the airport.
Not luxury by any means.....but well priced and clean.
We would stay there again! After all - if like us, you spend very little time in your room anyway!

Also....recommend taking a canal boat ride. Only 12 euro and great way to see everything if the weather isn't great!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 274 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

One street far from where we did the check-in, 10 min from the central station, 10 min from the center (dam square). A double room with clean bathroom, Internet (not very good in the room but excellent in the corridor) for free, a fridge, tee and coffee (an electric kettle was in the room), towels and a hair dryer provided. The receptionist and the cleaning boy were very nice and polite. The receptionist gave us the opportunity to leave our luggages into he room, even if it was too early for the check-in. The best price and quality in Amsterdam! We would come soon! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumuvasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I arrived and was met by the person responsible for the rooms. I paid and was escorted about three blocks to my room. It was a basement room on a quite street. The room was very simple but did have a TV and a bathroom. It took a while to get comfortable but after a while realized that it was like being in college again sleeping in a friends basement. There was nothing specal but it was fine for me. The owner showed me a few places to eat in the area (no meals were included) and answered any questions I had. There is nobody there if you need anything but they said to call them if there was a problem. You are pretty much on your own. Don't expect much in the way of ammenities but they did have coffee/tea in the room if you wanted to make some.

The price was very reasonable and if you are self sufficient this is a good place to stay. It is in a fairly central location about a 10 minute walk from the Central Station. I would return again for a short trip. This would be a great place if you just wanted someplace cheap and out of the way to stay for one or a few days on your trip through Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While on vacation in Germany, my boyfriend and I decided to take the ICE train to Amsterdam and stay for a night. We did a basic google search and found Truelove: moderately priced with decent reviews. A lot of the other reviewed places were either fancy hotels and hostels - not what we were looking for. Since we planned this side trip on-a-whim, we booked a room with Truelove for one night and called it a night.

I will point out two fine-print points on the room confirmation that are worth noting:
1) you need to give them a call to say when you'll be arriving. You actually check-in at their other business (kind of swanky men's clothing store).
2) there are directions on howlin to get there from the train station, which was really nice for us.

Once our train arrived, it took us only about ten minutes to walk to get our keys (and we definitely took our time taking pictures on the way.) We checked in with Daniel - super nice guy who gave us a readers-digest summary of how to get around the city, where to find ATM's and gave us a map with our building circled on it. After getting our keys, the three of us walked over to the building our room was in and location is perfect (right in the middle of shops, bars, etc.). Since you're not staying in a big hotel, it really feels like you're living in an apartment.

Our building was in really nice shape - clean, quiet and secure. Our room was as nice as the building: private room, comfortable bed, flat-screened tv, free wifi, clean, nice bathroom (with hair dryer). One note: you need to bring all your own toiletries. Also, there is a coffee/tea and little refrigerator.

We had such a great time that we decided to stay another night. We couldn't get the same room for the next night but Daniel was super cool about getting us a different room in the same building.

As a summary, I cannot say better things about both the staff (Daniel) and our experience with Truelove. If we come back for another visit, I would definitely stay with them again. Danke!

Room Tip: We stayed in 57 Herengracht 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the guesthouse with a friend in January this year. It was quite a strange experience! Upon arriving at the address we were given, a man greeted us .. Into a shop. We were given our keys and he walked us a five minute walk to our guesthouse. At 11pm, in well below freezing temperatures, this was not ideal.
Aside from this, i was happy with what we got for our money. It was in a central location, only a few minutes walk from the centre, but the street was still peaceful and quiet during the night. The room itself was clean, warm, the bed comfy and the tv had some English speaking channels. There was free wifi in the room, and a kettle/tea and coffee so we could make our own drinks. The shower was pleasant, clean and towels were provided. Over all I would recommend to anyone looking for a low cost short break, but do not book expecting the equivalent to a 5* central london hotel because that isnt what you will get. Seeing as we booked ours only a few days before going, I was very happy with what we got. I would return to the true love guesthouse if I was looking for a cheap break in the future, but if your wanting luxury I wouldn't recommend this to you.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahMcHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#213 of 376 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#158 of 376 in Amsterdam
301 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#247 of 376 in Amsterdam
397 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truelove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truelove Guesthouse

Address: Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $116 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Truelove Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truelove Antique and Guesthouse is located in the heart of the historic centre of Amsterdam, called Jordaan. All rooms and apartments have private en-suite bathroom and toilet, fridge, tv and free coffee and tea facilities. Truelove is just 7 minutes walk from the central train station and just minutes walk to Dam Square, the royal palace, Ann Frank House, local out door day markets and all major tourist attractions and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Truelove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truelove Guesthouse Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing