We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bed of comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #157 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bed of comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very helpful with helping us navigate where we needed to be. Used the Tram to locate a friend in another area. Easy to use but pay attention to where you need to be. The hotel bed was awesome! Great comfort!! I will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Close to great restaurants and beer establishments.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Camy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    630
    308
    146
    101
See reviews for
121
758
89
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Lancs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel was first class the most comfortable bed i have slept in, our room was quiet, fantastic location, we didnt have the breakfast as it was too expensive but ate at the Opera Cafe at the end of the street which was lovely, i would recommend this hotel to anyone staying Amsterdam

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnedglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Bought this trip via expedia for my husbands birthday. Was brilliant. I emailed the hotel prior to visit as I wanted a cake to be in the room for my husbands birthday. They were so helpful, they got a cheese cake and some battery operated tea lighter candles. Was all ready when we got to the room. I was charged for the cake, but it was not a ridiculously inflated hotel price. We were upgraded to a suit, with a big bathroom, separate toilet. Got a free drink vouchers for the hotel
Bar, it was pretty expensive in though. We did not eat there so could not comment on that. The only little negative is that room was noisy, a little sound proofing may help. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gem-marie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location 1 minute walk from Rembrandt Square, easy to access from Schiphol Airport and close to everything that you need to see in Amsterdam. As standard practice, hotels in Amsterdam are quite expensive compared to other European cities, but considering the above, the price for the room is fairly reasonable (for Amsterdam pricing). The downside is the expensive breakfast (18€) but you have plenty of choice of small cafes and bars closeby. Rooms are pretty small but very clean modern furnished.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisites81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments and remarks.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I was at the Eden in January 2013. It was a works weekend away. The hotel is situated in a great position within the theatre district which leads to an abundance of places of interest as well as fantastic restaurants of varying tastes.
A beautifully imposing building commanding a great position.
The staff were very efficient and polite and always willing to advise. The hotel gave Internet access which helped in printing off return boarding passes which was great.
The rooms were a bit neat but sufficient with a modern feel to them. Beds were just heaven as were the showers which made you feel totally revitalised. The upper floors were served sufficiently with good lifts.
There was a mini bar in the room should you wish to use it but I thought it was very expensive. It had a good selection of internationally branded spirits, beers, chocolate and crisps etc. this is just added to your room and laid for on departure.
The bar was modern and funky with a huge selection of drinks. Very well stocked. The bar service was very formal but also polite. The prices are not for the faint hearted. I bought a large Bacardi and coke and a large Brandy and coke and it cost me 39 euros. Needless to say I did not hang around for long at the bar. ( my only real gripe ).
Breakfast was in the main dining hall which again had a fantastic feeling about it with its beautiful architecture and high ceilings and comfortable seating arrangements. Breakfast itself was your usual selection of cereal, toast, pastries, fruit juices, yoghurt etc as well as your pick from the hot trays, sausage
, bacon etc. all the hot food was fresh and not left to fester under heat lamps. It was continually topped up. Fantastic.
Tea and coffee was brought to you and you could refill as required. Again good attention to personal service.

The hotel was a great base for getting around and I can recommend a canal trip which is truly the best way to get around.

I was also captivated by the trams and cyclists as they gave the place the impression of a busy city going about its business. I even seen dogs on bikes ( with their owners of course ).

In summary, I would recommend the Hampshire to anyone but admittedly there are more cost effective solutions if you are on a budget. The hotel is worth the money but is not a budget hotel.

Treat yourself, you won't regret it

Tom c

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have just booked my fourth stay at this hotel :)

Amsterdam hotel rooms can be really pricey and I find that rooms are always great value at this hotel. The location is great and feels really safe. Its easy to find and has a big hotel feel which you can usually only get for double the price in Amsterdam. Breakfast is expensive - get breakfast at Greenwoods instead! I have booked for business and leisure, but wouldn't recommend for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nai82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us.
We are happy to hear that you had good stay.
Our breakfast price is based on the many product that we have, we would like to offer a special breakfast for everyone.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

There was 6 of us who stayed here for a long weekend. We were very surprised by how nice the hotel was! Very modern and warm décor. Big bar (which makes the best Pina Coladas). The room was nice.. Clean! The only thing which i thought was weird was the fact that they had pushed to singles together to make a double.. And two single duvets. Room service was available.

I thought the staff were Very friendly and helpful especially the concierge who booked us taxis and they can also store your luggage for the day when you check out.

The breakfast was nice.. But not good quality, but I suppose that's what you get when its a buffet feeding the whole hotel.

They had chipolatas, all kinds of juices, bacon, scrambled eggs, croissants, fruit, toast and mini pastries. Good coffee too.

Could never get a knife and fork though.

If you want to be in the centre of it all this is were you should stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas6192013, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
Don't forget to 'like' us on Facebook.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#143 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing