We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Missing the point” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #160 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Missing the point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed in the Hampshire Hotel on Rembrandt square for a 5 night visit late November early December. The room was very spacious, biggest I've stayed in, in 4 visits to Amsterdam, and decorated in a modern feel. The bed was not only comfortable but huge. While our room had very little natural light or a view it was pleasant and comfortable. The staff were, if a bit jumpy, very helpful. The location was excellent, a stone throw from Rembrandt square, which even when jumping on a Saturday night we could hear nothing from the room.

Unfortunately there were a few things that really ruined this stay.

The first was the tv, which had 3 English channels BBC2, BBC world news and euro news. Luckily it also had a radio channel, which while not in English, played many English songs and sufficed as background noise while we were in the room.

The 2nd issue was the bathroom, this had some funky modern frosted glass door, which looked nice but did nothing to dampen sound. We were also confused that there was on extractor fan in the bathroom, this made the room particularly uncomfortable after a couple of showers.

3rd the massive bed was actually 2 singles pushed together. While it was comfortable, we either had the choice of both squeezing onto 1 bed or lying each on a separate bed like we had booked a twin room.

The final issue was the lack of cleanliness, marks on the floor, balls of hair soap stains around the sink in the bathroom. I understand the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment at the moment (trust me I could hear them on the floor above) but at the price being paid I expected my room to be at the very least clean.

When I raised these issues at reception I was essential fobbed off nicely.

This hotel could be good, but just needs to concentrate on some of the details that it has very obviously missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your remarks and observations.
We will inform our departments about these matters.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    640
    316
    149
    102
See reviews for
123
768
91
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Rembrant Square is choc full of bars, resteraunts, and nightlife. The city is fairly walkable so you're not really far from anything. Redlight and Jordaan are probably the only two major sights that are 15 - 20 minutes away by walking.

Rooms were fine for my wife and I. Bathrooms were nice. Only thing I didn't like was having 2 twin beds pushed together. Which I found wasn't so unusual when we left here to go to Germany.

For the price I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, but had a view of the interior allyway. I don't know if any of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metalheadrr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We hope to welcome you again next time in our hotel.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

As the hotel is well located for IDFA (International Documentary Festival Amsterdam) events, our delegation stayed at the hotel for the 2nd year. We took 19 rooms single occupancy and I was glad that the WiFi had been substantially upgraded since last year as that really was a problem in 2012. Unfortunately it seems they have got worse than ever at servicing the rooms. While my colleague and I were apparently upgraded to an "Executive Room", both rooms 394 and 494 were really dirty.

On my arrival in the room, there was a dirty unwashed spoon and mug sitting as if they were clean for use, and the carpets in both rooms were really dirty. Room 394, which my colleague was in, stank horribly… I have no idea how he managed to sleep in it. I called down to reception, and they sent a rather rude man, with two clean cups. To my shock he never offered to take the dirty one!

However the worst thing was how dirty the floors were in both rooms (see pics). When on the 3rd night I got back to an un-made bed, and everything as I left it, I called the duty manager (Joroen), he apologised, and came by as I was about to shower with a voucher for two drinks (house whine, soft drink or beer only), and the cleaning lady did come round soon thereafter. I pointed to the dirty carpets, and she said: "Yes I know about that, but I can't clean that, I don't have any cleaning equipment for that". Can it be that a four star hotel has no means to clean stains and marks from carpets? Even so, the fact that the area around my basin was not cleaned for the duration of my 7 night stay is also shocking. In fact I don't even think they cleaned the toilet!

To add insult to this, on check out, the reception staffs' new computer system caused them endless problems, and delays, causing us to wait for a long time. I know that I had no extras to be billed to me, so was surprised when they said I made a phone call. After another few mins it was "reversed" as it was the call they diverted to the cell phone of the duty manager, which they wanted to bill me for! I have to say that it's not the level of service or hygiene I expect from a European 4 star hotel, and the "compensation" of the two drinks and the apology letter from the duty manager appears to have done little to actually deal with the issues in question.

The hotel has no swimming pool or fitness centre, but is well located next to Rembrandt Square. None of the rooms have any great views, and rather look onto alley ways or interior courtyards and ventilation areas. The fact that they have closed the hotels reception as they now only use the reception of the adjoining three star Eden hotel for all guests, does not exactly make you feel like a four star guest. I would really wish that the hotel staff take seriously when a guest does take the time to call the duty manager, especially about poor hygiene, and train their cleaning staff to report issues of dirty floors, basins and mugs, and to supply equipment to ensure things stay in good shape. Perhaps a supervisor should check rooms regularly if cleaning staff are not equipped to deal with issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Transmediaafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room and service.
We will use your comments to improve our level of service for next time and our next guests.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times over several years and really like it, it's in a great location, the first time I booked it because I wanted a hotel with a lift and there aren't a lot of hotels in Amsterdam have lifts, after staying here I always stay here now because it was exactly what we wanted , the staff, particularly the commissionaire are great, friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and kept stocked with tea and coffee and biscuits, the bathrooms are lovely, very up to date, the location of the hotel is great, as soon as you step outside it's only a few steps in any direction to bars, restaurants, coffee shops, there are street artists just across the road, there is loads of things to see and do in Amsterdam, it's a fabulous city and with such a short flight of under an hour from the UK, you can get to the hotel and be out and about in no time without feeling tired after the flight, highly recommended hotel and highly recommended city

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comments about your stay and our hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Bottom line, it is not four star quality.

Our first room was unclean with stains (not coffee or tea) on the "armchair". The carpet too was stained and cutlery unwashed. On the upside the bathroom was modern and very clean. Without a fuss, we were given a second room. It was fine though the double bed was small and being on the street side, noisy at night. Again, bathroom good. The daily cleaning was just ok.

The breakfast was good and the staff overall, were helpful.

Great location but standards not quite there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simont247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your observations and staying with us.
We are starting with a soft renovation in this month to improve our qualty.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having travelled Many hours to get there, arriving too soon for checkin, but having to fill 4+ hours was not a good way to start.
Entering the room, the odor was very much like someone had just used the toilet.
( after 3 days I figured out it may have been the toilet brush.)
While I hope that carpets have been cleaned in the last two years, if they have, and still look that stained and dirty, I would wish that they would be replaced. I would not go barefoot anywhere in the room. Even though it was serviced, it was never vacuumed.
The towels had a rinsed, not soap washed smell.
And, one and only time in the Netherlands, our room was on the 1st floor with a view of the roof of the atrium, surrounded by 4 floors of windows. No hint of what the real light outside was like. Again, a problem for somebody coming from the other hemisphere.
On the positive side, the beds were comfortable, and the staff generally helpful and pleasant.
Very disappointing for a once in a lifetime chance.

Room Tip: While the room was great for sleeping (little outside light and No outside noise), it also had no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your response about your stay with us.
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not comfortable.
We will check your comments with our departments, thank you for this.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maceio, AL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

As a brazilian, i thought was weird the reception be so far, but besides that everything was great.
The room was good, clean and ok. the bed was uncomfortable, but i don`t think i can jeopardize all the hotel beacuse of that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank bsalencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for posting this review regarding your stay with us.
Our staff is looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#148 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#170 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing