We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #168 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing quality”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Bottom line, it is not four star quality.

Our first room was unclean with stains (not coffee or tea) on the "armchair". The carpet too was stained and cutlery unwashed. On the upside the bathroom was modern and very clean. Without a fuss, we were given a second room. It was fine though the double bed was small and being on the street side, noisy at night. Again, bathroom good. The daily cleaning was just ok.

The breakfast was good and the staff overall, were helpful.

Great location but standards not quite there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simont247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your observations and staying with us.
We are starting with a soft renovation in this month to improve our qualty.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    706
    357
    177
    114
See reviews for
146
853
98
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having travelled Many hours to get there, arriving too soon for checkin, but having to fill 4+ hours was not a good way to start.
Entering the room, the odor was very much like someone had just used the toilet.
( after 3 days I figured out it may have been the toilet brush.)
While I hope that carpets have been cleaned in the last two years, if they have, and still look that stained and dirty, I would wish that they would be replaced. I would not go barefoot anywhere in the room. Even though it was serviced, it was never vacuumed.
The towels had a rinsed, not soap washed smell.
And, one and only time in the Netherlands, our room was on the 1st floor with a view of the roof of the atrium, surrounded by 4 floors of windows. No hint of what the real light outside was like. Again, a problem for somebody coming from the other hemisphere.
On the positive side, the beds were comfortable, and the staff generally helpful and pleasant.
Very disappointing for a once in a lifetime chance.

Room Tip: While the room was great for sleeping (little outside light and No outside noise), it also had no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your response about your stay with us.
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not comfortable.
We will check your comments with our departments, thank you for this.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Maceio, AL
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As a brazilian, i thought was weird the reception be so far, but besides that everything was great.
The room was good, clean and ok. the bed was uncomfortable, but i don`t think i can jeopardize all the hotel beacuse of that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank bsalencar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for posting this review regarding your stay with us.
Our staff is looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

In general the hotel was very good and the staff very friendly! The carpet in our room had a stain and the walls might need to be repainted but that did not affect our stay at all! We enjoyed the breakfast very much. The location was perfect for walking around the city and the value for money was excellent!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EleniZisimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit at the Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square.
We hope that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location but EUR 157 is too much for the small noisy rooms with 3 stars comfort at best. I pre booked online with all taxes included but still got a EUR 7 city tax surprise upon checkout. Unless I find a good last minute, I won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank jurganito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel.
The tax that you have paid at the check out is city tax.
That is another kind of tax that is not included in your room rate.
We hope that we informed you well in this matter.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hampshire Hotel, formerly know as the Eden Rembrandt is in an excellent location surrounded by restaurants, shops & buzzing night life. Having stayed there 2 times before I chose it again a third time when visiting Amsterdam with my boyfriend because of its location. The Hampshire boasts super rooms which are recently refurbished with a contemporary feel, they are spacious & with lovely bathrooms. It is a 15 minute walk from Centraal Station - or a 4 minute tram ride!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade. If they have rooms available they will do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are happy to hea that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Hopefully you will visit us again next time.

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I used to stay here a lot when i worked in Amsterdam 4 years ago, nice location, nice hotel and a nice vibe. I returned here last week for the first time in years to find two main issues. Firstly, the corridors of the hotel don't smell nice at all - my colleague also noticed this. Secondly, and more significantly, my room carpet had stains all over it - and i mean all over it. There must have been about 20 different stains. The white walls were also covered in scuff marks. I went to my colleagues room and it was the same, the only difference is that his room had leaves on the desk that had blown in from the open window.

Badly needs renovated...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwatt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for these observations!
We are sorry to hear dat you did not had a pleasant stay!
To inform you, we are starting with a soft renovation this month!
So our quality will be better!

Kind regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,526 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#240 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,398 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#204 of 367 in Amsterdam
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing