We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location, Nice Rooms, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #159 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Rooms, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is not to be confused with the EDEN Hampshire Hotel which shares the same ground floor lobby, staff, and other amenities. I stayed in both hotels - the Hampshire Rembrandt Square hotel rooms are newer, nicer, and have a water kettle with coffee/tea. The Eden hotel, by contrast, is in an older wing with worn hallway areas but updated rooms with no water kettle or coffee/tea facilities. (To switch to the Rembrandt Square hotel would be considered an upgrade). The location on Rembrandt Square is ideal since there is a tram stop a few minutes away, and Rembrandt Square is very centrally located. The staff is very helpful and knowledgable with free maps and directions. The front desk staff went out of their way to help me printing out some forms I needed to apply for a temporary passport. They also made some phone calls on my behalf to assist me. I would stay in either hotel again since the rooms are updated and comfortable, but prefer the newer Hampshire Rembrandt Square hotel over the Eden Hampshire Hotel because it is newer and I really need coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Hampshire Rembrandt Hotel over the Eden Hampshire Hotel since rooms are newer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvsior!
We hope to welcome you again1

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    638
    316
    148
    102
See reviews for
123
766
91
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for a young couple. Close to lots of good places to eat and the popular bars and nightclubs. We were able to walk everywhere in the city we wanted to go. When we arrived (10am) we were able to go directly to our room and we were very happy to find out that we had been upgraded (free) from a basic room to a suite on the top floor. The room was very clean and spacious! We had a corner unit with many windows and it was nice and quiet the whole trip. I would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam who wants to be centrally located and stay in complete comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkrusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks you for this compliment!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a great place to stay.Very well priced .Lovely bathroom.Very comfy beds lovely linen.Great location so close to trams shops.The staff very helpful stored our bags for us.loved having tea coffee making in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your response on tripadvisor!
we look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel seems very well organised to receive overseas travellers and the staff were very helpful with tips on directions around town and located close to many points of interest. Like others, I found the carpets a little dirty although this was not a major concern given our short stay and limited time in the room.

Check-in and out was pleasant and the bar downstairs was good for a quiet drink before heading out. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this to others who need a place in Amsterdam to call base-camp if they are spending the majority of their time visiting the millions of places that are close by!

I'd give this three stars but not quite four :-)

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!
We hope to welcome you again next time!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Despite his good location this is a real fake 4 stars hotel. First of all the 4 star part does not have an reception. This is common with a 3 stars hotel, Eden. Imagine entering in a hotel and you don't find any reception. You are redirected to another hotel , lower class to make the check in. Restaurant is common and at the level of 3 stars. Very crowded, tired equipment's, food every where. We preferred to serve the breakfast elsewhere because of the conditions. Rooms are very old, not cleaned properly. a lot of dust in the room, windows are very dirty. Nobody is cleaning the corners. A totally nightmare. The two elevators are not linked and all the time they are running empty. You don't have space in front of the hotel to unload the luggage.

Room Tip: Don't chose the rooms with inside view . The view is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our hotel
We will use your comments to improve our level of service in these matters, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my partners 29th birthday having booked with BA.

The hotel is fantastically located, its close to the tram stops and is a short walk from most attractions. Both the 4 and 9 tram go here from the Central station and it only takes a few minutes...you're a short walk away from the Dam Square, the Waterlooplein, and also the Ice Bar which saves on having to use public transport.

We had a room which had a view of the music hall so it was very quiet. The room was clean and the bathroom and toiletries were also clean and good quality -being a fan of Rituals I had no issues here. The only comment I would make about the room is that it had two single beds pushed together and two single duvets as opposed to a double bed which was a little frustrating given the occasion. Bed was comfy never the less and very quiet.

Breakfast was tasty with a good selection and the staff were very friendly.

I managed to get the WiFi to work both in the room and in the lobby which was very handy so I could check on things back home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great review!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a great few days in this brilliant city....Amsterdam. The Hampshire/Eden hotel was in a brilliant location just off Rebrandt Square. So easy to reach....we got the train from Schipol (4.80€) to Central station then the tram right outside to Rembrandt Square( 2.80€), easy much better than the 60€ the rest of the family paid!!. The check in was perfect and the room was ready early. It was a very noisy room as we were over the main Amstelstradt and when the windows were open we cold not hear each other. However, with windows closed of a night it was quite quiet. The bed was so comfy and we had a nice sized bathroom with a bath which was great after a long day sightseeing. The glass door to the bathroom was only a problem when someone was on the toilet....not a good view:( The minibar and snack plate was a bit of a nuisance as only moving things to one side caused a charge to your room. If you wanted the things removed from your mini bar this would have cost you 15€!! The breakfasts were adequate, buffet style, and something for everyone. Rembrandt Square was buzzing day and night and right in the door step. We had no complaints about staff as we only spoke to tem checking in and out with no problems and things taken off bill from sensitive minibar. I think this hotel needs a good make over and my only complaint was the cleanliness of the room was rough the bed linen etc was great but our room was shabbily cleaned coffee cups not replaced and left dirty spilages not cleaned, cholates bits on floor - not ours and the carpet was filthy and not hovered.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your response about your stay in our hotel.
First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room.
We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#171 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing