We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #170 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“comfortable and great value for money”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for 3 nights stay. good size rooms, comfortable beds, amamzing rainfall showers and lots of information. friendly and easy going staff. fantastic location, did not use public transport once. majority of attractions within walking decent. would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: one with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    684
    351
    173
    113
See reviews for
141
829
95
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was with a friend in December 2011. The location is the best because you can walk everywhere in the city. Anyway there are trans close to the hotel The rooms are quite good, the wifi connection should be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comments!
We will check our internet server to resolve this problem!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't expert anything above average and mean anything.
Rooms, service, reception check-in / out ,everything to a standard that would just about score 4 star.
If you want a very average 4 star hotel at a average price your love this.
Do not go looking or hoping for and frills

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotHotJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for these comments!
We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall we had our expectations met. Good size on the rooms, ours had windows towards the street, but that worked out fine. Breakfast was quite good, but you can eat just as well and cheaper outside which we did most mornings. Found an empty soda bottle under the bed by accident, but otherwise it didn't seem dirty. A hot tub as well. The provided soaps and such seemed quite good. Location is good, plenty of pubs and stuff on Rembrandtsplein.

So for the weird and stupid details:
The door locks at night, which makes getting in if you arrive late a little bit clumsy. The reception is quite far from the door...

The door to the bathroom is made of frosted glass and even sports only partial coverage of the door frame. Privacy? Well...

Weirdo automagic minibar. They expect a fee to empty it to allow you to cool your own stuff. Lukewarm water it is.

And finally the bathroom is tiled, and ours was not heated. Could not figure out how to turn it on. Visited in may, and the floor was ice-cold.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ketil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Knottila,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.


We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we stayed there last year November 2012 for 4 nights - Nov 4 to Nov 8 - room was in terrible state - lots of stains on the carpet - staff most unhelpful - nobody cared - front office staff could not care less - breakfast very expensive and very bad - never again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear guest(s),

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room/breakfast and our staff.
We will use your comments to improve our level of servicefor our next guest(s), thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!


Yours sincerely,
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam


Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4days in July, found reception staff abrupt and unhelpful (apart from a young girl with blonde hair) 1 of the concierge was helpful, the other ok. The room was disappointing, bad stains on the carpet and the bathroom was dirty. Asked for another pillow as it was very soft and lumpy, the maid had to ask permission from her supervisor!! The hotel was central but there are so many to choose from, I wouldn't book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mr/mrs Kay,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room and our staff.
We will use your comments to improve our level of service for our next guest(s) and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!


Warm regards,
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam


Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter Assels, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice hotel, good placement. Quiet environment, since there is no other traffic than trams, but still very central. There is a trams just outside the door. There are a lot of Places where you can get a beer, and get something to eat in quiet environment, but with a lot of people.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gitte Kammer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
909 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,850 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing