We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #170 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't expert anything above average and mean anything.
Rooms, service, reception check-in / out ,everything to a standard that would just about score 4 star.
If you want a very average 4 star hotel at a average price your love this.
Do not go looking or hoping for and frills

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotHotJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for these comments!
We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,805)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall we had our expectations met. Good size on the rooms, ours had windows towards the street, but that worked out fine. Breakfast was quite good, but you can eat just as well and cheaper outside which we did most mornings. Found an empty soda bottle under the bed by accident, but otherwise it didn't seem dirty. A hot tub as well. The provided soaps and such seemed quite good. Location is good, plenty of pubs and stuff on Rembrandtsplein.

So for the weird and stupid details:
The door locks at night, which makes getting in if you arrive late a little bit clumsy. The reception is quite far from the door...

The door to the bathroom is made of frosted glass and even sports only partial coverage of the door frame. Privacy? Well...

Weirdo automagic minibar. They expect a fee to empty it to allow you to cool your own stuff. Lukewarm water it is.

And finally the bathroom is tiled, and ours was not heated. Could not figure out how to turn it on. Visited in may, and the floor was ice-cold.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ketil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Knottila,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.


We will use your comments to improve our level of service, thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!

Kind regards,

Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we stayed there last year November 2012 for 4 nights - Nov 4 to Nov 8 - room was in terrible state - lots of stains on the carpet - staff most unhelpful - nobody cared - front office staff could not care less - breakfast very expensive and very bad - never again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear guest(s),

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room/breakfast and our staff.
We will use your comments to improve our level of servicefor our next guest(s), thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!


Yours sincerely,
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam


Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4days in July, found reception staff abrupt and unhelpful (apart from a young girl with blonde hair) 1 of the concierge was helpful, the other ok. The room was disappointing, bad stains on the carpet and the bathroom was dirty. Asked for another pillow as it was very soft and lumpy, the maid had to ask permission from her supervisor!! The hotel was central but there are so many to choose from, I wouldn't book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Mr/mrs Kay,

Thank you for taking the time to write to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam with regards to your experiences with our hotel. As we are constantly striving to improve our level of service we value our customers’ opinions and remarks. To ensure us of providing the expected hospitality and accommodations your observations are a vital part of this process and are therefore carefully considered.

First of all we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room and our staff.
We will use your comments to improve our level of service for our next guest(s) and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Thank you very much and may you have any questions please do not hesitate tot contact me!


Warm regards,
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam


Thomas Hoogervorst
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice hotel, good placement. Quiet environment, since there is no other traffic than trams, but still very central. There is a trams just outside the door. There are a lot of Places where you can get a beer, and get something to eat in quiet environment, but with a lot of people.


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gitte Kammer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked our flight and hotel as a package through avios. The hotel was in a very good location. The air con in our room was excellent and it was very quiet at night. We were on the fifth floor not overlooking the street. If we had the trams may have been noisy. The minibar was computerised and we were concerned that by moving items to put our own water in could create an expense. When we mentioned this at reception we were told that three items appeared to have been used. They then, at our request, emptied the minibar so there was no further problem and we could use it confidently for our water. The breakfast consisted of very nice food but the cooked items were ruined by overlooking. Maybe the chef needs instruction. Even the pan au chocolate were overcooked! We would still go back to this hotel. The reception staff were very helpful as we're the staff in the breakfast room. Other reviewers mentioned the noise from the ice machine. This did not seem to be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as it will be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights - before and after a cruise. When we checked in the first night they took our card infornation and preauthorized an amount, quite exceeding the room rate. The actual payment was then processed at checkout. Upon returning, we found that the bill had indeed been paid, but the first amount was still blocked on the card. I asked them to release the money, they filled a form and promised it would be cleared in a few days. This never happened.
I was lucky, it was just one night, but beware! Depending on how long your stay is, you might find substantial amounts blocked that they won't release and possibly ruin your vacation.
Also, noisy room and staff not overly friendly. Location is their only plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexionescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#119 of 371 in Amsterdam
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#150 of 371 in Amsterdam
85 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#243 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $167 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing