We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square)
Ranked #159 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. I was there with many colleagues and we were more than welcome to visit with each other for many hours in main lobby area. Breakfast was more than plenty. The rooms were very clean, although not the largest, for 2 single travelers in the same room. We were able to open the window and let the fresh are in when we wanted to. Very Nice!!

Room Tip: We did not have a corner suite, although another colleague did and it was very roomy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We only stayed the one night but the staff were certainly friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and the half frosted bathroom door (some have already mentioned before) was certainly not a problem for us. We were also at the front of the Hotel and yes, it was noisy outside for well into the night so be warned, as this could be a problem for some - however it didn't bother us. The fact the room had no Internet was slightly annoying but we really managed fine without it. Breakfast was well laid out and much to choose from and I loved the coffee - which is certainly unusual as I am normally a tea drinker!. All in all, a well situated Hotel right in the centre of the city, close to Rembrandt Square and the Tram stops. Various shops, cafes and attractions are certainly all within walking distance too.

Room Tip: Opt for a quiet room at the back to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eclizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and were very pleased with our stay. The most positive thing about Hampshire Hotel is it's location. We could walk to all the places we wanted to go in Amsterdam, and the Rembrandt Square has many cafe's/restaurants where you can sit down and relax.

We did not try the hotel's breakfast as we found it too expensive. Instead we bought some sandwiches, wraps or salads and enjoyed this in the park by the hotel. Our room was surprisingly large, with a soft and comfortable bed. But the pillows were a bit too big, and the door to the bathroom were almost able to see through. This can feel a bit weird if you are traveling with friends or family. I also missed wi-fi in the rooms, but the internet down in the lobby worked well most of the time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Having regularly visited Amsterdam for over 2 decades I have over the years stayed in many a different hotel across a number of differing budget levels. Overall this Hotel has been the best to date and would seriously consider again at the right price.

I would guess that our room was refurbished in the last 18 months so had modern fixtures and fittings, and was of a reasonably size for the Dam. In my opinion the location was bang on...near but not on top of the nightlife!!..Very nice restaurant and piano bar within the hotel that was open til the early hours..all in all couldn't fault it....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bracebridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hampshire suited our purposes for our few days in Amsterdam. It was easy to find on Tram 9 and around the corner from busy Rembrandt Square. The room was clean, and quite spacious, but we weren't there to be in our room. Breakfast was slightly chaotic, but it was a Sunday morning. However, tables were not being cleaned up quickly enough and foods were not being replenished regularly. So on our other days, we went to a lovely Starbucks around the corner and had free Internet and nice pancakes!! The Hampshire has no Internet in the rooms which is a problem as we had to stay in the lobby to connect-it is free. The day we arrived was quite hot and the receptionist forgot to tell us that the air con on our floor was broken, she did, however organise a fan for us. All in all, an ok stay for a large city.

Room Tip: Ask about the air con in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

not a great experience, i had expected better at four stars. the room is tiny, the aircon too weak and the mattress a desaster, way too soft. the wifi was never available inside our room but only on the corridor. great breakfast, but that does not cut it for me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandemanSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square), responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for providing us with your feedback, it enables us to improve our service and product, something we always wish to do. We are very sorry to learn your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and do hope you will look back on your trip to Amsterdam as a pleasant one.

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently and enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam very much. This hotel is in a convenient location, near the Rembrandt square but far enough from it to avoid its noise. It is a nice area to walk around and near all the canals and restaurants. The room was a decent size and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a good bed and T V. The fridge is filled with drinks so there isn't much or any space to use it for personal food and drinks. There is no wi fi in the rooms which is a minus, some in the lobby but only in certain places so I didn't bother. Overall, we thought it to be pretty good value for Amsterdam which is a pricey city, probably would reconsider it for another stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Didn't try the breakfast but would suggest you by from the supermarkets and eat in the room unless you are fussy about your breakfast. Our room looked over the garden of a heritage house across the road which was nice to look at.


Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KeeponKrusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square), responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review for Tripadvisor. We are pleased to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel and beautiful city. I am afraid something has gone wrong with your free WiFi though, our lobby and other public spaces have free WiFi, so do most of our rooms. Please ask for help on your next trip. We hope to be able to welcome you back real soon!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Hotel Amsterdam
#175 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,041 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#60 of 376 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
American Hotel Amsterdam
#76 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,347 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square)

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $155 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square) 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hotel Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing