We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square)
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Atlanta Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Monopole(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,872)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveler rating
461
734
375
187
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
734
375
187
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationeden hotelmini barfrosted glassnice hotelflower marketamstel riverjunior suitebars and restaurantscentral locationtram stopred light districtconciergenightlifestopseurope
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great hotel local to all of the attractions. Rooms were very clean and staff were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Although check in was not until 3pm you could leave your bags in a secure room, until the room was ready. This meant you could explore Amsterdam without taking all your baggage with you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bev_genuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square), responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your comments on tripadvisor.com. We are, of course, delighted to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. We wish you all the best until then!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location. Could walk to the hotel from the train station. Myself and my partner rented bikes for the 4 days we were visiting so to the main square was only a 5 min bike journey. The tram passes the front door of hotel also. Red light district is 10 min walk from hotel. Breakfast was fantastic. Great selection of foods. We were told our room was upgraded. It was clean and very contemporary. The door on the bathroom was clear and frosted glass only. A little strange! Had dinner in the hotel the night we arrived and was lovely. Would def stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekeane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square), responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review for Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time in our hotel. We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here with 3 friends late Feb. Really good location; off the main Damrak 'drag' and about a 15 minute walk from central station. Pretty esay to find-head down Damrak and onto Rokin, then cross over to the left and cut through Amstellstrat. You'll find there are some very helpful and polite homeless guys that will give you directions if you get stuck- of course they expect a couple of euros!

Checking in was easy and eficient but they do want a 100 Euro deposit for damages. I can only guess this is aimed at the stag parties, which we were-but not a rowdy group by any means.

The room was a good size and very clean with modern decor. The bathroom is also spacious. The door is frosted with no lock-something to bare in mind if you are with friends rather than partners!

We didn't have breakfast because it was 16 Euros a day, very expensive in my opinion! We would recommend a cafe a few minutes walk round to waterlooplein next to the flee market (turn left out of the hotel, over the canal, and you'll soon see it). Less than 10 euros for ham eggs on toast and a coffee- yum!

Bed was comfortable and a goo selection of toiletries in the bathroom. It was also nice to have a kettle with tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

Location is at Rembrantplein, there is plenty of bars, restaurants and Brown coffee shops in the area. The red light district is about a 10 minute walk away. There is a concentration of gay bars in this area as well.

Check out was easy and we were all satisfied with the hotel overall. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vapour84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square), responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on tripadvisor.com. We are very happy to learn you had such a wonderful time in our hotel and our city. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Until then, we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

P.S. Please keep in mind for your next trip that we offer you a discount for advance booking of breakfast. Also if you do not wish to walk from Central Station you can take tram 9 which stops on Rembrandt Square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this hotel! No really I do!

Every time I visit Amsterdam I make sure I check out the Hampshire as my first choice. I have stayed here over 5 times and each time was a pleasure. From check-in to check out the experience was always superb.

The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The bathroom is spotless and the Rituals bath products you really feel you are being looked after. Nothing is too big a deal for the staff, and if you request something they delivery it promptly and with a smile.

The location of the hotel is very central with a wonderful view over the canal. Tram lines are 2 mins walk from the front door, and there is a lot to see in the surrounding area.

If you are looking for a central hotel, that has great room and an excellent breakfast then look no further!

The Hampshire Hotel has it all, and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square), responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review for Tripadvisor.com. I am delighted to learn you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel and that you are such a regular guest. I thank you for your very kind words and truly hope to be able to welcome you in person during your next stay in Amsterdam!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for my husband and i and we stayed from 9-11 March, and we had a wonderful time!!!
When we arrived despite it pouring if rain, we were met at reception by a very friendly receptionist which is always a good start. We couldn't check in until 3pm so had a walk about which usually we wouldn't mind, although the rain put us off a bit ...... But hotel couldn't help this.

We stayed in room 182 and the room was very modern And clean, although the only little niggle i had was i felt as though the heating didn't work to well and felt a bit chilly!!!

Breakfast was brilliant, with lots of choice really couldn't fault it!!!!!

We would live to return to Amsterdam and would definitely stay here again, well worth the money and in an ideal location

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam (formerly known as Hampshire Hotel Rembrandt Square), responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review for Tripadvisor. We are delighted you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel. We thank you for your friendly words and hope to be able to welcome you back real soon!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

P.S. We will check the heater in your room, thank you for mentioning it. If you feel you could need some technical assistance in the future, please just the let the reception desk know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews