We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Holiday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Ranked #167 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 12, 2013

When to Amsterdam for a 4 day holiday. The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the main train station.
The hotel staff were very good and polite, The rooms very clean and you could see its very well kept. We did not eat at the Hotel Restaurant but there always people eating. All in all excellent value for money.. Will be staying there again..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flash12134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel and hope to welcome you again on your next trip. Thank you very much for your friendly words!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this hotel. It is in a great location. Less than 10 minutes on the lijn 9 tram from Central Station.
The rooms are clean,bright and modern.
The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to accommodate your request.
Natascha , who is on the breakfast room reception in the mornings even reconized me.Her English is brilliant and made us very welcome.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The noise from the trams on the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper can be a bit annoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review on www.tripadvisor.com. We are, of course, delighted to read you are such a satisfied and regular guest in our hotel and that you intend to keep coming back. We will pass your compliments on to our staff and specifically to Natascha. I hope to be able to welcome you personally on your next trip. If you have any special questions or recommendations, please feel free to ask for me. In the meanwhile we wish you all the best!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was a nice hotel but there was alot of noise on the street (we were staying on the third floor) so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room on the upper floors.

The rooms were tidy, bath room was clean. Housekeeping forgot to take away used cups of coffee though.

The hotel is located near alot of museums (hermitage,foam,...) and also near the regulierendwarsstraat. The location was the main reason we chose this hotel.

Also easily reachable from the central station with tram (about 10 mins)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dymse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel. We are happy to learn it was pleasant and that you appreciated the location so much. We are indeed in the middle of all the action, we hope the city's noises did not bother you too much. We will be looking forward to welcome you again in the near future. Until then, we wish you all the best!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel was a little difficult to find as it is just off the square but after asking for directions, we found it easily. It is in a fairly central location and is just over a half hour walk from the train station. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom and the twin beds were very comfortable. The only problem we found was that the pillows were square and quite thick, I ended up sleeping without one as no alternative was available.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to learn you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel. We do hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future . Please know you will not have to walk from Central Station if you do not want to, you can just take tram 9 to Rembrandtplein. For now, we wish you all the best for 2013!

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is good, although the building is just off the square and we had an issue with a taxi driver not being able to find the entrance.

My check in experience was poor. I arrived at 12.30 and they did not have a room available til 2pm. I ended up paying for exec upgrades for all of our party, strangely these rooms were available.

The rooms were good - a little strange in terms of decor but perfectly nice. The bathroom was fantastic with a great shower and seperate WC.

The free wifi only works in the lobby. I really dislike hotels advertising wifi free, only to turn up and find it only works if you sit on top of the reception. Also be warned that this hotel uses an electronic mini bar system, and other members of my party ended up with large bills and check out arguments over moving items but not taking them. Not great service.

There are much better hotels in Amsterdam - this one is fine, but the service was poor and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

We like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is important to us as we continuously strive to improve our service.

We (and any third party bookers involved) inform our guests as best as we can on the terms and conditions of their booking. Therefore we are sorry to learn you missed some necessary information on check-in time (3 PM) and our mini-bar charging system. Surely enough we always do our utmost to accommodate our guests, for instance by providing early check-in possibilities when we have clean rooms available. It is correct that we only have free WiFi in the lobby at this point. We do have free cable internet access in all rooms though, and we are happy to inform you that we will have free WiFi throughout the entire hotel by spring 2013.

We thank you once again and like to take the opportunity to wish you all the best for the new year!

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel was nice and clean. Good size room and bathroom. Very comfy bed. Handy walking distance to all shops and attractions. Very helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so such much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel! Thank you very much for your kind comments and we will be looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived at about 1pm and despite check in being from 3pm we were lucky that our room was ready for us. We had a lovely room on the top floor. The bathroom had rather odd frosted glass doors which was not a problem for us, but you need to be comfortable with your room mate to stay here! We had a bath with a shower over. The bath was large and deep and the supply of hot water was constant. The shower was also good. The bed was two singles pushed together, which we actually prefer as it means you don't get the 'roll together' that you sometimes find with hotel beds. I have a small complaint here in that the beds were very soft, however, this is all personal preference and I just prefer harder beds. The headboard was large and padded and made it very comfortable to sit in bed and read or watch TV. The TV had lots of channels including Sky News, BBC1 & 2 as well as French, Italian, Dutch and even Chinese channels. There was a mini bar but ours was locked. I expect you can call down to reception to get it unlocked but we didn't want it anyway. There is also an in room safe which is of great use. When we entered the room we found that the window was locked. After unpacking and going down to reception on our way back out we spoke to reception and they advised us that they would unlock it but we had to sign a form to say that if we fell out we would be responsible and also that we wouldn't smoke (all hotel rooms in Amsterdam are non-smoking and if you do smoke there is a €150 fee to deep clean the room). The heating in the room was of individual control and worked quickly and efficiently. Our room overlooked another building which we didn't mind as it meant the room was very quiet with that and the fact that the curtains block out all the light meant that we had some well deserved lie ins during our 3 night stay! The Wi-Fi is only available in the reception area, but apparently will be hotel wide by Spring 2013. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on that.
Location wise the hotel is just off of Rembrandt Square and is convenient for all parts of Amsterdam. Centraal Station is about a 20 minute walk away or you can jump on trams 9 or 14. The red light district is a similar distance and Leidseplein and Museumplein are a similar walk in the opposite direction.
A good tip is to go to the Iamsterdam information at Schiphol airport and buy a tram pass for the duration of your visit. We bought a 96 hour one for only €20 each and they were invaluable. Great for if your feet can just carry you no further, you are caught in a downpour, you get lost or just to get about. I have lost count of the number of visits I have had to Amsterdam and I still discover someting new everytime. Next time I return it will definitely be to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angellore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. Your extensive feedback must be of great use to future visitors to Amsterdam! We are also happy to learn you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that we will be able to welcome you again in the future. When you have a problem with the minibar during a next visit, just ring our reception desk, because after check-in it should open automatically.

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 372 in Amsterdam
991 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#139 of 372 in Amsterdam
108 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#246 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $163 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready for Amsterdam? At Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square on the famous Rembrandtplein, everything Amsterdam has to offer is on your doorstep. The ideal starting point for a day visiting museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Hermitage), wandering over Waterlooplein, cycling through the seventeenth century city centre, sailing through the canals, sitting at one of the pavement cafes on Rembrandtplein and visiting trendy local bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing