We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,935)
Filter reviews
1,935 results
Traveler rating
478
757
387
190
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
757
387
190
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hampshire hotel great location mini bar frosted glass nice hotel flower market amstel river junior suite bars and restaurants central location tram stop red light district concierge nightlife stops europe
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 1,935 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is good, although the building is just off the square and we had an issue with a taxi driver not being able to find the entrance.

My check in experience was poor. I arrived at 12.30 and they did not have a room available til 2pm. I ended up paying for exec upgrades for all of our party, strangely these rooms were available.

The rooms were good - a little strange in terms of decor but perfectly nice. The bathroom was fantastic with a great shower and seperate WC.

The free wifi only works in the lobby. I really dislike hotels advertising wifi free, only to turn up and find it only works if you sit on top of the reception. Also be warned that this hotel uses an electronic mini bar system, and other members of my party ended up with large bills and check out arguments over moving items but not taking them. Not great service.

There are much better hotels in Amsterdam - this one is fine, but the service was poor and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

We like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is important to us as we continuously strive to improve our service.

We (and any third party bookers involved) inform our guests as best as we can on the terms and conditions of their booking. Therefore we are sorry to learn you missed some necessary information on check-in time (3 PM) and our mini-bar charging system. Surely enough we always do our utmost to accommodate our guests, for instance by providing early check-in possibilities when we have clean rooms available. It is correct that we only have free WiFi in the lobby at this point. We do have free cable internet access in all rooms though, and we are happy to inform you that we will have free WiFi throughout the entire hotel by spring 2013.

We thank you once again and like to take the opportunity to wish you all the best for the new year!

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel was nice and clean. Good size room and bathroom. Very comfy bed. Handy walking distance to all shops and attractions. Very helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so such much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay in our hotel! Thank you very much for your kind comments and we will be looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived at about 1pm and despite check in being from 3pm we were lucky that our room was ready for us. We had a lovely room on the top floor. The bathroom had rather odd frosted glass doors which was not a problem for us, but you need to be comfortable with your room mate to stay here! We had a bath with a shower over. The bath was large and deep and the supply of hot water was constant. The shower was also good. The bed was two singles pushed together, which we actually prefer as it means you don't get the 'roll together' that you sometimes find with hotel beds. I have a small complaint here in that the beds were very soft, however, this is all personal preference and I just prefer harder beds. The headboard was large and padded and made it very comfortable to sit in bed and read or watch TV. The TV had lots of channels including Sky News, BBC1 & 2 as well as French, Italian, Dutch and even Chinese channels. There was a mini bar but ours was locked. I expect you can call down to reception to get it unlocked but we didn't want it anyway. There is also an in room safe which is of great use. When we entered the room we found that the window was locked. After unpacking and going down to reception on our way back out we spoke to reception and they advised us that they would unlock it but we had to sign a form to say that if we fell out we would be responsible and also that we wouldn't smoke (all hotel rooms in Amsterdam are non-smoking and if you do smoke there is a €150 fee to deep clean the room). The heating in the room was of individual control and worked quickly and efficiently. Our room overlooked another building which we didn't mind as it meant the room was very quiet with that and the fact that the curtains block out all the light meant that we had some well deserved lie ins during our 3 night stay! The Wi-Fi is only available in the reception area, but apparently will be hotel wide by Spring 2013. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on that.
Location wise the hotel is just off of Rembrandt Square and is convenient for all parts of Amsterdam. Centraal Station is about a 20 minute walk away or you can jump on trams 9 or 14. The red light district is a similar distance and Leidseplein and Museumplein are a similar walk in the opposite direction.
A good tip is to go to the Iamsterdam information at Schiphol airport and buy a tram pass for the duration of your visit. We bought a 96 hour one for only €20 each and they were invaluable. Great for if your feet can just carry you no further, you are caught in a downpour, you get lost or just to get about. I have lost count of the number of visits I have had to Amsterdam and I still discover someting new everytime. Next time I return it will definitely be to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angellore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. Your extensive feedback must be of great use to future visitors to Amsterdam! We are also happy to learn you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that we will be able to welcome you again in the future. When you have a problem with the minibar during a next visit, just ring our reception desk, because after check-in it should open automatically.

Kindest regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I have been travelling to Amsterdam annually for over 10 years - in fact my first trip was in 1986! This hotel is right near the main shopping area of Kalvestraat and surrounded by lots of restaurants and cafes. It is a 15 min walk from Centraal Station or longer if you stop in the shops on the way to your hotel (like we did!). tram numbers 4 and 9 run close by to the hotel every 10 mins. The rooms are very good quality - minimalist - greys and browns. Tea and coffee making facilities and a minibar are available. The shower is to die for!! The heating is controlled in the room and again, was very good - heating the room very quickly. Make sure that you ask for a quiet room if you want a good's night rest - last year we didn't and we were disturbed throughout the night by people going home and then in the early morning by deliveries to the many bars and restaurants. I am a creature of habit (and comfort!) so will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel! We are happy that you are "a creature of habit and comfort", and that we will able to welcome you back next year. We wish you all the best in the meantime!

Warm regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel has two entrance, one from the canal side and the other from rembrandt square side. we thought we will be staying in a guesthouse type place but at the same price ended up here, I personally like more homely accommodation when in vacation but this was a big hotel. Nonetheless, we had nice reception when checking in, the girl gave us a map and pointed out all the things. Didnt take breakfast, the square had all good cafes etc. its a bit of a walk from RLD, Dam square, not that it will kill you. Hotel had these arrows around everywhere which meant something, but after a visit back from the coffeshops (a few puffs of super shank :) ) these arrows became some weird illusion :) very tight security, good arrangement, friendly stuff... over all good

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SajidRMatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert P, Manager at Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor and for staying with us! Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam is indeed a four star de luxe hotel. We are happy to learn that our hotel was to your liking and that you had a pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Robert Pelt
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews