We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just barely qualifies as a 'hotel', closer to a hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Veteran
Ranked #178 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just barely qualifies as a 'hotel', closer to a hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We knew what we were getting into with The Veteran, thanks to the online comments here, before we arrived. The Veteran barely qualifies as a hotel, it is certainly LOW LOW LOW LOW budget. The room was clean, although the walls were dirty with gum (in one instance) and dead mosquitos plastered on the walls. The room was squishy and cramped. The room thankfully did have it's own sink, which was extremely useful as the communal wash closet (one toilet, sink, one shower) served at least 10 people. If you need quiet when you sleep this isn't the place for you as the hotel is located right next to a coffee shop, bars and clubs. I also think that the price we paid was too much for the room and hotel itself. All in all, I'd stay here again but for no more than one or two nights MAX.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natbassili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    42
    19
    33
See reviews for
7
42
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a really good hotel. It is just off Rembrandtplein, which is one of the biggest party places. It can get a little noisy on weekend nights, but given the convenience, we didn't mind. It is just 4 stops from Amsterdam Centraal, if you're getting into the city by train.

The room was nice, clean and decently sized. The attached bathroom was good too. The breakfast served was sufficient and value for money.

The Chinese couple running the place were helpful, resourceful and probably the only people in all of Europe who offered to carry our bags to our rooms (reminded us of hospitality in Asia :)). I booked well in advance, so got a really good price for a double room with attached bathroom.

If I were to go back to Amsterdam, I would definitely stay here another time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santanu_Bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Well not the best but really enjoyed it here , top breakfast staff are nice , I would defiantly go again great value for the money , rooms not the best but you get what you pay for , still I had some of the best times here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had to find another hotel because our original hostel The Flying Pig (awesome!) did not have enough room for our last night in Amsterdam. But this place is disgusting. There was blood on the comforter, the extra twin bed had a hole in the middle and it did not feel safe at all.

Additionally the staff cannot speak a word of English even though they advertise that they can! They did not understand that I needed help getting a Taxi to the airport in the morning. Finally I just took my bags down the street to the plaza to a fancy hotel and they arranged a taxi for me for free at 4am. So alone, I had to walk to ANOTHER hotel.

The location is on a fun square but I highly recommend the Central Station area more.

I am totally used to low budget hostels but this place was terrible. It's been a while since I stayed here and I still get the creeps. Ug.

Room Tip: Specifically ask not to have the downstairs front room. Drunks walk by all night long a foot from yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madison619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

GOOD: Spent 5 days here and I really liked it. Inexpensive and right on the corner of Rembrandt with a beautiful canal view. So nice to wake up to that. There are a lot of restaurants and bars when you set foot outside which can make it a little noisy but you can just close the window. Stayed in a room with 4 beds with friends. All single beds, very comfy and the room was cleaned often. Although they cleaned once while we were out which I didn't really care for. The staff was lovely. You are given a key for the front door and the door downstairs. Small tv on the wall with a lot of English speaking channels like MTV.

BAD: wasnt really informed about city tax but I guess i should have known that before. the 9th stair is literally eye level which gives you an idea about the size of stairs. Really scary at night when you are tired or drunk. I wouldnt call it a hotel...not sure why its called that. ALSO BED BUGS. not fun.

Stayed Aug 2013.

Would def go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daydreamer234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from spending just under a week in Amsterdam with my girlfriend. We had room 1 in the Veteran which had a beautiful canal view. I really liked the room and architecture of the building. We had a double bed, chest of draws, sink and a small tv. Perfect for a short stay. It was cold in the morning and sometimes at night but didn't bother us to much. The bathroom is shared and was usually pretty clean just awkward when waiting for people to finish showering when you want to go out. The staircase is very steep and small but I liked it and added a nice quirk to the hostel. Some people may not appreciate it and or struggle getting up and down. It's located in Thorbeckeplein just of Rembrantplein. Great location you can get to most things in Amaterdam by walking as we did. The breakfast is continental and I really liked what they offered us friendly staff and willing to help with anything. It is advertised as a Hotel but it certainly is not. It's a Hostel. We could smell weed regularly not sure if it was the coffee shop next door or the other residents in the hostel.. I think it was the latter. Overall good place to crash for a short break, don't book if you are expecting "Hotel" standards. I will certainly return if I go back to Amaterdam again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeiam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked Hotel Veteran for me and my boyfriend, first off it is more of a hostel! We enjoyed it and liked our room which overlooked the canal, location is very central and in a really nice area, Rembrandt can get very noisy at night and is full of pubs, clubs and restaurants but we seemed to sleep through it! Breakfast was basic continental but all we wanted. Bad points are there is a shared bathroom, it was clean the majority of the time but just annoying when you have to wait for others to finish before you can shower. The hotel smelt strongly of weed, not sure if this was the coffee shop next door or our neighbours being naughty! The stairs are very steep which didn't bother us but might others. Overall we had a good stay here and would definitely stay here again if we ever come back to Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred
The Alfred
#241 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#175 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#85 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Hostel Slotania
#175 of 219 in Amsterdam
2.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Property: The Veteran
Address: Herengracht 561, 1017 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Budget Places and Booking.com so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing