We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hostel for a short break. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Veteran
Ranked #177 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hostel for a short break. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from spending just under a week in Amsterdam with my girlfriend. We had room 1 in the Veteran which had a beautiful canal view. I really liked the room and architecture of the building. We had a double bed, chest of draws, sink and a small tv. Perfect for a short stay. It was cold in the morning and sometimes at night but didn't bother us to much. The bathroom is shared and was usually pretty clean just awkward when waiting for people to finish showering when you want to go out. The staircase is very steep and small but I liked it and added a nice quirk to the hostel. Some people may not appreciate it and or struggle getting up and down. It's located in Thorbeckeplein just of Rembrantplein. Great location you can get to most things in Amaterdam by walking as we did. The breakfast is continental and I really liked what they offered us friendly staff and willing to help with anything. It is advertised as a Hotel but it certainly is not. It's a Hostel. We could smell weed regularly not sure if it was the coffee shop next door or the other residents in the hostel.. I think it was the latter. Overall good place to crash for a short break, don't book if you are expecting "Hotel" standards. I will certainly return if I go back to Amaterdam again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeiam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    42
    19
    33
See reviews for
7
42
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked Hotel Veteran for me and my boyfriend, first off it is more of a hostel! We enjoyed it and liked our room which overlooked the canal, location is very central and in a really nice area, Rembrandt can get very noisy at night and is full of pubs, clubs and restaurants but we seemed to sleep through it! Breakfast was basic continental but all we wanted. Bad points are there is a shared bathroom, it was clean the majority of the time but just annoying when you have to wait for others to finish before you can shower. The hotel smelt strongly of weed, not sure if this was the coffee shop next door or our neighbours being naughty! The stairs are very steep which didn't bother us but might others. Overall we had a good stay here and would definitely stay here again if we ever come back to Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Dangerous stairs!
Nobody came around to clean the room or change the sheets/towels for all the 3 nights we stayed in this Hostel (it is not an Hotel).
Lovely view on the canal and really cool Location nearby everything.
Perfect for first timer in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Regarding the reviews i read in advance i was a bit scared what to expect, but my arriving at the hotel my bad feeling proved to be wrong. I could check in my room at 10 a.m even tough checking in was at 2 p.m, the room was tidy, nice and clean (no duvet and cover tough, just a sheet and blankets), and had a great view at the gracht. i however i was in the first room, which was great because i didn't have to climb up the very narrow and steep stairs that could be very dangerous even when sober, so watch out party people. The shared bathroom was ok, but the toilet and the shower were in the same room, so especially when you have a shower in the morning the floor is wet and you should bring flipflops if you mind showering on a relatively dirty floor. The shower is ok in the afternoon tough. also when i wanted to use the bathroom, it was always free, and there was a sink in our room so you only have to go there to the toilet or take a shower. As we booked the hotel 2 weeks before the trip, it was by far the cheapest offer we got and we don't complain about not having our own bathroom because of that, because if you compare to other amsterdam hotels or even hostels it was a great deal. If you are a light sleeper (which I am) you should bring ear plugs, it is very noisy and when someone climbs the staircase it sounds like they are in your room. I recommend wax ear plugs (which you can buy at any amsterdam drug store) as they were fine for me. Breakfast was included and really exceeded my expectations, a plain continental breakfast but good toastbread and coffee (and i am really picky usually).
Oh but apparently the room of other people that stayed there at the same time wasn't clean, but they didn't go into detail. Ours was fine, and I've got a high standard as I am from Switzerland.
Oh and for couples: i travelled with my friend, the veteran is maybe not for couples as you can REALLY hear everything ;)

Room Tip: We had room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank X Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is right in the corner, not far from Rembrandt Square. There's bar, coffee shop, restaurant just right next door. The steps to room and bathroom is a bit challenging. But everything is clean and they serve breakfast too. Quite a bargain. Wear earplugs if you want to sleep since the noise from outside is quite loud during the night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer_Better
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

it's a very strange hostel: the position is perfect, just in center of Amsterdam, and breakfast in included. My room was double with shared bathroom: very clean, the bathroom too. Quite hot, because we were in "the attic". And yes...climbing skills are required to get to your room. But I don't really have anything to complain about. Nice and quite cheap (72€ per room per night).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nico a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred
The Alfred
#242 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#177 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#85 of 219 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Hostel Slotania
#175 of 219 in Amsterdam
2.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Property: The Veteran
Address: Herengracht 561, 1017 BW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing