We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for us, but maybe not everyone”
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Veteran
Ranked #191 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Regarding the reviews i read in advance i was a bit scared what to expect, but my arriving at the hotel my bad feeling proved to be wrong. I could check in my room at 10 a.m even tough checking in was at 2 p.m, the room was tidy, nice and clean (no duvet and cover tough, just a sheet and blankets), and had a great view at the gracht. i however i was in the first room, which was great because i didn't have to climb up the very narrow and steep stairs that could be very dangerous even when sober, so watch out party people. The shared bathroom was ok, but the toilet and the shower were in the same room, so especially when you have a shower in the morning the floor is wet and you should bring flipflops if you mind showering on a relatively dirty floor. The shower is ok in the afternoon tough. also when i wanted to use the bathroom, it was always free, and there was a sink in our room so you only have to go there to the toilet or take a shower. As we booked the hotel 2 weeks before the trip, it was by far the cheapest offer we got and we don't complain about not having our own bathroom because of that, because if you compare to other amsterdam hotels or even hostels it was a great deal. If you are a light sleeper (which I am) you should bring ear plugs, it is very noisy and when someone climbs the staircase it sounds like they are in your room. I recommend wax ear plugs (which you can buy at any amsterdam drug store) as they were fine for me. Breakfast was included and really exceeded my expectations, a plain continental breakfast but good toastbread and coffee (and i am really picky usually).
Oh but apparently the room of other people that stayed there at the same time wasn't clean, but they didn't go into detail. Ours was fine, and I've got a high standard as I am from Switzerland.
Oh and for couples: i travelled with my friend, the veteran is maybe not for couples as you can REALLY hear everything ;)

Room Tip: We had room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is right in the corner, not far from Rembrandt Square. There's bar, coffee shop, restaurant just right next door. The steps to room and bathroom is a bit challenging. But everything is clean and they serve breakfast too. Quite a bargain. Wear earplugs if you want to sleep since the noise from outside is quite loud during the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

it's a very strange hostel: the position is perfect, just in center of Amsterdam, and breakfast in included. My room was double with shared bathroom: very clean, the bathroom too. Quite hot, because we were in "the attic". And yes...climbing skills are required to get to your room. But I don't really have anything to complain about. Nice and quite cheap (72€ per room per night).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nico a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Amsterdam
39
Reviewed June 22, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place was perfect for me and my husband. Conveniently located, good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. We overslept one morning and missed the 11 am checkout, and the staff was so nice about it- didn't charge us or anything. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Coronation day of the new king. A bit curious after the bad reviews on this site. We stayed in the four persons room with bath and toilet. Good beds , clean sheets , old but clean bathroom. Around the corner of Rembrandt Square , so not directly above the noise. Friendly manager, simple but okay breakfast . Absolutely value for money.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paulus_WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back, was not expecting much and for the price it would be probably all right (if not the extra guests - yes bed bugs come free of charge). Really basic setup- depending on the room. Entrance to some rooms requires a bit of rock climbing skills - stairs are fairy steep so getting into the room maybe a challenge after night out. Rooms facing Thorbeckeplain are bit on the loud side as there are pubs and coffee shops galore around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Done_T_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,634 reviews
Hostelle
#35 of 242 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $72 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — The Veteran 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing