We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Veteran

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Veteran
Ranked #181 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Girdwood, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place was perfect for me and my husband. Conveniently located, good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. We overslept one morning and missed the 11 am checkout, and the staff was so nice about it- didn't charge us or anything. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    42
    19
    33
See reviews for
7
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woudenberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Coronation day of the new king. A bit curious after the bad reviews on this site. We stayed in the four persons room with bath and toilet. Good beds , clean sheets , old but clean bathroom. Around the corner of Rembrandt Square , so not directly above the noise. Friendly manager, simple but okay breakfast . Absolutely value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paulus_WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just came back, was not expecting much and for the price it would be probably all right (if not the extra guests - yes bed bugs come free of charge). Really basic setup- depending on the room. Entrance to some rooms requires a bit of rock climbing skills - stairs are fairy steep so getting into the room maybe a challenge after night out. Rooms facing Thorbeckeplain are bit on the loud side as there are pubs and coffee shops galore around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Done_T_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012, it was lovely :) Wasn't the cheapest but wasn't too expensive either. The owners were lovely and helpful! Breakfast was included, always a nice bonus. Staircases were very tight and windy but we loved it; it was quirky and we have lovely memories there. We would return :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorJDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent my 60th. birthday in the worst place I have stayed in in 45 years of travelling. The room was a dump despite paying 120 euros/night. I paid by credit card and was charged 5% (no mention of this charge in their website). Some sign say `Hotel`, others `Hostel`. These are 2 different categories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patersonneil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in room 6 for the first two nights of our stay. This room is at the top of the building, and only has a tiny window. The room overlooks the square outside, so there was a lit of noise from football supporters enjoying the European Cup. It's a small room, and the stairs are very narrow and precarious. I slipped down the stairs twice, and have the bruises to prove it. We then moved to room 1, which is much nicer. There is a lovely view over the canal, so you can watch the boats as they go by. We were badly bitten by some bug during our sleep. Breakfast is adequate. Service fairly good. Overall, the Veteran is too expensive to offer value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Plzensky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms are, uh, modest in the extreme, and the stairways are best described as narrow, winding passages. It can even be slightly loud out front at times, but that's the benefit of staying at this hotel: It' smack in the middle of the city and there's vibrant clubs and street life everywhere around this hotel/hostel/pension. The location just cannot be beat for the ridiculous low price of a room in a great city section of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJunot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#175 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#254 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#213 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#209 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veteran

Property: The Veteran
Address: Herengracht 561, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Veteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Veteran Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing